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State of Florida 

Department of Health - Office of Vital Statistics 
 

APPLICATION FOR A MARRIAGE RECORD FOR LICENSES ISSUED IN FLORIDA  
 

(FOR APOSTILLE or EXEMPLIFIED CERTIFICATION) 
 

The Office of Vital Statistics does not forward records to the Department of State (DOS) for the DOS Apostille/Exemplified Certification process.  If an apostille or exemplified 

certification from the DOS is needed, forward the record received from this application to the DOS.  See the back of this application for DOS’s mailing, street and website addresses and 

telephone number.  Use this application when requesting certification from our office to ensure the correct certification needed for forwarding to the DOS for the apostille/exemplified 

certification process. 

 

SECTION A – REGISTRANT INFORMATION.  Provide as much information as known.  Asterisk (*) items are REQUIRED fields 
 

*NAME OF SPOUSE 
           

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME INCLUDING SUFFIX MAIDEN, IF DIFFERENT DATE OF BIRTH 

(If known) 

 

*NAME OF SPOUSE 
 

 

FIRST  NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME INCLUDING SUFFIX MAIDEN, IF DIFFERENT DATE OF BIRTH 

(If known) 

 

*DATE OF EVENT   
 

MONTH 

 

DAY YEAR (4-DIGIT) ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED 
LIST SPAN OF YEARS TO SEARCH (ONLY if you do no know the exact year of the event)  

STATE FILE NO. (If known) 

 

 

 

CITY/COUNTY WHERE MARRIAGE LICENSED ISSUED 
  

(See reverse side)

 

*COUNTRY WHERE CERTIFICATION TO BE USED  (Required to ensure you receive the correct type of certificate)

 

 

CORRECTED or 

AMENDED 

To your knowledge, has the Clerk of Court corrected/amended an item on this Marriage Record and forwarded the 

newly corrected Record to the Office of Vital Statistics? 

 

□  Yes 

 

□  No 

 

SECTION B – FEES & PAYMENT 

 

1st  Certification or Single Status Report (see reverse for explanation of Single Status Statement)  

$5.00 

 

X 

 

 

1 
 

 

= 
 

 

$5.00 
 

 

 Additional Certification or Single Status. $4.00 Each 

 

 

$4.00 

 

 

X 

No. Certs. 

 

 

 
= 

$ 

 

Additional Years to be Searched: 
Required ONLY when the exact year of the marriage is not known and you wish more than one year searched.  The maximum 

additional year search fee is $ 50.00 regardless of the total number of years to be searched.  (Be sure to indicate the range of 

years to be searched in Section A above) 

$2.00 X 

No.of Yrs. 
 

 
= 

 
$ 

 

 

RUSH ORDERS (Optional):  RUSH Fees are an additional $10.00.  
If you desire RUSH service, mark the outside of your envelope “RUSH” (Processing time within our office  for Rush 

Service is 2-3 business days; routine processing time within our office  is 4-6 business days.) 

 

Check here for RUSH Order 

 

  $ 
 

 

TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED:  Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics.  (DO NOT SEND CASH)  International payments should be made 

by Cashiers Check or Money Order in U. S. Dollars.  Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks.   

 

$ 
 

 

SECTION C – APPLICANT/MAILING INFORMATION 
 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on any 

application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, 

punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes. 
 

Applicant’s Name 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) 

DELIVERY ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF APPLICABLE)  CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

(          )   

WORK PHONE NUMBER 

(          )   

RELATIONSHIP TO REGISTRANT SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

IF ATTORNEY, PROVIDE BAR/PROFESSIONAL LICENSE NO. IF ATTORNEY , PROVIDE NAME OF PERSON YOU REPRESENT AND THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO REGISTRANT 

IF THE CERTIFICATION IS TO BE MAILED TO ANOTHER PERSON OR ADDRESS USE THE SPACES BELOW TO SPECIFY SHIP TO NAME AND ADDRESS. 

SHIP TO NAME 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

(           ) 

SHIP TO STREET ADDRESS (AND APT. NO. IF APPLICABLE) 

WORK PHONE NUMBER 

(           ) 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 

APPLICATION FOR MARRIAGE RECORD FOR LICENSES ISSUED IN FLORIDA 

(FOR APOSTILLE or EXEMPLIFIED CERTIFICATION) 
 

An apostille is a certification provided under the Hague convention of 1961 for authenticating documents for use in foreign countries.  An 

exemplified certification covers those countries which did not sign the Hague Treaty.  The sole function of the apostille or exemplified 

certificate is to certify the authenticity of the signature on the document.  In Florida, the apostille or exemplified certificate contains the 

original signature of the State Registrar and the Secretary of State. 

 

Once the certification is obtained, it should be forwarded to the Florida Department of State (DOS) for the Apostille/Exemplified 

Certification of the signature of Florida’s State Registrar.  The address for mailing to the DOS is:  Department of State, Division of 

Corporations, Apostille Certification, P.O. Box 6800, Tallahassee, FL  32314-6800; telephone (850) 245-6945.  For walk-in service or 

courier delivery, the address is Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certification, Clifton Building, 2661 Executive 

Center Circle, Tallahassee, FL  32301.  See the website at www.dos.state.fl.us/ for information regarding their requirements, processing 

time, fees, etc.  To access the correct area on the website, select Corporations, then Apostilles.  Be sure to provide the name of the country 

where the certification is needed. 

 

SINGLE STATUS STATEMENT:  If marrying in another country, proof of “single status” may be required by that country.  This 

request will generate a search of state of residence records (if Florida) to verify that a marriage record is not on file.  An official “Not 

Found” statement indicating this fact will be provided in lieu of a marriage record. 

 

REGISTRATION OF MARRIAGE RECORDS:   After a marriage has been recorded with the Clerk of Court, the Clerk sends the 

original document to this office.  If the marriage recently occurred, it generally takes up to 60 days for documents to be received, 

registered and available for certification from our office. 

 

MARRIAGE RECORDS:   We ONLY have records for the period June 6, 1927 to the present.  Any marriages prior to June 6, 1927 are 

obtainable from the Clerk of the Court in the County where the marriage license was issued. 

 

MARRIAGE STATISTICAL PORTION/ELIGIBILITY:   Except for the Social Security numbers (SSN) contained on a Marriage 

Record, the record is a public record and may be released to anyone who has properly applied and paid the required fee(s). There is also 

some statistical information that is available for certain years on marriage records and will be included on the certification, if available.  

This information includes the number of previous marriages and date last marriage ended. 

 For Marriage prior to 1972, any statistical information would have been included on the Application to Marry and is only 

available from the Clerk of Court in the county where the marriage license was issued.  Visit their website at www.flclerks.com  

 For Marriage 1972 to present, the statistical portion is contained with the marriage record and, except for SSN, will automatically 

be included on the certification. 

 

SEARCH INFORMATION FOR MARRIAGE REQUESTS:  Marriages are indexed by bride, groom or spouse.  Provide as much 

information as known. 

 

PROCESSING TIME: Processing time can range from 4-6 business days, not including mailing time.  A $10
 
Rush Fee will expedite the 

request within our office.  Certification(s) are mailed 1
st
 Class Mail unless a prepaid self-addressed express envelope is included with the 

request. 

 

FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE:   If no record is found, a “Not Found” statement will be issued.  Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid 

for additional copies when no record is found.  These are refunded on written request.  

 

If you need assistance, you may call our Apostille Unit at (904) 359-6900, ext. 9006. 

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO:  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS 

ATTN:  APOSTILLE UNIT 

 P.O. BOX 210,  

Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042 

(Street Address: 1217 North Pearl Street, 32202) 
 

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE: 

http://www.floridahealth.gov  

 

http://www.dos.state.fl.us/
http://www.flclerks.com/
http://www.floridahealth.gov/
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