State of Florida

Department of Health - Vital Statistics

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA DEATH OR FETAL DEATH RECORD

Read the FRONT AND BACK OF this application: Anyone may apply for a death certification. When cause of death information is also requested and the death occurred
less than 50 years ago, a copy of valid photo ID must accompany this application AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined
in statute (see Eligibility on the reverse of this form). Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause
of death. Acceptable forms of valid ID are: driver's license, state identification card, passport, and/or military ID card. When requesting a death certification without cause
of death OR if the death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required. If a funeral home or an attorney, see additional information under
Eligibility on reverse side of this form to ensure proper completion of this application.

SECTION A - INFORMATION ON TYPE OF RECORD AND DECEDENT PLEASE CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX: = DEATH __ FETAL DEATH
FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX
NAME OF DECEDENT
IF MARRIED AND APPLICABLE, PRIOR SURNAME (If known)
ALIAS NAME(IF APPLICABLE)
MONTH DAY YEAR (4-DIGIT) STATE FILE NUMBER (If known) SEX
DATE OF DEATH

Below indicate the range of vears to be searched PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY

ADDITIONAL YEARS (If not known, enter Unknown ) (If not known, enter Unknown )

TO BE SEARCHED
(Required only when exact year is not known)

NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS
RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD
(if applicable and if known)

FIRST

MIDDLE

LAST

SUFFIX

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (If known)

FUNERAL HOME NAME(If known)

SECTION B - FEES & PAYMENT: A RECORD SEARCH REQUIRES ADVANCE PAYMENT OF A NON-REFUNDABLE SEARCH FEE OF $5.00

15t CERTIFICATION - Fee of $5.00 entitles applicant to ONE certification. Check appropriate box:

I:l Without Cause of Death

I:‘ With Cause of Death (See Eligibility on the reverse side of this form)

Additional Computer Certifications WITHOUT Cause of Death:
$4.00 for each subsequent certification

Additional Computer Certifications WITH Cause of Death (See Eligibility on the reverse side of this form):
$4.00 for each subsequent certification

Additional Years to be Searched: Required only when exact year is not known

$2.00 for each additional year. The maximum additional year search fee is $ 50.00 regardless of the total number of years to be

searched.

RUSH ORDERS (Optional): RUSH Fees are an additional $10.00.

If you desire RUSH service, mark the outside of your envelope “RUSH” (Processing time within our office for Rush

Service is 2-3 business days; routine processing time within our office is 4-6 business days.)

TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED: Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics. (DO NOT SEND CASH)
International payments should be made by Cashiers Check or Money Order in U. S. Dollars.
Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks.

SECTION C - APPLICANT/MAILING INFORMATION

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on any
application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree,

punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.

$5.00

X $5.00

$4.00

$4.00

$2.00

Check here for RUSH Order I:l

ENCLOSE COPY OF VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION IF
CAUSE OF DEATH REQUESTED OR YOUR ORDER WILL | $
NOT BE COMPLETED

Applicant’s Name
TYPE OR PRINT

FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)

Applicant Signature

If Funeral Director OR Attorney listed as Applicant and
requesting Cause of Death Information

LICENSE/BAR NUMBER

NAME OF PERSON YOU ARE REPRESENTING

If requesting cause of death, state your relationship (OR if a
funeral director or an attorney, the relationship of the person you
are representing) to the decedent.

RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT

HOME PHONE NUMBER

ADDRESS FOR MAILING (BE SURE TO INCLUDE ANY BUILDING OR APARTMENT NUMBER.)

ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER

CITY

STATE

ZIP CODE

IF THE CERTIFICATION IS TO BE MAILED TO ANOTHER PERSON OR ADDRESS USE THE SPACES BELOW TO SPECIFY SHIP TO NAME AND ADDRESS.

SHIP TO NAME FIRST MIDDLE LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)
TYPE OR PRINT
HOME PHONE NUMBER SHIP TO STREET ADDRESS (AND APT. NO. IF APPLICABLE)
( )
WORK PHONE NUMBER CITY STATE ZIP CODE
( )
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INFORMATION / INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA DEATH OR FETAL DEATH

This application is not to be used for requesting an amendment to a death record OR if you will need to have the certification
apostilled/exemplified by the Florida Department of State. If an amendment is required, use DH Form 433(non-medical amendment) or
DH 434 (medical amendment). For an apostille or exemplified use DH 727A.

AVAILABILITY: Some records are on file dating back to 1877, but not all events were registered.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Section 119.071 Florida Statutes): Social security numbers held by the Department of Health on death certificates
are confidential and will only be issued to an eligible party listed below, regardless of the date of death. Therefore, the first five digits of the decedent’s
social security number will be redacted when issuing a public record request.

ELIGIBILITY (Section 382.025, Florida Statutes):
WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a certified copy of a death record without the cause of death
on the record. The first five digits of the decedent’s social security number will be redacted.

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. Death records
less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to:

e the decedent’s spouse or parent;

e to the decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;

e  to any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of
the decedent,

e toany person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons, OR

e by court order

Requests for a death record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant of legal age. However, the first five numbers of the social security number
will be redacted. Any questions, please contact the Vital Records Section at 904-359-6900 ext. 9000.

All requests for certification of a death certificate that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility or be
accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH Form 1959) signed by an eligible person (form is available
on our website) and a copy of valid photo identification of both the person authorizing release and the applicant If you are uncertain about
eligibility for cause of death information, call (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance.

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the name and
relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive
cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH Form 1959, available on our website) must
accompany this request.

SPECIAL NOTE: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with “cause of death information included” when filing probate.

DATE OF DEATH NOT KNOWN: If date of death is unknown, the entire year specified will be searched. If the year is unknown and more
than one year is to be searched, specify the span of years to be searched (Example: 1970 to present) and pay $2.00 per year for each year to be
searched.

PROCESSING TIME: Normal response time within our office is 4-6 business days; however, the processing time can exceed this
timeframe.

OPTIONS FOR RUSH SERVICE:

® CREDIT CARDS: The state office currently does not accept credit cards but there is a private firm that accepts such charges and transfers the order to Vital
Statistics for a fee of $7.00 plus a $10.00 Rush Fee charged by the State Office. Telephone 1-877-550-7330 or fax the request to the private firm at 1-877-550-
7428. Call (904) 359-6900 and follow the prompts on the telephone system to be transferred free of charge to the contracted vendor. For questions, please call
the Office of Vital Statistics at (904) 359-6900, ext. 9000 and our Customer Services personnel will be able to assist you.

®  MAIL IN: Orders marked RUSH and with $10 rush fee included with the search fee, will be processed within our office within 2-3 days. Certification(s) will
be mailed 1* class mail UNLESS a prepaid self-addressed special mailing envelope is included with your request. If choosing 1* class mail, including a self-
addressed stamped envelope with your request is appreciated.

®  WALK-IN SERVICE: Is available at 1217 North Pearl Street. Orders prepaid before noon may be picked up after 3:30p.m the same day. Orders
prepaid after noon may be picked up after 10:00 a.m. the next business day.
FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE: Ifno record is found, a “Not Found” statement will be issued. Fees are nonrefundable, except fees
paid for additional copies when no record is found. These are refunded on written request.

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS
ATTN: VITAL RECORDS SECTION
P.0. BOX 210,
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
(Street Address: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202)

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE
www.FloridaVitalStatisticsOnline.com
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