## FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH RECOGNIZES RECIPIENTS OF 27TH ANNUAL EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES AWARDS



## Contact:

Communications Office NewsMedia@flhealth.gov 850-245-4111

**Tallahassee, Fla.** — The Florida Department of Health is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Excellence in Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Awards. This year's statewide EMS awards are hosted by the Emergency Medicine Learning and Resource Center (EMLRC) at the Caribe Royal in Orlando on July 11, 2017. This ceremony is in conjunction with the State EMS Advisory Council meetings and the EMLRC's 43rd Annual Clinical Conference on Emergency Medical Services (ClinCon).

"The department is pleased to recognize the brave and honorable efforts of Florida's men and women who serve their community with excellence in emergency medical services," said State Surgeon General and Secretary of Health Dr. Celeste Philip. "Congratulations to the statewide EMS award recipients for their significant contributions to EMS in Florida. We are so thankful for their lifesaving services."

The following is a list of the 2017 award recipients.

**EMS Provider of the Year:** Coral Springs Parkland Fire Department

**Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) of the Year:** Jennifer Perdue, Tallahassee Fire Department

Paramedic of the Year: David Terrana, Palm Beach Gardens Fire Rescue

**Beth Rogers Nursing Award:** Christopher K. Williams, RN, BSN, CCRN, CMTE, Nicklaus Children's Hospital

Larry S. Jordan EMS Hall of Fame: Salvatore Silvestri, MD

Marilyn Crook EMS Pioneer: Brijesh Mehta, MD, Memorial Healthcare Systems

Friend to EMS: Amanda Palumbo, American Heart Association

Raymond H. Alexander, MD, EMS Medical Director of the Year: Brooke Shepard, MD, South Florida Baptist Hospital

**911 Public Safety Telecommunicator of the Year:** Kevin Riley, Santa Rosa County Communication Center

EMS Educator of the Year: Clinical Services Department, Sunstar Paramedics

**Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) Award:** Jane Bedford, Nature Coast EMS

**EMS Injury Prevention**: David A. Summers RN, CFRN, EMT-P, Health Care District Palm Beach County

EMS Disaster Preparedness and Response Award: Stephen Glatstein, Sunstar Paramedics

Video of the Year: Johns Hopkins All Children's Lifeline

Photo of the Year: Leon County EMS

For more information about the Excellence in Emergency Medical Services award program, please visit <a href="https://www.EMLRC.org">www.EMLRC.org</a>.

## **About the Florida Department of Health**

The Department, nationally accredited by the <u>Public Health Accreditation Board</u>, works to protect, promote and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county and community efforts.

Follow us on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Instagram</u> and Twitter at <u>@HealthyFla</u>. For more information about the Florida Department of Health please visit <u>www.FloridaHealth.gov</u>.