The Florida Department of Health in Martin County Banner
Biomedical Waste for Martin County Business

Biomedical Waste Images

Both the Department of Health and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection have responsibilities under this program.

There are over 360 facilities which generate, transport and/or store biomedical waste within Martin County which are permitted and inspected by the Martin County Health Department. These include the hospitals, medical and dental offices, home health establishments, body piercing establishments, tattoo and permanent make-up establishments, crime scene clean-up businesses and funeral homes, just to mention a few. All establishments which generate, transport, store and/or treat biomedical waste are required to have a Florida Department of Health permit or registration.

How do I find out if I need a biomedical waste permit?

If your business will generate sharps (needles, syringes, lancets, scalpel blades, tattoo needles, etc.) or other types of biomedical waste, you will require a biomedical waste permit.

Most medical and dental offices will require a biomedical waste permit for the first year of operation. If your business is in Martin County contact the Martin County Health Department at 772-221-4090 and ask to speak with an inspector who will be able to make a determination for your specific business.

If your business is based outside of Martin County, please contact your local county health department. To find out who your coordinator is, check the list of biomedical waste coordinators.

How do I apply for a permit?

Applications can be downloaded from the Download Files section of the FDOH Biomedical Waste Program.

Can I get an exemption in Martin County?

Yes, biomedical waste generators who produce or treat less than 25 pounds of biomedical waste in each 30 day period are eligible for an exemption from the permit and fee but must still comply with the laws governing biomedical waste. Typically, exemptions are not granted until the establishment has been in business for at least 12 months and has established a written record of the amount of waste generated each 30 day period.

If your business is in Martin County contact the Martin County Health Department at 772-221-4090 and ask to speak with an inspector who will be able to make a determination for your specific business.

If your business is based outside of Martin County, please contact your local county health department. To find out who your coordinator is, check the list of biomedical waste coordinators.

Where can I find more information, including the laws governing biomedical waste in Florida?

Environmental Health Divider


Contact Information

Phone: 772-221-4090   Fax: 772-221-4967

Email: Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

DLCHD43WebFeedback@doh.state.fl.us

This page was last modified on: 10/14/2013 01:54:55