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ADVANCED/BASIC LIFE SUPPORT SERVICE LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 
The items listed below are required for a complete application.  Please use this list of instructions to 
ensure the application is complete before mailing.  A complete application will greatly reduce the 
processing time.  Your application must be received in this office 30 days before you wish to start a new 
service or renew your current license. 
 
Type of Application:  Mark all the appropriate lines. 
 
Number One:  The name of the service that is placed on line 1 must be identical to the name listed on 
your Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (COPCN).  All the rest of the lines need to be filled 
out appropriately.  Include your Internet email address if you have one.  The manager’s name should be 
the person who would receive all correspondence from this office.  Under the Type of Ownership, check 
ALL of the items that apply to your service.  
 
Number Two:  All the blanks need to be filled in.  If you have more than one medical director include 
the same information for each one on a separate sheet of paper. 
 
Number Three:  Fill in as requested or if it does not apply put N/A. 
 
Number Four:  List the address of your base station (headquarters) and all substations, including the 
substation identifier (e.g., station 2). 
 
Number Five:  List all counties in which you have a COPCN, or mutual aid agreement. 
 
Number Six:  List the type of communication between your vehicle and the hospital.  Med 8 is required 
pursuant to the EMS communications plan established in Chapter 401, Part 1, Florida Statutes. 
 
Number Seven: 
 
 Attachment 1: A COPCN is required for each county in which you operate.  If you change a 
county throughout the year, the changes must be submitted to the department pursuant to Chapter 401.25, 
Florida Statutes. 
 
 Attachment 2:  The permit application, DH Form 1510, needs to be filled out and signed.  If you 
have a computer generated list of vehicles, you may just put “see attached” on Form 1510, sign the form 
and attach your list.  Permit applications must be received by the department 30 days prior to change, as 
required on DH Form 1510, which is incorporated in Rule 64E-2.007(1), Florida Administrative Code. 
          
 Attachment 3:  Insurance verification:  A copy of an insurance policy, a self insurance policy or 
certificate of insurance is acceptable.  Documentation must include a schedule of vehicles covered, if the 
policy is not blanket coverage or self-insurance.  Limits of vehicle liability and property damage coverage 
and expiration date must be shown.  Minimum limits – Bodily injury $100,000/$300,000 and property 
damage $50,000 for non-government owned services.  Bodily injury and property damage for government 
services is $200,000 total.   
 
 Attachment 4:  Trauma transport protocols (TTPs) approvals expire at the same time as your 
license.  You must submit a copy of your TTPs signed by the medical director even if there have been no 
changes since the last approval.  If the TTPs are uniform for the entire county a signed statement from 
your medical director to that effect and a copy of TTPs must be submitted.   
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 Attachment 5:  A copy of a fully executed contract between a Florida licensed physician and the 
applicant or a letter of agreement signed by the physician and the other party must be included,  
 
 Attachment 6:  The medical director must be a Florida license physician. A copy of his/her 
current license from the department must be included. 
 
 Attachment 7:  ALS providers must also include a copy of the U.S. Department of Justice, Drug 
Enforcement Administration Certificate issued to the physician or hospital pharmacy (if hospital based) 
listing the address at which the applicant stores controlled substances. 
 
If you are permitting aircraft under an ALS license application, please attach the following 
information: 
 
 Attachment 8:  A separate air permit application, DH Form 1576 must be filled out for each 
aircraft you wish to permit.  Each application must be signed and include a FAA Part 135 Certificate and 
complete parts A & D of the operations specifications listing for each of the aircraft you wish permitted.  
If the 135 certificate holder is not the applicant, or the company which owns the aircraft, include a letter 
of agreement or contract between all involved parties. 
 
 Attachment 9:  Medical malpractice/professional liability insurance for each air medical crew 
member and medical director.  Form must show limits of liability and list the applicant as the insured.  
Minimum limits - $100,000/$300,000 for privately owned services.  Minimum limit for government 
owned services is $200,000 for all coverage combined. 
 
 Attachment 10:  Aircraft liability insurance coverage.  Policy must include the name of the 
licensed service, limits of coverage, expiration date, and FAA tail number of each aircraft or include all 
aircraft owned and operated by the insurer. 
 
 Attachment 11:  Provide a copy of each pilot’s commercial license and current medical 
certificate.  Only legible copies will be accepted. 
 
          Attachment 12:  A copy of the air worthiness certificate for each aircraft permit you are applying 
for. 
 
Number Eight:  A company or county check or money order made payable to Emergency Medical 
Services, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A-22, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-1738 must be included in the 
package.  Only volunteer providers identified as such by the EMS office are exempt from licensure fees.  
ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE per section 401.34, Florida Statutes. 
 
  Advanced Life Support Service License   $1375.00 
 Basic Life Support Service License   $  660.00 
 Vehicle or Aircraft Permit    $    25.00 each 
 
Applicants wishing to provide both ALS and BLS services must pay only the ALS and permit fees. 
 
Number Nine:  Check the box that applies to your service according to the COPCN issued to you by the 
county.   
 
Number Ten:  Sign the application and have it notarized. 
 
IF YOU ARE NOT CURRENTLY LICENSED IN THIS STATE, A LICENSE MUST BE ISSUED 
BEFORE YOU MAY OPERATE IN THIS STATE.  SECTION 401.25, F.S.  YOUR 
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APPLICATION MUST BE IN THIS OFFICE 30 DAYS BEFORE YOU WISH TO START A 
NEW SERVICE OR RENEW YOUR CURRENT LICENSE. 
 
All licensed agencies are subject to random inspections to assure compliance with all requirements.  
Licensure questions may be directed to:   
   
 Barbara Hyde (850) 245-4440 x 2723 
 E-mail  Barbara.Hyde@flhealth.gov 
 
 

COMMUNICATION INFORMATION 
 
Chapter 401, Florida Statutes, Part 1, is administered by the state Technology Office, which requires the 
following related to communications: 
 
        Obtain copies of the Emergency Medical Services Communications Plan Volume 1 for 
administration and Volume II for each vehicle and dispatch center. 
 
        Obtain final approval from the state Technology Office to purchase your communication system 
(vehicular and dispatch) - an up to 30 day process. 
 
Federal radio system requirements are as follows: 
 
        Obtain a Federal Communication Commission (FCC) license authorizing your radio communication 
system operation - an up to 60 day process.  
 
Please direct all questions related to communications to: 
 

EMS Communications Engineer 
State Technology Office  
4030 Esplanade Way 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0950 
Phone: (850) 922-7426 
Fax: (850) 414-8324   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

STATE OF FLORIDA 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH  

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES SECTION 
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GROUND AMBULANCE SERVICE PROVIDER LICENSE APPLICATION 
 
 

Type of application (Check all that apply): 
New  __________________________Renewal        
ALS              BLS Transport      
Change of  Name__________________Change of Address      

 
1. Name of Service          Provider ID#      ______ 

Mailing address        City    State    
 Physical address of records      City   State    
 County __________________ Zip Code __________ Phone Number (       )    
 Fax Number  (     )     24 Hour Number  (       )    
 Internet E-mail address            
 
 Manager's Name       Title       
 
 Type of Ownership (check all that apply): 
 Private     City     Not for Profit     
 Volunteer    County     Special Tax District    
 Fire Department    Hospital Based    Other (Describe)    
 Corporation     For Profit          
 
2. Medical Director            
 Mailing Address             
 City ______________________ State      Zip Code     
 Phone Number (       )                                             Fax Number  (       )   
 Florida License Number      Exp. Date       
 D.E.A. Certificate Number      Exp. Date       
 (Attach separate sheet if more than one Medical Director.  Also attach copy of Florida medical license and D.E.A. 
 certificate for each) 
 
3. Provide name of owner(s) or list all officers, directors and share holders (if a corporation) 
 (attach separate sheet if necessary) 
 
  Name   Address   Position 
 
              
              
              
 
4. List the address and/or describe the location of your base station and all substations (attach 

separate sheet if necessary). 
             

              
              
 
5. Identify the counties to be served by your service. 
              
              
              
6. You must have communication capability between your ambulance and hospital.  List 
 means of communication: 
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7. Attach the following: 
 
 Attachment #1 Certificate of Public Convenience and 
   Necessity (for each county in which you operate). 
 
 Attachment #2 Application for ambulance permit(s) 
   DH Form 1510 (multiple vehicle permit application). 
 

Attachment #3 Insurance verification - copy of insurance policy, certificate of insurance or 
certificate of self-insurance showing limits of auto liability coverage and 
expiration date.  Must also list schedule of vehicles covered if not blanket 
coverage or self insured. 

 
 Attachment #4 Trauma transport protocols signed by the current medical director. 
 
 Attachment #5 Verification of Medical Director employment, (i.e., fully executed contract,  
   letter of agreement, etc.) 
 
 Attachment #6 Copy of the medical director’s Florida medical license. 
 
 Attachment #7 Copy of the medical director’s D.E.A. certificate if ALS 
 
8. If you are permitting aircraft under an ALS license application, please attach the following 
 information: 
 
 Attachment #8 Application(s) for air ambulance permit(s) - for each aircraft requested. 
   Must be completed and signed. 
 
 Attachment #9 Medical Malpractice/professional liability insurance for all air medical 
   crew members and medical director. 
 

Attachment #10  Insurance verification - copy of insurance policy, certificate of insurance or 
certificate of self-insurance  showing limits of coverage, policy expiration date 
and FAA number of each aircraft 
. 

 Attachment #11  Pilot licensure - Copy of each pilot’s commercial license and current medical 
     certificate. 
 
 Attachment #12   Air worthiness certificate - Copy of the air worthiness certificate for each 

aircraft permit you are applying for. 
 
9. Fees are established by section 401.34, Florida Statutes.  Check or money order should be made 

payable to Emergency Medical Services.  All fees are nonrefundable. 
 
10. Check the box that applies: 
 
  I hereby certify that this service will provide continuous service on a 24-hour day, 7-day  
  week basis. 
 
  I hereby certify that this service will provide interfacility transport only and may not be  
  available 24 hours a day 7 days a week. 
 
11. I, the undersigned, a representative of the above service do hereby attest that this licensee meets 
all requirements for operation of an ambulance service in the state as provided in chapters 395 and 401, 
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Florida Statutes, and Rule 64J-1, Florida Administrative Code.  I further acknowledge any violations or 
discrepancies discovered will subject this service and its authorized representatives to actions and 
penalties provided by law. 
 
To the best of my knowledge, all statements on this application are true and correct. 
 

              
       Signature 
         NOTARY SEAL 

              
          Notary Public    Name (Please Print) 
 
              
My commission Expires  Date   Position 
 
              
       Date 

 

FALSE OFFICIAL STATEMENTS:  Whoever knowingly makes a false statement in writing with the 
intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of his official duty shall be guilty of a misdemeanor 
of the second degree, section 837.06, Florida Statutes. 
 


