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Developing Professional Partnerships in Public Health 

 

Orlando Strong 

Vital Statistics At Work During Crisis 

 

Vital Statistics recognizes Lamont Riddick, Chief Deputy 

Registrar at the Florida Department of Health in Orange 

County (FDOH—Orange), who was instrumental in coordi-

nating efforts between state agencies, hospitals, funeral 

homes, social security, law enforcement, as well as the 

District 9 Medical Examiner’s office and Florida Emergency 

Mortuary Operations Response System during the tragedy 

at the Pulse Night Club in Orlando.   

Lamont has been with FDOH-Orange for seven years, and 

has been the Chief Deputy Registrar responsible for the 

day to day operations of the vital statistics office for 5 1/2 

years.   

Lamont says, “During this time the thing that he is so grate-

ful for is the help and support that he received from the 

state office.”  

Thank you, Lamont, for your excellent work and a job well 
done. 

 

Lamont Riddick 

Chief Deputy Registrar 

Orange County 



 

 

SIGNING A FLORIDA DEATH CERTIFICATE  

What Physicians Need to Know 

Completing the death certificate is one of the last things a physician can do in caring for the patient.  Without a death 

certificate families cannot proceed with some very important business such as closing estates, filing insurance claims, 

social security benefits, veteran’s benefits and/or retirement benefits.  The death certificate is also an important public 

health monitoring tool. 
  

Who should sign the death certificate? 
 

·  A primary or attending physician who treated the decedent through examination, medical advice or medication 

(even if not physically seen) during the 12 months preceding the date of death is the most knowledgeable about 

the decedent and should sign the death certificate.  Chapter 382.008(3), Florida Statutes.   
 

·  In some cases, the physician in charge of the decedent’s care for the illness or condition that resulted in death, or 

by the physician in attendance either at the time of death or immediately before or after is also qualified to sign.  
  

 A physician covering for an absent colleague who has access to the patient’s medical records is able and qualified 

to sign. (Just as you would treat a colleague’s patient, you are responsible for signing the death certificate he/she 

would sign.) 
 

·  If the patient dies at home, and has been seen by a physician within the last twelve 12 months, it is considered an 

attended death even if you were not at bedside.  A death at home does not automatically fall within the jurisdiction 

of the medical examiner’s office. 
 

Refusing to sign could incur the following penalties: 
 

·  Misdemeanor of the 2nd degree. Chapter 382.026(8), Florida Statutes. 
 

·  Fines from $1,000 to $10,000. Chapter 382.026(9) Florida Statutes and Florida Administrative Code, Rule 64B8-

8.001(2)(g). 
 

·  Notice of Noncompliance. Florida Administrative Code, Rule 64B8-8.011(3)(b)(1). 
 

Within 72 hours after receipt of a death certificate, the medical certification of cause of death shall be completed and 

made available to the funeral director by the physician. Chapter 382.008(3), Florida Statutes. 

 

Florida Administrative Code Chapter 64V-1.0061(3) states that a physician’s signature and statement as to the cause 

of death does not constitute prima facie proof of the cause of death. Terms such as “Probable” and “Possible” are ac-

ceptable terms preceding causes of death. 
 

As a physician you have a statutory obligation to sign the death certificate. Signing a death certificate does not infer 

that the death is the fault of the physician certifying the death.  You are merely completing a legally obligated last act of 

patient care.   
 

Additional information and training can be found on the Vital Statistics website at www.FloridaVitalStatisitcsOnline.com. 
 

* Contributor: Kimberly Groeneveld, Risk Management-Lee Memorial Health Systems 

 



Applying for a Florida Driver License or ID 

The Real ID Act 

The REAL ID Act became effective nationwide on May 11, 2008.  Florida began issuing REAL ID compliant credentials 

after January 1, 2010.  A star in the upper right corner of the card indicates that the individual is REAL ID compliant.  

REAL ID is a nationwide effort to improve the integrity and security of state-issued driver licenses and identification 

cards, which in turn will help fight terrorism and reduce identity fraud.  In order to get a REAL ID individuals would need 

to submit the following primary documents to establish identity, proof of legal residence and date of birth: 

For U.S. Citizens: 

Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or certified copy of a birth certificate*. 

Social Security Card or proof of your Social Security number  

Two documents that show the applicant’s principal residence. 

*Through a partnership with the Bureau of Vital Statistics there are currently 105 Driver License/Tax Collector offices 

within 35 counties in Florida that are able to issue certified copies of birth certificates.  Since the inception of the Birth 

Issuance Program in 2012, approximately 85,000 birth certificates have been issued.  Note: Not all county tax collectors 

are participating in the birth issuance program at this time.  See implementation map below. 

For a detailed list of  required items, please visit www.gathergoget.com.  

For more information regarding the Real ID Act: http://www.flhsmv.gov/realid/index.html 
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 Vital Statistics expects to move away from our current Citrix-based platform to a new HTML5 platform 

within the next 12-18 months.  We expect the changes in platform to greatly enhance the usability, and 

functionality for our users. 

 Vital Statistics will be coordinating activities with District Medical Examiner Offices to help further improve 

the collection of specified drugs related to deaths associated with poisoning by drugs.  The project will be 
a 1 1/2 year study that is conducted through a grant with the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention 
(CDC) to further enhance the data collection of specific drugs. 

 Vital Statistics is excited to be working with the Florida Clerks of Court regarding electronically transmit-

ting documents such as marriage amendments, Legal Changes of Name, Adoptions, Paternity Orders, 

TPR (Termination of Parental Rights), and Children in Common, through their e-portal system.  E-portal 

will help ensure the timely, and accurate filing of amendment information coming from the Clerks of 

Courts.  Vital Statistics is also currently working with the Clerks of Court on electronically transferring 

marriages and dissolution of marriage data, thus eliminating the need for paper records. 

 Vital Statistics recently partnered with the Veterans Administration in the development of a brochure that 

discusses how families may benefit when the death record properly shows the Service-Connected Disa-

bility that contributed to the decedent’s death.  To get a copy of the VA Service Connected Disability bro-

chure, contact the Bureau of Vital Statistics, or the Veterans Administration.  For an informational bro-

chure click here. 

 Vital Statistics is currently developing a presentation to be used in medical residency programs through-

out the state.  The program will familiarize the medical student with what their obligation will be to sign 

the death certificate once they become a Florida physician. 

WHAT’S NEW? 

Quick snippets regarding current or up-coming projects 

 

To add your name to our mailing list, please click here. 
 

Questions or comments? 

E-mail us at Lorraine.Kratz@flhealth.gov or call 904-359-6900 ext. 
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http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/certificates/_documents/service-disabled-benefits-brochure.pdf
mailto:Lorraine.kratz@flhealth.gov?subject=To%20add%20to%20mailing%20list

