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AFFIDAVIT TO RELEASE CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION  
ATTENTION:  This form must be completed in the presence of a Notary Public 

 

If you are entitled to receive the death certificate with cause of death, this form may be used to authorize another person to obtain 

the certificate. This form is intended for single use only and must contain original signatures. This form must be accompanied by 

Application for Florida Death Certificate form (DH 727). 

 

My name is: _____________________________________________. I am eligible, by law, to obtain the  
  (Eligible person completing affidavit to release) 

death certificate with cause for ________________________________ because I am the: (check one) 
(Decedent named on death certificate) 
 

____ Surviving spouse listed on the death certificate 

____ Parent(s) listed on the death certificate  

____ 

____ 

Child of the decedent (Must be 18 years or older) 

Grandchild of the decedent (Must be 18 years or older) 

____ Sibling of the decedent (Must be 18 years or older) 

____ Legal representative of an eligible person listed above (Documentation Required) 
 

I authorize the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics to issue the death certificate with cause to: 

 

_______________________________________________. 
(Name of person to receive death certificate)  

A copy of a valid photo ID for both the eligible person authorizing release and the person receiving the death 

certificate is required and must be attached to this form (see list on reverse side). 

Pursuant to s. 382.026, Florida Statutes, any person who willfully and knowingly makes any false statement in a certificate, 

record, or report required by this chapter, or in an application for an amendment thereof, or in an application for a certified copy 

of a vital record, or who willfully and knowingly supplies false information, intending that such information be used in the 

preparation of any such report, record, or certificate, or amendment thereof, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as 

provided in s. 775.082, F.S., s. 775.083, F.S., or s. 775.084, F.S. 

I hereby declare under oath that the above statements are true and correct. ____________________________________________. 

          (Signature of eligible person completing affidavit to release) 

STATE OF FLORIDA COUNTY OF __________________________ 

Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me by means of ______ physical presence or ______ online notarization, this  

______ day of _______________________, 20____ , by __________________________________________. (Name of Affiant) 

 

_____________________________________________   _____________________________________ 

Signature of Notary Public       Printed Name of Notary Public 

         Stamp Commissioned Name of Notary Public 

Personally Known_______ OR Produced Identification_________  

 
Type of Identification Produced_____________________________________ 

 

Even if personally known to the notary, the rules of the Florida Department of Health require both the eligible person 

completing the affidavit to release and the person receiving the death certificate to provide a copy of valid photo 

identification. 
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR AFFIDAVIT TO RELEASE  

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION 
 

If you need assistance, please contact our Vital Records Section at 904-359-6900 ext. 9000 

 

If you are entitled to the death certificate with cause of death, this form may be used to authorize another person to 

obtain the certificate. This form is intended for single use only and must contain original signatures. This form must 

be accompanied by the Application for Florida Death Certificate form (DH 727) completed by the applicant (person 

to receive death certificate). Form DH 727 may be downloaded from our website.  
 

ELIGIBILITY (Section 382.025, Florida Statutes):  
  
CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information 

included may only be issued to:  
1. The decedent’s spouse or parent  

2. The decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age  

 

All requests for a death certificate that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility or 

be accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information form (DH 1959) signed by an 

eligible person (form is available on our website) and a copy of valid photo identification of both the person 

authorizing release and the applicant.   

 
If funeral home is requesting cause of death and is not representing an eligible person or not the funeral home of 

record, a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information form (DH 1959) must accompany the 

application.  
 

ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION: Driver License, State Identification Card, Passport, 

Military Identification Card. A foreign issued driver license, identification card, consular card, or Matricula card 

require two additional forms of identification, such as a vehicle title or registration, health insurance card, 

employment ID, school ID, tax document, or mail with current address.  
 
 
 
 
 
 

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH  

BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS  

ATTN:  VITAL RECORDS SECTION  

P.O. BOX 210  

JACKSONVILLE, FL 32231-0042  

  

Street Address: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202  

  

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE:  

www.floridahealth.gov/certificates  
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