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1. The classic mortality spread sheet instructions:
a. On FIRST opening please go to Cell A 1 and enter the Official Name of your Center.  It will update all red formatted cells automatically.

b. The Spreadsheet consists of two portions.  On the Left from Columns A to T and Rows 5 to 126 are cells for monthly input of data.

c. Do not enter any data in  YELLOW Cells or GREEN Cells as they automatically calculate as you enter data through out the year in order to give monthly, quarterly and annual reports

d. Use whole numbers only for entry in a cell.

2. Rows 5 and 6 are male/female numbers and are entered from your labor and delivery log book, monthly reports that may be available to you, or from your electronic record system if applicable.

3. Rows 12 to 27 are for admissions to normal newborn units and are heavily skewed to larger infants and rarely if ever have less than 2000 gm entries.

4. Rows 31 to 44 are for NICU admissions and are for inborn NICU admissions only.  Do not enter infants transported in from other hospitals but if the mother delivers the infant in your hospital and it goes to the NICU it is entered in this section.

5. Rows50 to 63 are for outborn transported infants to your facility.

6. Fetal Deaths of greater than 500 grams and equal to or greater than 20 weeks gestation should be counted and allocated to the fetal death rate.
 

7. Data is requested for live births less than 500 grams, but at the present time the mortality rate is so substantial that it will not be included in the specific calculation of the overall neonatal and perinatal mortality rates which is restricted to the birth weight greater than 500 grams as the quantifiable data element.

8. For purposes of handling certain dilemmas such as fetuses of less than 500 grams, the spreadsheet has a category entitled “Non-Viable”. This term should be considered to be synonymous with “pre-viable”. The category should NOT be used for any birth greater than 500 grams regardless of the potential lethality of the anomaly if the infant is live born as defined in Florida Statute. 

9. Regarding greater than 28 day neonatal deaths: Neonates who have never been discharged from the NICU who die in-house. These data are included in the late neonatal mortality rate calculation. 






� The Florida Birth Registration Handbook page 57 has the following clear cut definition which we follow from FS 382.002.   





DEFINITION


Fetal death means death prior to the complete expulsion or extraction of a product of human conception from its mother if the 20th week of gestation has been reached and the death is indicated by the fact that after such expulsion or extraction the fetus does not breathe or show any other evidence of life such as beating of the heart, pulsation of the umbilical cord, or definite movement of voluntary muscles (s. 382.002 (7), F.S.).


A delivery meeting this description must be recorded on the current certificate of fetal death prescribed by the department. If the exact period of gestation is unknown, the physician uses his/her best estimation, which may be based upon fetus weight in grams, length of fetus, or other factors. Specifically, the period of gestation for fetal deaths includes only that period or estimated period, during which the fetus is alive in utero and does not include the time between death of the fetus and later expulsion or delivery.





� NOTE: If the newborn, regardless of gestational age, breathes or shows other evidence of life (per the physician) after complete expulsion or extraction, even though it is only momentary, the delivery must be registered as a live birth, a birth certificate must be prepared, and the subsequent preparation of a death certificate is required. If an infant dies at birth, the hospital should make it clear to whoever assumes custody of the remains whether a fetal death certificate (DH 428) or a death certificate (DH 512) should be filed.









