
DH 524, 04/2016, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.007 (Obsoletes Previous Editions) 

APPLICATION FOR AMENDMENT TO FLORIDA 

DEATH OR FETAL DEATH RECORD 

IMPORTANT:  Read the entire application form before completing 

TYPE OR PRINT 

Requirement for ordering cause of death:  If you are an eligible applicant (See ELIGIBILITY), complete and sign this application, state relationship and 

provide photo identification.  Depending on relationship, additional documentation supporting need for cause of death information may be required, refer 

to ELIGIBILITY.  If applicant is not an eligible person, Affidavit to Release Cause of Death, DH Form 1959, must be completed and signed by an eligible 

person before a notarizing official and submitted in addition to this application form.  Acceptable forms of photo identification are the following: Driver’s 

License, State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card. 

SECTION A - INFORMATION ON TYPE OF RECORD AND DECEDENT PLEASE CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX:   DEATH   FETAL DEATH 

NAME OF DECEDENT/ 

INFANT 
 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SEX 

DATE OF DEATH 
MONTH DAY YEAR (4 DIGIT) 

PLACE of DEATH 

CITY or TOWN COUNTY 

FLORIDA 

SECTION B – FEES & PAYMENT     Fees are nonrefundable 

MEDICAL AMENDMENT:  (Refer to section in Instructions entitled Medical Amendment for description). 

 No amendment fee required; however, if certification of amended record desired, fee of $5.00 is required for 1st copy. 

Do you need cause of death on this first certification?  Yes  No 

Fee 

$5.00 

Quantity 
 

1 

Amount 

 

 

NON-MEDICAL AMENDMENT:  $20.00 (Includes search and one certification of amended record) Any change to 

a record other than those defined in the section in Instructions entitled Medical Amendment in considered a Non-

Medical Amendment. 

Do you need cause of death on this first certification   Yes  No 

 

$20.00 

 

Quantity 
 

1 

Amount 

 

 

Additional copies are $4.00 each when ordered with this 

request 
$4.00 X Number With Cause + Number Without Cause =  

RUSH ORDERS (Optional):  RUSH Fees are an additional $10.00.  

If you desire RUSH service, mark the outside of your envelope “RUSH” (Processing time within our office  

for Rush Service is 2-3 business days; routine processing time within our office  is 4-6 business days.) 

  Check here for RUSH Order  

  $ 
 

 

TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED:   Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics.  (DO NOT 

SEND CASH)   

International payments should be made by Cashier’s Check or Money Order in U. S. Dollars. 
Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks.   

ENCLOSE COPY OF VALID PHOTO 

IDENTIFICATION IF CAUSE OF DEATH 

REQUESTED OR YOUR ORDER WILL NOT BE 

COMPLETED 

 

$ 

 

 

SECTION C – APPLICANT/MAILING INFORMATION 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, 

or on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a 

felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes. 
Applicant’s Name 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) Applicant Signature 

If Funeral Director OR Attorney listed as Applicant and 

requesting Cause of Death Information 

LICENSE/BAR NUMBER  NAME OF PERSON YOU ARE  REPRESENTING 

 

If requesting cause of death, state your relationship (OR if a 

funeral director or an attorney, the relationship of the person you 

are representing) to the decedent. 

RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT 

HOME PHONE NUMBER (Including Area Code) 

 

ADDRESS FOR MAILING (BE SURE TO INCLUDE ANY BUILDING OR APARTMENT NUMBER.) 

ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER  (Including Area Code) 

 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

IF THE CERTIFICATION IS TO BE MAILED TO ANOTHER PERSON OR ADDRESS USE THE SPACES BELOW TO SPECIFY SHIP TO NAME AND ADDRESS. 

SHIP TO NAME 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)  

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

 

SHIP TO STREET ADDRESS (AND APT. NO. IF APPLICABLE) 

WORK PHONE NUMBER 

 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 



DH 524, 04/2016, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.007 (Obsoletes Previous Editions) 

  

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH AMENDMENT APPLICATION 

Statute/Rule references may be accessed through the website address at the bottom of this form 

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Pursuant to s. 382.025, Florida Statutes, except for those deaths occurring over 50 years ago, cause 

of death information is confidential pursuant to Florida law and may only be issued as indicated in the section below. Cause of death 

information on death records over 50 years old or a death certificate without cause of death is available to anyone of legal age (18) 

completing an application and submitting the required fee. 

ELIGIBILITY: Death records with the cause of death information may only be issued to the following individuals: 

 The decedent’s spouse or parent; child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age; 

 To any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the 

decedent; 

 To any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the before named persons; or 

 Court order. 

REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Except for a legal representative such as an attorney or 

funeral director, all requests for certification of a death certificate that includes the cause of death information, must include signature of the 

applicant, state his or her qualifying eligibility AND provide photo identification.  If you are a funeral director or attorney representing an eligible 

person as listed above, include your professional license or bar number and the name and relationship of the person you are representing.  If you 

are not one of the persons listed above, you may only obtain cause of death information by submitting an affidavit signed by an eligible 

person before a notarizing official or by court order.  A form entitled Affidavit To Release Cause of Death Information, DH Form 1959, is 

available upon request from this office, most local vital statistics offices within the county health department and our website. 

If after reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-

6900 extension 9000 for assistance.   

NOTE:  If needed for filing probate, be aware that Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death shown. 

MEDICAL AMENDMENT:  Includes cause of death, manner of death, date of death, hour or time of death, place of death (other than street 

address). 

MISSING DATA:  A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year.  If any of the other items requested on the front of this 

form are unavailable, some other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, etc) may be helpful if multiple records are found 

for common names. 

RESPONSE TIME:  Response time for processing an amendment varies depending upon our workload at the time your request is 

received.  Generally, an amendment is completed and certification(s) issued within two to three weeks.  RUSH processing is available to 

those who need assurance of faster service.  Orders received in an envelope marked RUSH and with the $10.00 RUSH fee will be given 

priority over other pending work; no amended certificate can be issued until all required evidence, forms, applicable fees and appropriate 

signatures have been received and meet the criteria as established in rules of the department. 

FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE:   If no record is found, a “Not Found” statement will be issued.  Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid 

for additional copies when no record is found.  These are refunded on written request. 

 

 

 

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS 

P.O. BOX 210, 

Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042 

(Street Address: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202) 
 

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE 

www.FloridaVitalStatisticsOnline.com 
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