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Developing Professional Partnerships in Public Health  

The Bureau of Vital Statistics (BVS) and the Florida Perinatal Quality Collaborative (FPQC) 

have partnered to create a Birth Certificate Initiative workgroup, consisting of birthing 

hospital staff to help improve the reporting accuracy of key birth certificate variables. The 

FPQC is directed by Dr. William Sappenfield, a pediatrician, epidemiologist and professor 

at the University of South Florida College of Public Health and works closely with the   

Department of Health, health professionals, advocates, policy makers and hospitals to 

improve Florida’s maternal and infant health outcomes.  

Phase 1 of the initiative gathered a workgroup that involved nine Florida hospitals, FPQC, 

BVS and various perinatal healthcare professionals volunteering to help gather infor-

mation on birth certificates. Monthly webinars were conducted from March 2017 through 

December 2017 to discuss the importance of the key variables, best sources for the infor-

mation and tools on how to gather the most accurate data. BVS provided the hospitals a 

list of randomly selected birth records  filed at their facility for comparison with medical 

records to determine the accuracy of the data recorded on the birth certificate.  

Phase 2 of the initiative began in July 2018 and concludes in June 2019 with the number 

of volunteer hospitals increasing to 17. Monthly training webinars provided a forum for 

the participating hospitals to share and discuss their results, learn about challenges of 

collecting data accurately, learn about quality tools to assist collection and make recom-

mendations for improvement. Lessons learned from the initiative will enable the FPQC to 

develop online tools to help hospitals improve the accuracy of birth certificate reporting 

for public health purposes and to improve health care quality. 

Additional online birth registration tools are available for facilities that are not partici-

pating in the workgroup. A birth registration manual is available from the BVS and an e-

learning tool titled “Applying Best Practices for Reporting Medical and Health Information 

on Birth Certificates” is available through the National Center for Health Statistics web-

link: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/training/BirthCertificateElearning/. This e-learning tool 

offers continuing educational credits and also emphasizes the importance of quality data 

reporting. 
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Section 382.006, Florida Statutes, states “The funeral director who first assumes custody of a dead body or fetus must 

obtain a burial-transit permit before final disposition and within 5 days after date of death.”  Section 382.008, Florida 

Statutes, states “A certificate for each death and fetal death which occurs in this state shall be filed electronically on 

the department electronic death registration system or on a form prescribed by the department with the department 

or local registrar of the district in which the death occurred within 5 days after such death and prior to final disposition, 

and shall be registered by the department if it has been completed and filed in accordance with this chapter or adopt-

ed rules.” However, the Bureau of Vital Statistics (BVS) Electronic Death Registration System (EDRS) automatically    

allows an extension on the filing of the death record for another five business days. 

BVS developed the following tools to assist EDRS users in monitoring the progression of the death record and shorten 

filing times to stay in compliance with Florida Statutes: 

• The “Work Queue” is a list of all death records still in pending status for a facility. 

• Email reminders are sent by the system to funeral directors starting on the 8th day after the date of death, if the 

record has not been completed.  Reminders continue until the record is completed. 

• “Late Death Records” and “EDRS Compliance” reports are available through the “Batch” menu in EDRS and may be 

printed at any time. 

If funeral directors need assistance in filing a death record on time they should contact the Chief Deputy Registrar of 

the county where the death occurred. 

How to Meet Statutory Filing Requirements for Death Certificates 

The Bureau of Vital Statistics (BVS) created a new pathway for Medical Examiners (MEs) within the Electronic Death 

Registration System (EDRS) that allows for online amendments to their death records. This is NOT the same pathway 

used by the ME when taking over jurisdiction of a death record that was completed by another certifying physician. The 

ME amendment pathway will allow corrections to medical items such as the date of death, place of death, certifier in-

formation and ME case number, as well as autopsy, tobacco and cause of death information. The amendment pathway 

can be accessed through the Requests menu, as depicted below. 

The online amendment pathway is only available to the MEs. All other certifying physicians, regardless of whether they 

complete death certificates electronically or manually, will need to complete a medical amendment affidavit (DH Form 

434A), signing it in the presence of a notary and then mailing to the BVS to amend the death record. There is no fee 

required for a medical amendment and the DH Form 434A can be found on the department’s website:                    

http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/certificates/publications-page.html. 
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Trending Now on FLHealthCHARTS 

 

Life Expectancy 

The first half of 2018 shows more deaths recorded than Live Births in the state of Florida? Deaths totaled at 

107,569, and Live Births were 106,645 for January through June 2018.   

Provisional data supplied by FLHealthCHARTS dated 10/05/2018. 

Did You Know? 

Life expectancy is the number of years individuals are expected to live considering the age distribution and mortality by age of the 

population.  Calculation of life expectancy assumes no one is moving into or out of the population.  The only influences considered 

are deaths and population by age. 

Floridians born in 2017 are expected to live 79.6 years.  White females are expected to live 82.7 years, and black females are ex-

pected to live 80.9 years.  White males are expected to live 77.1 years, and black males are expected to live 74.6 years. 

Life expectancy varies by county as shown in the 

map.  Interpretation of these estimates must be 

made in the context of why people of certain 

ages live in a particular county.   Do they live in 

the county because of employment, school, im-

prisonment or retirement?  For example, older 

people may be attracted to one county for re-

tirement, while younger people might be attract-

ed to another county for college education.  

Because most counties include numerous cities 

and communities, public health statistics are 

increasingly calculated at the census-tract lev-

el—a sub-county unit of measurement.  Two 

national projects are calculating sub-county life 

expectancy for census-tracts—the U.S. Small-

Area Life Expectancy Estimates Project 

(USALEEP) and the Sub-County Assessment of 

Life Expectancy (SCALE) Project.  However, re-

sults from these projects should include com-

plete statistical information and be used with 

additional information about the population to 

prevent simplistic interpretations such as con-

cluding that problems exist in areas where life 

expectancy is the shortest.   

Because census-tract estimates are based on smaller populations, life expectancy estimates by census tract will vary more than at 

the county level, with differences due to random variation rather than an actual difference in life span.  Thus, when using census-

tract data, differences between census tracts will need to be greater than the same differences between counties to be meaningful 

and not random.  Confidence intervals around the differences should be examined to assess whether differences are significant or 

due to chance.  In addition, data and information, such as the population’s age distribution, should be considered to accurately 

interpret life expectancy. 

FLHealthCHARTS.com provides life expectancy by county in the Population Atlas and the Health Equity Profile. 

http://www.flhealthcharts.com/charts/default.aspx
http://www.flhealthcharts.com/ChartsReports/rdPage.aspx?rdReport=PopAtlas.PopulationAtlasDASHBOARD&rdRequestForwarding=Form
http://www.flhealthcharts.com/ChartsReports/rdPage.aspx?rdReport=ChartsProfiles.HealthEquityProfile


Electronically Transmitting Marriage Records 

Florida Statutes mandates all vital records to be filed with the Bureau of Vital Statistics (BVS) within specified 

timeframes. To assist vital record providers in meeting these dates, BVS has developed programs to facilitate electron-

ic registration in the last several years. Due to the successful cooperation of all stakeholders, BVS electronically re-

ceives: 

• Over 99% of all birth records from birthing hospitals and midwives; 

• Over 99% of all death records from funeral directors and the Medical Examiners; 

• 100% of all dissolution of marriage records from the Clerk of Courts; 

• 65% of all marriage records from the Clerk of Courts.  

There are 47 Clerk of Courts transmitting marriage records and BVS is working with the remaining clerks to reach 

100% electronic by the end of 2019. Electronic transmission can save time and money for the clerks because paper 

records do not need to be copied, batched and mailed to the state office. Records sent electronically are received di-

rectly by BVS in a secure platform, while paper records may be lost or misdirected in shipping. The risk of paper pack-

ages being lost in the mail is eliminated and certifications are ready for issuance to clients immediately after electronic 

receipt by the bureau.  

Clerk of Courts  can learn more by contacting the Bureau of Vital Statistics Quality Assurance unit at (904) 359-6900 

ext. 9020. The Quality Assurance unit can work with Clerk of Court’s IT department to assist in setting up the electron-

ic transmission process and provide technical guidance, if needed. 

The Bureau of Vital Statistics is working to expand its Everbridge distribution list to all partners to improve communica-

tion during emergency events. 

Everbridge is used to determine the status of the county vital statistics office and if assistance is needed.  Sharing the 

status of the county has proven helpful for all department partners. 

The Bureau of Vital Statistics also utilizes the statewide Everbridge notification system to stay in contact with all 67 

county health departments. It’s very important that the county staff keep their contact information current. Depart-

ment of Health personnel can access their Everbridge SERVFL account by accessing the following link:                    

https://member.everbridge.netmanage/453003085611185/5743857366101811#/home. 

A helpful hint for Everbridge users is to store both 866-804-9169 and 850-245-4710 telephone numbers in your phone 

as the DOH Everbridge SERVFL Alert. This will serve as the caller ID when receiving an alert from Everbridge SERVFL.  

Everbridge Emergency Notification System 

https://member.everbridge.net/manage/453003085611185/5743857366101811#/home


 

To add your name to the Bureau of Vital Statistics  

mailing list, please click here. 
 

Questions or comments?  

E-mail Lorraine.Kratz@flhealth.gov  

How to Request a Florida Birth Certificate 
 

To order by mail, visit the Bureau of Vital Statistics (BVS) website at http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates and 

download an application for a Florida birth record.  

To find a local vital statistics office in Florida, visit http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/certificates/publications-

page.html. 

For more information, call the Bureau of Vital Statistics at (904) 359-6900 ext. 9000. 

To order by phone or online through VitalChek, the BVS only approved vendor, call 1-877-550-7330 or visit 

www.vitalchek.com. VitalChek charges additional processing fees and offers an expedited shipping option.   

If the birth did not occur in the state of Florida, visit https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w/index.htm for additional infor-

mation on other states.  

A Word About Ordering Records through Online Vendors 

If you hear about customers, family or friends wishing to order a vital record online, please help them save money and 

share this important information. The Department’s ONLY contracted vendor is VitalChek Network. VitalChek verifies 

the applicant’s identity, obtains ordering information and downloads requests directly to the Bureau of Vital Statistics 

multiple times per day, which may expedite typical processing time. Many online companies not affiliated with the 

Florida Department of Health offer services to complete an application to obtain a birth, death, marriage or divorce 

certificate on behalf of the consumer on the pretense that the application process is confusing and time-consuming. 

However, these companies cannot obtain the certificate quicker than the consumer. In Florida, certificates are issued 

by the Department of Health’s Vital Statistics offices by submitting an application, required fees and proper identifica-

tion. Certificate requests are normally processed by the Florida Department of Health’s Vital Statistics and mailed with-

in 3–5 business days. Consumers can also receive birth and death certificates the same day if they visit a local county 

vital statistics office and/or the state office. 

If customers feel they were party to an unfair business practice, they may file a consumer complaint with a consumer 

protection agency such as the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the Office of the Attorney 

General or the Better Business Bureau.  For more information call the Bureau of Vital Statistics at: (904) 359-6900 ext. 

9000.  

mailto:Lorraine.kratz@flhealth.gov?subject=To%20add%20to%20mailing%20list
http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates
http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/certificates/publications-page.html
http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/certificates/publications-page.html
http://www.vitalchek.com
https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w/index.htm



