It's a New Day in Public Health.
The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.
State Funded Audit Guidance
All links open in a new window
This part is applicable if the provider is a nonstate entity as defined by Section 215.97(2), Florida Statutes.
- In the event that the provider expends a total amount of state financial assistance equal to or in excess of $500,000 in any fiscal year of such provider (for fiscal years ending September 30, 2004 or thereafter), the provider must have a State single or project-specific audit for such fiscal year in accordance with Section 215.97, Florida Statutes; applicable rules of the Department of Financial Services; and Chapters 10.550 (PDF 977K) (local governmental entities) or 10.650 (PDF 950K) (nonprofit and for-profit organizations), Rules of the Auditor General. Exhibit 1 to this agreement indicates state financial assistance awarded through the Department of Health by this agreement. In determining the state financial assistance expended in its fiscal year, the provider shall consider all sources of state financial assistance, including state financial assistance received from the Department of Health, other state agencies, and other nonstate entities. State financial assistance does not include Federal direct or pass-through awards and resources received by a nonstate entity for Federal program matching requirements.
- In connection with the audit requirements addressed in Part II, paragraph 1, the provider shall ensure that the audit complies with the requirements of Section 215.97(8), Florida Statutes. This includes submission of a financial reporting package as defined by Section 215.97(2), Florida Statutes, and Chapter 10.550 (local governmental entities) or 10.650 (nonprofit and for-profit organizations), Rules of the Auditor General.
- If the provider expends less than $500,000 in state financial assistance in its fiscal year (for fiscal years ending September 30, 2004 or thereafter), an audit conducted in accordance with the provisions of Section 215.97, Florida Statutes, is not required. In the event that the provider expends less than $500,000 in state financial assistance in its fiscal year and elects to have an audit conducted in accordance with the provisions of Section 215.97, Florida Statutes, the cost of the audit must be paid from the nonstate entity's resources (i.e., the cost of such an audit must be paid from the provider resources obtained from other than State entities).
- An audit conducted in accordance with this part shall cover the entire organization for the organization's fiscal year. Compliance findings related to agreements with the Department of Health shall be based on the agreement's requirements, including any applicable rules, regulations, or statutes. The financial statements shall disclose whether or not the matching requirement was met for each applicable agreement. All questioned costs and liabilities due to the Department of Health shall be fully disclosed in the audit report with reference to the Department of Health agreement involved. If not otherwise disclosed as required by Rule 69I-5.003, Fla. Admin. Code, the schedule of expenditures of state financial assistance shall identify expenditures by agreement number for each agreement with the Department of Health in effect during the audit period. Financial reporting packages required under this part must be submitted within 45 days after delivery of the audit report, but no later than 12 months after the provider's fiscal year end for local governmental entities. Non-profit or for-profit organizations are required to be submitted within 45 days after delivery of the audit report, but no later than 9 months after the provider's fiscal year end. Notwithstanding the applicability of this portion, the Department of Health retains all right and obligation to monitor and oversee the performance of this agreement as outlined throughout this document and pursuant to law.