Hearing Aid Loan
Bank for Infants
and Toddlers with
Hearing Loss

Babies can’t wait!

Babies with normal hearing perceive sound before birth — Children with hearing loss have no time to waste!

Young children with hearing loss require appropriate, quality amplification as soon as possible after
a hearing loss is identified. Only with appropriate auditory stimulation can children with residual
hearing learn to develop the auditory skills that are the foundation for speech development and
learning verbal language

How the Children’s Hearing Help Fund,

Hearing Aid Loan Bank
for Infants and Toddlers works

1) An audiologist confirms that a child (age O - 36 months) has a hearing loss.

2) By law, the audiologist refers the child and family to their local Early Intervention Program (CFR 303.321d)
3) The Early Intervention Program assigns the child and family to a service coordinator and a Serving Hearing
Impaired Newborns Effectively SHINE service provider.

4) The audiologist recommends that the child be fit with amplification. If it appears as though the child may
need to wait more than 4 weeks to be fit with hearing aids the audiologist can request loaner hearing aid(s)

5) The audiologist accesses www.childrenshearinghelpfund.org and considers which of the available hearing
aids would be most appropriate to meet the child’s current listening needs.

(6) The audiologist emails the address provided in the website or calls 1-866-999-2443 and notifies the
Hearing Aid Loan Bank to request the loaner hearing aid(s). Hearing aids are available on a first come, first
served basis.

(7) The audiologist has 2 full business days to provide a faxed copy of the signed parent loan agreement (form
available on the website). The name of the early intervention service coordinator must appear on this
agreement.

(8) The audiologist must contact the local early intervention program to inform the child’s service coordinator
that hearing aid(s) have been requested from the Hearing Aid Loan Bank.

(9) The Children’s Hearing Help Fund Hearing Aid Loan Bank will contact the local Early Intervention Program to
confirm that the child is enrolled in early intervention services and has a service coordinator that will assist the
family in getting the hearing aids back to the Hearing Aid Loan Bank when the child receives his or her own
amplification or after a maximum of 6 months of use, whichever comes first.

(10) The Children’s Hearing Help Fund Hearing Aid Loan Bank will send the hearing aid(s), one package of four
batteries, and one package of Comply temporary tubing wraps to the audiologist, within 48 hours of receiving
the fax. A test strip verifying appropriate function will accompany each hearing aid. A return postage sticker will
be made available to ease return of the hearing aids. All hearing aids are maintained under warranty, and
repairs are obtained when appropriate.

For more information, contact http://www.childrenshearinghelpfund.org

The Children’s Hearing Help Fund Hearing Aid Loan Bank for Infants and Toddlers was made possible by
collaboration between the Sertoma Speech and Hearing Foundation of Florida (727-834-5479) and the Florida
Department of Health, Children’s Medical Services, Bureau of Early Interventions, Early Hearing Loss Detection and
Intervention grant project. (850-245-4200.).
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