
 

APPLICATION FOR EMT/PARAMEDIC  
CERTIFICATION: 

 
 

 Emergency Medical Technician (2501) 

 Paramedic (2502) 

Please TYPE or PRINT in ink. Read instructions carefully before completing. All 
sections of this application are required to be completed unless otherwise noted. 
Omissions may delay processing.   
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1.  APPLICANT INFORMATION 

__________________________________________________________________________________________/____/____ 

  Last Name                                            First Name                                                          Middle Initial                  Date of Birth  

 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Mailing Address for correspondence                           City                                       State                                         Zip Code                                      
 

If your mailing address is a P.O. Box, provide your street address as well.                                                                              
 

Day time phone # (____)_________ Home phone # (_____)_________  Email____________________________________ 

 

2. PERSONAL INFORMATION:        

             Gender:     Male       Female 
 

       Ethnicity:    White     Black     Native American     Asian/Pacific Islander     Hispanic    Other 

 

3.  Would you be available to provide health care services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster 
medical assistance teams during times of emergency or major disaster if your employer releases you to do 
so?     

                    Yes     No   

4. CRIMINAL BACKGROUND:       

Have you ever been convicted of, pled nolo contendere (no contest) to, regardless of adjudication to a crime in any 
jurisdiction? 

                    Yes     No   

Have you ever been convicted in any court in any state of a felony?   Yes     No   

Charges:_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

If convicted, were your civil rights restored?   Yes     No 

If yes you are required to submit all of the documents listed below: 
 Law enforcement background check from each state where a felony occurred. Florida—FDLE  
 The court documents showing final disposition for all cases (arrest affidavit, probation documents, etc)  
 Proof of civil rights restoration if applicable  
 Your explanation of circumstances surrounding the event(s)  
 Reference letters if you wish to have them considered 

 

 

DH FORM 1583, 06/16 Rule 64J-1.008 F.A.C.   APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE 
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5. APPLICATION METHOD:  Indicate below the professional education requirement you have and the type of 
application you are submitting.  If you are a Florida Trained Paramedic, you must decide which examination 
you would like to take as outlined in Number 7 below.   

 

PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION INITIAL APPLICATION RE-EXAM APPLICATION 

   FLORIDA TRAINED EMT        
(2501)  

  Application Fee $35.00 

(1010) 

 

   FLORIDA TRAINED PARAMEDIC / 

      NREMT EXAMINATION  (2502) 

 Application Fee $45.00 

(1010) 

 

   FLORIDA TRAINED PARAMEDIC / 

      FLORIDA EXAMINATION  (2502) 

  Application Fee $45.00 

(1010) 

  Re-Exam  $45.00 
      (1011) 

   FLORIDA HEALTH 
PROFESSIONAL 
       (MD, PA, RN, DDS) PARAMEDIC  
       (2502) 

 Application Fee $45.00 

(1014) 

 

 OUT-OF-STATE TRAINED EMT  
      With Current NREMT Registration 
      (2501)  

  Application Fee $35.00 

(1015) 

 

 OUT-OF-STATE TRAINED 
PARAMEDIC 
      With Current NREMT Registration 
       (2502) 

  Application Fee $45.00 

(1015) 

 

   MILITARY TRAINED EMT  
        With Current NREMT 
Registration 

  Application Fee  $35.00 
(1016) 

 

   MILITARY TRAINED EMT  
        With Current NREMT 
Registration 

  Application Fee  $45.00 
(1016) 

 

   FLORIDA PARAMEDIC 
APPLYING FOR EMT 
       (2501) 

  Application Fee $35.00 

(1025) 

 

 

 

6.  PROFESSIONAL RESCUER CERTIFICATION: Indicate the card you hold that applies to the level of 
certification you are seeking. 

              
 CPR for Professional Rescuer or its equivalent (EMT)      ACLS card or its equivalent (Paramedic) 

 
   American Heart Association  
   American Red Cross  
   Other: specifically list which provider_____________________________________________________________  
 
        
         Issue Date:___________________________                Expiration Date:_____________________________ 
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7.      Florida-Trained Paramedic Applicants:   

        Florida trained applicants for paramedic certification must pass one the state’s approved examinations within two 
years of completion of your training program. There are two options to satisfy this requirement as outlined below: 

        NREMT Examination:  You may elect to take the NREMT examination.  If you choose this option, you do not need 
to apply to the Department of Health for an Authorization to Test. You may schedule your examination directly with 
the NREMT.  

        Please note that you will still need to submit this application along with your application fee before you may receive 
your state certification. If you do not pass the NREMT examination, you are not required to apply to the Department 
to retake the examination.  

        If you choose this option, please register for the examination and place your candidate number below.  

        NREMT Candidate number: __________________________________________ 

        Florida Examination:  You may elect to take the Florida examination.  If you choose this option, you will not be   
able to sit for the examination without first applying to the Department of Health and receiving an Authorization to 
Test.  If you do not pass the examination, you must reapply to the Department and you may not retake the 
examination until you receive an Authorization to Test.  

 

 

8.     Florida Trained EMT Applicants: 

        Florida trained applicants for EMT certification must take and pass the NREMT examination within two years of 
completion of your training program.  You do not need to apply to the Department of Health for an Authorization to 
Test. You may schedule your examination directly with the NREMT. Please note that you will still need to submit 
this application along with your application fee before you may receive your certification. If you do not pass the 
NREMT examination, you are not required to apply to the Department to retake the examination. 

        If you choose this option, please register for the examination and place your candidate number below.  

        NREMT Candidate number: __________________________________________ 

 

9.    Out-of-State Trained and Military Trained Applicants: 

        If you received your training in another state or in the military, you must have a current NREMT certification in order 
to be licensed in the state of Florida.  
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10.  TRAINING 
 

9a.1. Are you a graduate of a Florida approved training program located in Florida?      Yes                  No 
          

2. If the answer to question 9a.1. above is No, please skip to question 9b.   
    If the answer to question 9a.1. above is Yes, provide the date you completed the training 

program_____________ 
 

3. Please provide a certificate of course completion from the Florida training program that includes the number of     
          hours and the date of completion. 
 
9b.1.  Are you applying for certification based on holding a current certification from the National Registry of 

      Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT).                                                         Yes                  No 
 

 

2.   All Applicants who answer Yes to questions 9b.1. must have the NREMT provide a completed “Statement of 
Good Standing” directly to the Department. The Statement of Good Standing is part of this application. 

 

 

11. PUBLIC RECORDS EXEMPTION: Pursuant to Section 119.071(5)(o), F.S., Paramedics and EMT’s are entitled 
to have their home address, telephone number, date of birth and photograph(s) exempted from public disclosure 
upon request to the Department.  Please indicate whether you would like the Department to maintain the 
confidentiality of this information.  

 
  Yes 

 
  No 

 

12. OATH:  Under penalty of perjury, I certify that to the best of my knowledge and belief all of the statements 
contained herein and on any attachments are true, correct, complete, and made in good faith and that: I am free 
from addiction to alcohol or any controlled substance; and I am free from any physical or mental defect or disease 
(does not apply to applicants for limited certification) that might impair my ability to perform my duties consistent 
with the applied-for certification.  

I, the undersigned, state that I am the person referred to in this application for certification in the State of 
Florida. I understand that all I attest to in this application is subject to audit by the Department.  

Applicant signature ______________________________________________________    Date ___________________________ 
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THIS PAGE IS CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC 
RECORDS DISCLOSURE AND MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH 

YOUR APPLICATION* 
 
 

  Florida Department of Health 
  EMT/Paramedic Application 
 
 
  Name:____________________________________________________________ 
  Last            First                  Middle 
 
  Social Security Number:____________________________________________ 
 
   This page MUST be submitted with the application. 

 

* This page is exempt from public records disclosure. The Department of Health is   
required and authorized to collect Social Security Numbers relating to applications for 
professional licensure pursuant to Title 42 USC § 666 (a)(13). 

 
 
 
 
 

 
  4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin # C85 
  Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3285 

  

  Website:  http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/emt-paramedics/index.html  
 

 

 

  

http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/emt-paramedics/index.html
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GENERAL INFORMATION AND APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS COMPLETELY BEFORE MAILING THE APPLICATION.   

Any missing documents will slow the processing of your application. 
Any reference to “licensure” in this application also means “certification” and “registration.” 
 
This application form (DH 1583, 06/16) may be used to apply for certification for Emergency Medical Technician or 
Paramedic. You must complete and return pages 1 through 4 of the application and the Certificate of Course 
Completion, if applicable, along with your money order or cashiers check made payable to the Florida Department 
of Health.  
 

1. ALL APPLICANTS MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE.   
 

2. ALL FORMS are available for download at: http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/emt-
paramedics/applications-and-forms/index.html  

 

3. PROFESSIONAL RESCUER CERTIFICATION  
 An applicant for EMT certification must hold either a current American Heart Association cardiopulmonary  
 resuscitation course card or an American Red Cross cardiopulmonary resuscitation course card or its 
equivalent as defined by Department Rule 64J-1.022, Florida Administrative Code.  
 

 An applicant for Paramedic certification must hold a certificate of successful course completion in advanced 
cardiac Iife support from the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or its equivalent as defined by 
Department Rule 64J-1.022, Florida Administrative Code.  

 

You may go to our website: http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/licensing-ems-     
education/_documents/cpr.acls.providers.20151.pdf   to verify approved courses other than those listed above. 

 

4. CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND:  If you answered YES to the criminal history question (#4), you must 
submit the listed documentation and  

  Law enforcement background check from each state where a misdemeanor or felony occurred. (For 
offenses committed in Florida, contact the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, 
http://www.fdle.state.fl.us).  

  Copies of arrest report(s), court documents showing sentence, proof of completing all terms of sentence, 
including rehabilitation/treatment programs, proof of restoration of civil rights if such rights were removed 
due to felony conviction. 

  Reference letters and any other information/documents you would like taken into consideration.     

 
5. ADA REQUESTS:  Applicants taking the NREMT examination and seeking an ADA accommodation must 

contact the NREMT directly at (614) 888-4484.  All Applicants taking the Florida examination should call (850) 
245-4444 X 3973 for ADA requests.  

 

6. When this application is submitted online, certificates of course completion, good standing forms and criminal 
history documents and specifically requested documents must be mailed, faxed or emailed to the Department. 
 

7. Examination fees are payable directly to the NREMT or Prometric depending on the examination selected.  
 
Your examination scores will not be mailed to you. They will be available approximately 14 days after you sit for 
the exam at:  http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/OnlineTestNET/default.aspx.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

 
 
 
BEFORE YOU MAIL YOUR APPLICATION… 
 

  Have all questions on the application been answered? 
  Is your application signed and dated? 
  Have you enclosed your program certificate of course completion? 

          Have you enclosed a money order or cashier check for the application fee?  
          If you answered YES to the criminal history questions, have you enclosed the required documents? 
 

http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/emt-paramedics/applications-and-forms/index.html
http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/emt-paramedics/applications-and-forms/index.html
http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/licensing-ems-%20%20%20%20%20education/_documents/cpr.acls.providers.20151.pdf
http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/licensing-ems-%20%20%20%20%20education/_documents/cpr.acls.providers.20151.pdf
http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/
http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/OnlineTestNET/default.aspx
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Contact Information 

MQA Customer Service 
Center 
General Information 

850-488-0595 

EMT/Paramedic/Rad Tech 
Certification Office 

850-245-4910 (telephone) 

 

Website http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/emt-paramedics/index.html 

E-mail mqa.emt-paramedics@flhealth.gov 

License Verification/ 
Address Change/Renewal 

www.flhealthsource.com 

Exam Results http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/OnlineTestNET/default.aspx 

Mailing address for 
application and fees 

Florida Department of Health 
EMT-Paramedic Certification Office 
P.O. Box 6330 
Tallahassee, FL  32314-6330 

Mailing address for any 
correspondence containing 
no fees 

Florida Department of Health 
EMT-Paramedic Certification Office 
4052 Bald Cypress Way   BIN C85 
Tallahassee, FL  32399-3285 

 

 

 

http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/emt-paramedics/index.html
mailto:MQA_EMT-Paramedics@doh.state.fl.us
http://www.flhealthsource.com/
http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/OnlineTestNET/default.aspx
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