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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
COUNCIL OF LICENSED MIDWIFERY
APPLICATION CHECKLIST FOR LICENSURE

This checklist is a guide to assist you in submitting the required documentation to determine licensure eligibility. Please make a
copy of all documentation for your records, prior to mailing the originals to the department. Within 30 days from receipt of your
application and fees you will be notified via mail of your application status. If you do not receive notification within 40 days from
receipt of your application, please contact our office.

IMPORTANT NOTICE!:

Effective July 1, 2009, section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse
to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant has been:

o Convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under chapter 409,
chapter 817, chapter 893, 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970, or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396, unless the sentence and any subsequent
period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;

e Terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to s. 409.913, unless the applicant has
been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent 5 years;

e Terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government,
from any other state Medicaid program or the federal Medicare program, unless the applicant has been in
good standing with a state Medicaid program or the federal Medicare program for the most recent 5 years
and the termination occurred at least 20 years prior to the date of the application.

Basic Documentation:
o Complete application, please print clearly or type.
o FEE: Cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Department of Health
0 Licensure by Examination (Total $705.00)

o Application Fee $200.00 (non-refundable)

e Licensure Fee $500.00

e Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00

o License by Endorsement (Total $1205.00)

e Application Fee $200.00 (non-refundable)

e Endorsement Fee $500.00

e Licensure Fee $500.00

e Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00
Complete the “Confidential and Exempt from Public Records Disclosure” form.
Complete the “Proof of Liability Coverage” form.
Complete the “Emergency Back-Up Plan for Licensed Midwifery Patients” form.
One full-faced passport type photograph (size 2X2) taken within the past six months.
Proof of Age (must be 21 years of age or older) — Legible copy of Birth Certificate or drivers license is
acceptable.
High School Diploma or Equivalent
Proof of 2 hours of prevention of medical errors
Proof of 2 hours of HIV (Human Immunodeficiency Virus)
Documentation/written explanation/court documents for “Yes” answers on #17-31 of application
Healthcare employment verification past 3 years (if applicable)
Official documentation of name change (if applicable)
Official military documentation (if applicable)
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Based on one of the below licensure methods, additional documents are required.

Examination — Based on Florida Approved Midwifery Training Program:
o Official transcript from an (Florida) approved midwifery training program which includes:
o all courses successfully completed
e (date of graduation
e degree, certificate or diploma granted
o Official documentation mailed directly from North American Registry of Midwives’” (NARM) certifying a
passing exam score.

Endorsement — Based on another State License:

a Official verification of certificate or license to practice midwifery in another state, submitted to our office directly
from the issuing state. At least one license or certificate must be current, valid and unrestricted

o Copy of the other state’s laws and rules under which the certificate or license was issued

a Official certificate or diploma from a midwifery program approved by the certifying body of the state in which it
was located or an authenticated copy of that certificate or diploma

o Official transcript from the midwifery program which documents classroom instructions and clinical training

o Evidence of a passing score on the licensure examination

0 Evidence of successful completion of an approved 4-month pre-licensure midwifery training program (please see
additional requirements)

Endorsement — Based on Foreign Trained:

o Valid certificate or diploma from either a foreign institution of medicine or a foreign school of midwifery

a Certified translation of the certificate or diploma earned from a foreign institution of medicine or foreign school
of midwifery

o Document which renders the foreign trained applicant eligible to practice medicine or midwifery in the country in
which that document was issued

o Certified translation of the certificate, diploma or license which renders the foreign trained applicant eligible to
practice medicine or midwifery in the country from which the diploma or certificate was awarded

o Clarification of the existence of any deviation as to how the applicant’s name appears on the face of documents in
support of this application

0 Evidence of a passing score on the licensure examination

0 Evidence of successful competition of an approved 4-month pre-licensure midwifery training program (please see
additional requirements)

Approved 4-Month Pre-Licensure Training Program:
Applicants who received education and training outside of Florida are required to take a 4-Month Pre-Licensure Course
by an approved Florida program. To establish educational eligibility for acceptance into the required 4-month pre-
licensure course may do so through one of the following:
e Have your education reviewed for substantial equivalency through the use of an approved Education
Credentialing Agency. The following Agencies are currently approved:
o0 International Credentialing Associates, Inc.
o0 Josef Silny and Associates, Inc.
e Receive determination of substantial equivalency through the Department of Health, Council of Licensed
Midwifery by submitting the following:
o0 Completed Application for 4-Month Pre-Licensure Course
o $100.00 Application Fee (Non-Refundable)

All candidates wishing to take the examination must apply directly to the North American Registry of Midwives
(NARM). Please contact NARM’s testing center at 1-888-353-7089 for examination application and information.
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All fees must accompany the application for processing. The application is valid for only one year. If the application is
not completed within one year, a new application, documentation and fess will be required again. Should an applicant be
deemed ineligible for licensure, the application fee is non-refundable.

WHERE TO SEND APPLICATION AND DOCUMENTATION

Where to send the application: The original application plus fees (cashiers check or money order) and supporting
documentation should be sent in the same envelope to:

Department of Health

Council of Licensed Midwifery

Post Office Box 6330

Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6330

The use of this address will ensure the receipt of the application by the office where the fees will be processed. The
application and supporting documentation will then be logged in and forwarded to the Council office.

Where to send supporting documentation not sent with the application: Any additional documentation, sent either by
yourself or by another individual for you, which was not submitted with the original application, should be mailed to the
following address:

Council of Licensed Midwifery
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3256

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

The following instructions are numbered so that they correspond with the numbered sections of the application. Each
instruction gives specific information regarding the corresponding section of the application. It is recommended that you
maintain a copy of the instructions and application should you need to refer to them during the application process. A
response must be provided in each section. If a question does not pertain to you indicate "N/A" in that section. All
questions with "YES/NO™ answers must have either "YES" or "NO" marked. No other response is acceptable.

ADDITIONAL SPACE NOTE: If any of the sections in the application do not contain sufficient space for the requested
information, use an additional page or the reverse side of the application page on which the question is located. Always
number the additional information with the corresponding number of the question on the application.

1-6 - Answer Yes or No. Explain all Yes answers in full on a separate sheet of paper. You must make a statement that
includes, but is not limited to, the date(s), location(s), specific circumstances, practitioners and/or treatment involved. If
you have been under treatment for emotional/mental illness, chemical dependency, etc., you must request that each
practitioner, hospital, and program involved in your treatment submit a full, detailed report of such to the Council office.

7 -Names: List your full last name. Type a hyphenated last nhame in the same space. A hyphenated last name will be
recognized by the first letter of the first name (i.e.) Diaz-Balart will be filed under Diaz. List your full first name, no
nicknames or shortened versions. List your full middle name, if you have one. If you have two, type them in the same
space. If you do not have a middle name please indicate N/A.

8-12 - List your Date of Birth, Place of Birth, Home/Work Telephone Number and E-Mail Address.

13 - Mailing address: This should be the address where you will receive correspondence we send regarding your file.

14 — Physical/Primary Practice Address: This should be the address where you are currently practicing or where you can
be physically located. NOTE: Do not list P.O. Boxes. In the event that either of your addresses changes during the

application process, submit the new address(s) immediately.

15 -Name Changes: If you have ever changed your name by marriage or other court action, you must submit legal
documentation of the change with your application (if you have been married more than once all marriage and divorce



documents must be submitted.) List your maiden name in the space provided. NOTE: If you use any names other than
your legal name, but have not legally changed your name, list such name(s) in the space provided under "other" in this
section. If you are married but use a maiden name professionally, please indicate this.

DH-MQA 1051 (3/10)
64B24-2.001, F.A.C.

16 - Response to this section is voluntary.
17 - List your U.S. Citizenship. If No, you must provide your alien number.

18 - Provide the name, location, dates attended and degree earned of where you attended high school or where you
received your general equivalency diploma.

19 - Provide the name, location, dates attended and degree earned of the midwifery school(s) you attended. Submit a
notarized copy of the diploma. If the degree is in any language other than English it must be accompanied by a certified
translation of that degree.

20 - Provide the name, location, dates attended and degree earned for all post-secondary, health care, and/or medical
education training. Provide a copy of the diploma. If the degree is in any language other than English it must be
accompanied by a certified translation of that degree. List the programs chronologically starting with the first program
attended and ending with the last (or current) program attended.

21 - Staff Privileges. Provide the name, location, type of privilege, chief of staff and dates of service chronologically
starting with your first position and ending with the last (or current) position.

22 - If you HAVE EVER BEEN issued a license, full or temporary, to practice as a midwife, health care provider and/or

medical doctor in the United States, list the license(s) in this section. NOTE: You are responsible for contacting all of the

states listed to request verification. The state you are/were licensed in must send the verification form directly to the

Council of Licensed Midwifery at the address on the form. Some states charge a verification fee. See the attached

Licensure Verification form.

Column One: List the state which issued the license, standard two letter postal abbreviations are acceptable.

Column Two: List the month and year the license was issued. Confirm this date with that state Board.

Column Three: Indicate how the license was issued: by endorsement (END), state exam (EXAM), reciprocity

(RECIP/LIST STATE), as applicable. If issued by some other means, type (OTHER) and explain in full on

additional space.

Column Four: List current status of license(s) and the respective number(s). Denote as either active(ACT) or inactive
(INACT). If in another status, list (OTHER) and explain on additional space.

23 - 33 - Answer "YES" or "NO". Provide copies of ALL documents if your answer is "YES". Note: The 4 month pre-
licensure course must be verified by at least one of the following: An official transcript which includes course titles,
grades received and dates of the program, an original letter on letterhead stationary from the director of the program
which states the applicant successfully completed the pre-licensure course, the grades earned and the dates of attendance,
or a certificate stating the successful completion of the pre-licensure course and the dates of attendance, signed by the
director of the program.

26 — If you answer YES, NARM must provide documentation directly to the Council office stating you have passed.

27 - 33 - If your answer is "YES", submit a statement for that answer and provide documentation as requested on the
application form.

34 - If yes, please provide an explanation on a separate sheet. You must also submit CERTIFIED copies of all pertinent
court/arrest documents, including arrest report, official charges, restoration of civil rights (if applicable) and current
disposition.
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35 - If yes, provide an explanation on a separate sheet. You must also direct the Medicaid program to submit all pertinent
documentation directly to the Board office.

36 - If yes, provide an explanation on a separate sheet. You must also direct the state Medicaid program or the federal
Medicare program to submit all pertinent documentation directly to the Board office.

37 - If you have worked in any health care profession within the past 3 years fill in the place of employment, complete
mailing address, and beginning and ending dates of employment. Month and year are acceptable. Mail the Employment
Verification Form (if employment was within the United States) to your employers and allow appropriate time for
Department receipt.

38 -This section of the application must be completed. The applicant's name must be printed in the first blank and
signed in the second blank. This section will be copied and used as a release of information when needed; therefore, the
signature must be a full signature to be acceptable.

You must notify us immediately of any occurrences which would change or affect in any way, an answer
or response you have given in the application. Failure to do so could result in the denial of your
application or revocation of your license.
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CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS

DISCLOSURE*

Florida Department of Health
Council of Licensed Midwifery Application

Name:

Last First Middle

Social Security Number:

If questions 1-6 are answered YES, explain in full on a separate sheet of paper. You must make a statement
that includes, but is not limited to, the date(s), location(s), specific circumstances, practitioners and/or
treatment involved. If you have been under treatment for emotional/mental illness, chemical dependency,
etc., you must request that each practitioner, hospital, and program involved in your treatment submit a
full, detailed report of such to the Council office.

YES

NO

1. In the last five years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired practitioner program
for treatment of a diagnosed mental disorder or impairment?

2. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed mental disorder that has
impaired your ability to practice midwifery within the last five years?

3. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed physical disorder that
has impaired your ability to practice midwifery?

4. In the last five years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter into, or participated in any drug or alcohol
recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment of drug or alcohol abuse that occurred within the
last five years?

5. In the last five years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a diagnosed substance-
related (alcohol/drug) disorder, if you were previously in such a program, did you suffer a relapse within the last
five years?

6. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed substance-related
(alcohol/drug) disorder that has impaired your ability to practice midwifery within the past five years?

* This page is exempt from public records disclosure. The Department of Health is required and authorized to

collect Social Security Numbers relating to applications for professional licensure pursuant to Title 42 USCA § 666
(2)(13). For all professions regulated under chapter 456, Florida Statutes, the collection of Social Security Numbers

is required by section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes.

Mission Statement: Promote, protect and improve the health of all People in Florida.

Division of Medical Quality Assurance
Council of Licensed Midwifery
PO Box 6330 « Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3257
Website: www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/
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(For Official Use Only)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
COUNCIL OF LICENSED MIDWIFERY
Post Office Box 6330

Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6330

(850) 245-4161

APPLICATION FOR MIDWIFERY LICENSURE

[ ] Examination [ ]Endorsement - Another State License [ ] Endorsement - Foreign Trained

Would you be willing to provide health services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical assistance teams during

times of emergency or major disaster? [ 1Yes[ 1No
7. Last Name First Name Middle Name
8. Date of Birth 9. Place of Birth (City, State, Country)
10. Home Telephone Number 11. Work Telephone Number

( ) C )

12. E-mail Address:

| prefer to receive correspondence by e-mail? [ ] Yes [ ] No

13. Mailing Address: 14. Physical Address:
15. Name Changes or Aliases: (If yes, please list below) [ 1Yes [ ]No
Maiden Name: Other:

16. We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance with Section 60-3,
Uniform Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978) 43 FR 38295 (August 25, 1978). This information is gathered for
statistical purposes only and does not affect your candidacy for licensure in any way.

Sex: [ ]Female [ ]Male
Ethnic Origin: [ TWhite [ ]Black [ ]Hispanic [ ]Oriental [ ] Native American
[ ] Other; Explain

17. Areyou a United States Citizen? [ ]Yes [ ] No If no, please Provide Alien #
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18. HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION OR EQUIVALENCY

Name and Location of School Dates Attended Degree
19. MIDWIFERY EDUCATION
Name and Location of School Dates Attended Degree

20. POST-SECONDARY, HEALTHCARE OR MEDICAL EDUCATION  (Does not apply indicate N/A)

Name of Institution

Full Mailing Address

Dates Attended

Degree

21. LIST HOSPITALS WHERE YOU HAVE HELD STAFF PRIVILEGES (Does

not apply indicate N/A)

Name of Institution

Mailing Address Type of Privileges

Chief of Staff

Dates of Service

22. STATE LICENSURE: List all states that you are or have ever been licensed in as a midwife, health care provider,
and/or medical doctor. Give area of licensure, license number, date of issuance and method such as examination,
endorsement, grand-fathered, reciprocity, etc. (Does not apply indicate N/A)

State/Country

Date Type of License

License Number

Method
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QUESTIONS 23 through 33 MUST BE ANSWERED YES OR NO YES NO

23. a. Do you hold a valid certificate or diploma from a foreign institution of medicine?

b. In addition, do you hold a valid document from a foreign country authorizing you to practice medicine
in that country? If yes, submit official documentation.

24. Do you hold a valid certificate from a midwifery program offered in another state or country bearing the
seal of the institution, or otherwise authenticated, which renders you eligible to practice midwifery in the
country or state in which it was issued? If yes, submit official documentation.

25.  Have you successfully completed an approved 4 month pre-licensure course in Florida? If yes, submit
official documentation of a passing score. See instructions.

26. Have you successfully completed the licensed midwifery examination? If yes, request official
documentation be sent directly from NARM of a passing score.

Questions 27 - 33 must be substantiated by either official documents sent directly to the Council office from

the respective state licensing board or official copies of court records. A YES answer to any of these
questions is NOT an automatic cause for denial of licensure. YES | NO

27. Have you ever been notified to appear before any licensing agency for a hearing on a complaint of any
nature, including, but not limited to, a charge of violation of the midwifery and/or medical practice act(s),
for unprofessional or unethical conduct?

28.  Have you ever had midwifery or other health care license acted on, revoked, suspended or had any
disciplinary action taken in any state, territory or country?

29.  Have you ever had midwifery, medical or other health care application for licensure denied by any state
board or other governmental agency of any state, territory or country?

30.  Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to, regardless
of adjudication, a crime in any jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense?

You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was withheld by the court so that you would

not have a record of conviction. Driving under the influence or driving while impaired is not a minor traffic

offense for purposes of this question.

If the answer to question 30 above is “yes” then answer the following questions:

a. Does the violation involve allegations of driving under the influence of or driving while impaired by
drugs or alcohol?

b. Does the violation involve allegations of sexual misconduct, sexual batter, lewd or lascivious conduct,
indecent exposure or any crime involving sexual activity?

31.  Have you ever been arrested or criminally or civilly charged with any intentional or negligent action
related to use or misuse of drugs, alcohol, or illegal chemical substances?

32.  Have you ever had any judgments entered against you related to the practice of midwifery or any other
health care field?

33.  Have you ever been sued for malpractice?

Pursuant to Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes, the following questions are being asked. If you answer
yes to any of the following questions, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details and submit YES NO

copies of supporting documentation.

34a. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a
felony under Chapter 409, Chapter 817, or Chapter 893, Florida Statutes; or 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 or 42
U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396? (If no, do not answer 28b.)

34b. Has it been more than 15 years prior to the date of this application since the sentence and completion of
any subsequent period of probation for such conviction?

35a. Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to Section 409.913,
Florida Statutes? (If no, do not answer 29b.)

35b. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid
Program for the most recent five years?

36a. Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or
federal government, from any other state Medicaid program or the federal Medicare program? (If no, do
not answer 30b or 30c.)

36b. Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program or the federal Medicare program for the
most recent five years?

36¢. Did the termination occur at least 20 years prior to the date of this application?
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37. LIST ALL EMPLOYMENT IN ANY HEALTH CARE PROFFESION FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS
Attach additional sheets if necessary. (does not apply indicate N/A)

Place of Employment Full Mailing Address Dates of Employment

38. SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

I, (Print your name) , State that | am the person
referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documentation, that said application and any supporting documentation are
true and accurate and that the attached photograph is a true likeness of myself.

| hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions, organizations, references, personal physicians, employers (past and present), business
and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to
release to the Department of Health any information, files or records requested by the Department in connection with the processing
of this application. | further authorize the Department of Health to release to the organizations, individuals and/or groups listed
above any information which is material to my application.

I will comply with all requirements for licensure renewal in effect at the time of license renewal including submission of appropriate
renewal fees and continuing education requirements.

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely and without reservations of any
kind. I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. Should | knowingly make a false
statement in writing with the intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of their official duty, I shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor in the second degree punishable as provided in Chapter 775.082, 775.083, or 775.084, Florida Statutes.

Signature of Applicant Date Signed
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