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State of Florida 

Department of Health – Office of Vital Statistics 

APPLICATION FOR AMENDMENT TO FLORIDA BIRTH RECORD 
IMPORTANT:  Read the entire application form before completing. TYPE OR PRINT 

 

Requirement for ordering:  If you are an eligible applicant, complete and sign this application, state your relationship to registrant and provide a copy of valid photo identification.   If you are an attorney 

representing an eligible person, you need only sign, provide professional license or bar number, indicate name of person whom you represent and their relationship to the registrant in the appropriate spaces 

below.  If applicant is not an eligible person, an Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate, DH Form 1958, must be completed and signed by an eligible person before a notarizing official and submitted in 

addition to this application form.  Acceptable forms of photo identification are: Driver’s License, State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card. 

 
NAME ON OR FOR 

NEW BIRTH RECORD 

OF REGISTRANT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

NAME AS RECORDED 

ON CURRENT BIRTH 
RECORD 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

DATE OF BIRTH 

MONTH DAY YEAR (4-DIGIT) AGE STATE FILE NUMBER (IF KNOWN) SEX 

PLACE OF BIRTH 

HOSPITAL CITY OR TOWN COUNTY 

FLORIDA 

MOTHER’S / PARENT’S 

NAME 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE (if applicable) SUFFIX 

FATHER’S / PARENT’S 
NAME  

FIRST MIDDLE LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE (if applicable) SUFFIX 

 

CHECK TYPE OF AMENDMENT::                                       Adoption             Correction             Legal Name Change             Paternity Establishment 

$20.00 AMENDMENT PROCESSING FEE includes the issuance of ONE certification 

FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE:   See information entitled “Fees” on page 2. 

Quantity 

1 = 1 
Amount 

$20.00 

 

1st additional certification:   $9.00 
$9.00 X 1 = $9.00 

$ 

 

Other additional certifications (after the 1st additional certification) are $4.00 each.  

$4.00 
X 

 
= 

$ 

     RUSH ORDERS (Optional):  $10.00 per order.  Envelope must be marked “RUSH”.    Yes  No  

                   (Refer to information entitled Response Time)  $ 

 

     TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED:  Check or money order payable to Vital Statistics in U.S. Dollars (DO NOT SEND CASH) 

Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15 for dishonored checks. $ 

APPLICANT/MAILING INFORMATION 
Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on any application or 

affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 

775, Florida Statutes. 

Applicant’s Name 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) RELATIONSHIP TO 

REGISTRANT 

DELIVERY ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NUMBER, IF APPLICABLE) CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER INCLUDING AREA CODE 

 

 

ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER INCLUDING AREA CODE 

 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

IF ATTORNEY, PROVIDE BAR/PROFESSIONAL 

LICENSE NUMBER 

IF ATTORNEY , PROVIDE NAME OF PERSON YOU REPRESENT IIF NOT THE REGISTRANT AND THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO 

REGISTRANT 

EMAIL ADDRESS  

IF THE CERTIFICATION IS TO BE MAILED TO ANOTHER PERSON OR ADDRESS USE THE SPACES BELOW TO SPECIFY SHIP TO NAME AND ADDRESS . 

SHIP TO NAME 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

 

SHIP TO STREET ADDRESS (AND APT.) 

WORK PHONE NUMBER 

 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR AMENDMENT TO BIRTH RECORD APPLICATION 
Statute/Rule references may be accessed through the website address at the bottom of this form 

FEES:  The amendment-processing fee is nonrefundable, even if the amendment cannot be completed.  In addition, it can only be applied to this 

case and cannot be credited or transferred to another case. 

 

ELIGIBILITY:  Pursuant to s. 382.025, Florida Statutes, except for those births occurring over 100 years ago that are not under seal, birth certificates 

are confidential and can be issued only to the registrant (the child named on the record) if of legal age (18), parent, guardian, or a legal representative of one 
of these persons or by court order.  Events occurring over 100 years ago not under seal are public record and available to anyone providing fee and application. 

 

REQUIREMENT FOR ORDERING: If applicant is self, parent or guardian, the applicant must provide a copy of valid photo identification.  

If guardian, a copy of appointment order must also be included.  If legal representative, your attorney Bar ID number and the name and a notation 

of whom you represent must be included with your request.  If not one of the above persons, you will need to complete and have notarized the 

Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate, DH Form 1958, and submit with this Application for Amendment to Florida Birth Certificate, DH Form 429, 

or provide a court order. A release form is available from this office, most local vital statistics offices within the county health department and our 

website.  Website address located at bottom of this form. 

 

TYPES OF AMENDMENTS:  

A. An amendment resulting from a court ordered action: 

 Adoption 
(for assistance call (904)359-6900, ext.9001) 

 Legal Name Change 
(for assistance call (904)359-6900, ext.9005) 

 Paternity Establishment 
(for assistance call (904)359-6900, ext.9004) 

B. An amendment made administratively pursuant to vital statistics law (Chapter 382, F.S) and rule authority (Chapter 64V-1 F.A.C.) (For 

assistance call (904)359-6900, ext.9005) 

 Paternity Acknowledgement 

 Correction resulting from a misspelling or typographical error or omission 

 Correction of child’s name 

 Change to child’s name within 1 year of birth.  Note: A legal change of name issued pursuant to s. 68.07(4), Florida Statutes, is required to change the 

name after the 1st birthday UNLESS supporting documentation can be provided. 

C. Putative Father: 

This DH 429 form is not used for Putative Father related issues.  For more information and assistance please visit our website below or call (904)359-

6900, ext.9001. 

 

Correction to a child’s name resulting from a misspelling or a typographical error can be made at any time after the child’s birth without supporting 

documentation. 

Omissions of child’s given name(s) may be made up to the child’s 7th birthday without supporting documentation. 

Corrections to a child’s name (other than misspellings, typographical errors, or omissions) may be made only if documentary evidence supporting the 

correction can be provided.  In all cases, such changes to a minor child’s name will be made ONLY if both parents named on the birth record (if both are 

named) are in agreement and sign the required affidavit before a notarizing official.  If both parents are not in agreement or not available to sign, the name 
can only be amended by a legal change of name (court order).   

See s. 64V-1.002 and .003, Florida Administrative Code, for additional information defining our authority to make corrections to a birth record. 

 

IMPORTANT:  IF A NAME HAS BEEN CHANGED PREVIOUSLY ON THE BIRTH RECORD PURSUANT TO A COURT ORDER, I.E., BY ADOPTION, 

PATERNITY ACTION OR LEGAL NAME CHANGE, IT CAN ONLY BE CHANGED SUBSEQUENTLY THROUGH ANOTHER COURT ORDER.   

 

RESPONSE TIME: Response time for processing an amendment varies depending upon our workload at the time your request is received.  Generally, 

an amendment is completed within two to three weeks.  RUSH processing is available for those who need assurance of faster service.  Orders received in an 

envelope marked RUSH and with the $10.00 RUSH fee will be given priority over other pending work; however, no amended certificate can be issued until 

all required evidence, forms, applicable fees and appropriate signatures have been received and meet the criteria as established by law or in rules of the 
department. 

 

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS 

ATTN:  CORRECTION UNIT 

 P.O. BOX 210,  

Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042 

(Street Address: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202) 

 

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE: 

www.FloridaVitalStatisticsOnline.com 

http://www.floridavitalstatisticsonline.com/
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