Mission:

To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.



John H. Armstrong, MD, FACS State Surgeon General & Secretary

Rick Scott

Governor

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 3, 2014

Contact: Communications Office (850) 245-4111

STATE SURGEON GENERAL APPOINTS MEMBERS TO THE NEW ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE RESEARCH GRANT ADVISORY BOARD

TALLAHASSEE – The State Surgeon General has announced the appointment of 11 members to the Alzheimer's Disease Research Grant Advisory Board. The Advisory Board is a component of the new Ed and Ethel Moore Alzheimer's Disease Research Program and will assist in the effort to fund research leading to the prevention or cure for Alzheimer's disease.

Governor Rick Scott said, "Today is a step forward for the individuals who are battling this terrible disease. Our budget invested \$3 million in funding so that we can continue to focus on improving the health and well-being of Floridians battling Alzheimer's disease while enhancing Florida's developing research community. We look forward to working with the Ed and Ethel Moore Alzheimer's Disease Research Program to find a cure for this terrible disease that affects so many Floridians."

This new \$3 million funding initiative was passed during the 2014 legislature and signed by Governor Rick Scott. The Alzheimer's Disease Research Grant Advisory Board will advise the State Surgeon General on the scope and direction of the new Alzheimer's disease research program. The Department will award research grants through a competitive, peer-reviewed, process that will identify and fund the best proposals to improve the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of Alzheimer's disease, and expand Alzheimer's disease research in this state. Researchers at any university or research institute in Florida are eligible to apply.

State Surgeon General and Secretary of Health Dr. John Armstrong said, "This board brings together expertise that will advance Alzheimer's research in Florida. The creation of the Ed and Ethel Moore Alzheimer's Disease Research Program demonstrates Florida's dedication to finding a cure for this disease that affects too many of our loved ones and their families."

Senator Garrett Richter, President Pro Tempore and Senate bill sponsor said, "Today represents great news for the families of Florida. The Alzheimer's research that is now possible through this program should bring hope to many people who are living with the impacts of this disease."

State Representative Matt Hudson, Chair of the House Health Care Appropriations Subcommittee and House sponsor of HB 709, said, "I am pleased to see the Alzheimer's Disease Research Grant Advisory Board appointed and I am grateful for Governor Scott's leadership on this issue that affects so many Floridians."

The board will consult with the State Surgeon General on grant appropriations and proposals. Board members will also be responsible for providing advice on program priorities as well as oversight regarding mechanisms for the dissemination of research results.

The members of the new Alzheimer's Disease Research Grant Advisory Board include the following:

Geriatric Psychiatrists

- Frederick Schaerf, MD, PhD Director, Neuropsychiatric Research Center of Southwest Florida
- Amanda Smith, MD Medical Director, USF Health Byrd Alzheimer's Institute, University of South Florida

Geriatricians

- Ken Brummel-Smith, MD Charlotte Edwards Maguire Professor, and Chair, Department of Geriatrics, Florida State University
- Mariana B. Dangiolo, MD Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Geriatrics, University of Central Florida

Gerontologists

- Leilani Doty, Ph.D. Director, Cognitive and Memory Disorder Clinic and Associate Scientist, Department of Neurology, University of Florida
- Jacqueline C. Wiltshire, PhD Assistant Professor, Health Policy and Management, College of Public Health, University of South Florida

Neuroscientists

- Todd E. Golde, MD, PhD Director, Center for Translational Research in Neurodegenerative Disease and Professor, Department of Neuroscience, College of Medicine, University of Florida
- Leonard Petrucelli, Ph.D. Chair, Department of Neuroscience and Professor of Neuroscience, Mayo Clinic Jacksonville

Neurologists

- Ranjan Duara, MD Director, Wien Center for Alzheimer's Disease and Memory Disorders, Mount Sinai Medical Center
- Neill Graff-Radford, MD Professor of Neurology, Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
- Clifton Wright, MD Associate Professor of Neurology, Scientific Director, Evelyn F. McKnight Brain Institute, University of Miami

The Department works to protect, promote and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county and community efforts. During 2014, the Department is recognizing 125 years of public health in Florida with educational opportunities and events. Please visit www.FLHealth125.gov for more information.

Follow us on Twitter at <u>@HealthyFla</u> and on <u>Facebook</u>. For more information about the Florida Department of Health please visit <u>www.floridahealth.gov</u>.

###