Mission:

To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.

Rick Scott Governor

John H. Armstrong, MD, FACS

State Surgeon General & Secretary

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 21, 2014

Contact: DOH Communications (850) 245-4111

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH HONORS **OUTSTANDING EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES**

TALLAHASSEE - The Department of Health, Emergency Medical Services (EMS) program is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Excellence in EMS Awards in recognition of National EMS Week. This marks the 24th year the EMS program is honoring outstanding Florida EMS organizations and individuals who make a positive impact on local EMS throughout the state. The 2014 statewide EMS awards are sponsored by the Emergency Medicine Learning & Resource Center (EMLRC).

"The EMS program is honored to recognize the outstanding efforts of Florida's men and women who serve their community, saving lives, with excellence in emergency medical services," said John C. Bixler, EMS Program Administrator. "Congratulations to these recipients for their significant contributions to EMS in Florida. We thank everyone for their participation in this program and encourage you to recognize all of the outstanding individuals and organizations in your area during EMS Week."

Awards will be presented at 5:30 p.m. on July 16 at the Caribe Royal in Orlando in conjunction with the State EMS Advisory Council meetings and the EMLRC's 40th Annual Clinical Conference on Emergency Medical Services (ClinCon).

2014 Award winners are:

EMS Provider of the Year: Seminole County EMS/Fire Rescue

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) of the Year: Jay M. Horne, EMT, Sunstar Paramedics

Paramedic of the Year: Misty A. Baker, Paramedic, Bradford County Emergency Medical Services

EMS Nurse of the Year: Ivan Mustafa, EMT-P, MSN, ARNP-C, CEMSO, EFO, CFO, Seminole County Fire Department Division Chief of EMS

Larry S. Jordan EMS Hall of Fame: James A. (Jim) Judge, II, Paramedic, Volusia County Department of Public Protection

Marilyn Crook EMS Pioneer: Jason L. Kimbrell, Paramedic, Lifeguard Ambulance Services of Florida, LLC

EMS Injury Prevention: David J. Selbach, EMT, Sunstar Paramedics

Raymond H. Alexander, MD, EMS Medical Director of the Year: Peter M. Antevy, M.D., Medical Director of Davie Fire Rescue and Assistant Medical Director of Coral Springs Fire Department

911 Public Safety Telecommunicator of the Year: Jake B. Carter, Santa Rosa County EMS

EMS Educator of the Year: Derek J. Hunt, NREMT-P, FP-C, UF CCP, ShandsCair

<u>Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC):</u> Pam Pieper, Ph.D, ARNP, University of Florida College of Nursing

<u>EMS Disaster Preparedness & Response:</u> Brannen A. Yutzy, EMT, Orange County Fire Rescue Department

Video of the Year: Sunstar Paramedics

Photo of the Year: Michael R. Hilliard, Paramedic



For more information about the awards program, please visit http://www.floridahealth.gov/provider-and-partner-resources/advisory-councils-stakeholder-groups/ems-advisory-council/documents/state-award-press-release-2014.pdf.

The Department works to protect, promote and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county and community efforts.

Follow us on Twitter at <u>@HealthyFla</u> and on <u>Facebook</u>. For more information about the Florida Department of Health please visit <u>www.floridahealth.gov</u>.

###