For information on births that occurred outside of Florida, visit www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm
For information on births that occurred outside of the United States, visit the National Center for Health Statistics.
Need information on Apostilles?
Ordering a Florida Birth Certificate
Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.
The Bureau of Vital Statistics is committed to providing the highest quality and most expeditious service possible. There are 3 ordering options and fees vary based on the method you choose.
Please note that limited births were recorded between 1850 and 1917
- Mail-in or Walk-in to the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville (additional ordering information provided below).
- Order online or by phone through VitalChek® Network, our ONLY contracted vendor (additional ordering information provided below). Please be cautious when ordering online, as there are many online vendors offering to assist you with this simple process. VitalChek is the only vendor with the ability to download orders directly to our agency.
- Mail-in or Walk-in to a local county health department in Florida for births occurring from 1917 to present. Find a location near you, ordering information, and fees at Florida County Health Departments
APPLICANT’S VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION IS REQUIRED WHEN REQUESTING A BIRTH RECORD.
ELIGIBILITY (Section 382.025 Florida Statutes):
Birth certificates less than 100 years old are confidential and may only be issued to:
- Registrant (name on the record) if of legal age (18)
- Parent(s) listed on the Birth Record
- Legal Guardian (must provide guardianship papers)
- Legal representative of one of the above persons (must provide documentation)
- by court order (must provide certified copy of court order)
- Upon receipt of registrant’s death record, a birth certificate marked “Deceased” may be issued to the spouse, child, grandchild, or sibling, if of legal age.
If applicant is not one of the above, the application must be accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate (DH Form 1958) signed by an eligible person (form is available on our website) and a copy of valid photo identification of both, the person authorizing release and the applicant.
An Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate (english PDF 119KB)completed by an eligible individual may be utilized when requesting a birth certificate.
ORDERING FROM THE BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS:
Fees: A $9.00 search fee includes a thorough search of one calendar year for the entire State of Florida and one computer generated birth certificate printed on security paper. If the date of birth is unknown, there is an additional charge of $2.00 per calendar year to be searched. If no record is found, a certified “No Record Found” statement will be issued. Additional certificates are $4.00 each.
1217 N Pearl St, Jacksonville, FL 32202
Lobby hours: M-F 8:00-4:30 Eastern Standard Time
Phone: (904) 359-6900, ext. 9000
N30° 20.2614', W081° 39.5608'
Computer generated certificates may be issued while you wait. Photocopy certificates are $14.00 and require an additional $10 rush fee for same day service, when available. Payments may be in the form of cash, check, money order, Visa, and Mastercard.
Normal processing time for computer generated birth certificates is 3 to 5 business days. Photocopy generated certificates require a manual process and require additional processing time. Records that have been previously amended require additional processing time.
Rush orders are given priority processing and require an additional $10 fee (Mark the outside of your envelope "RUSH").
Please note: Processing time does not include postal transit time to and from our office. All orders, including RUSH orders are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid delivery envelope is provided.
Print and mail a completed application or send a written request.
DH726 Application for a Florida Birth Record (English PDF 99K)
DH726S Application for a Florida Birth Record (Spanish PDF 378K)
DO NOT SEND ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Attn: Vital Records Section
P.O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
Written Request in lieu of our application form:
- Provide information about the person named on the certificate: Full name on birth record, Sex, Date of birth (if unknown, specify range of years to be searched and provide additional fee of $2.00 per calendar year), City or County of birth, parent(s) full name(s) prior to first marriage.
- Provide information about the person ordering the certificate: Full name, Relationship to person named on the record, Mailing address, Phone number, Signature of Applicant.
If you are a Funeral Director or an Attorney, please provide the name of the individual you represent and their relationship to the registrant, along with your professional license number.
- Type of Certificate:
- Computer generated birth certificate printed on security paper with the Florida embossed seal, which is accepted by all state and federal agencies.
- Photocopy generated certificate printed on security paper with the Florida embossed seal. Photocopy certificates are manually produced and require an additional fee and additional processing time.
- Payment: Check or money order payable to "Vital Statistics". DO NOT send cash. International payments should be made by Cashier’s Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are nonrefundable, except fee paid for additional copies when no record is found. These are refunded on written request.
- Photo Identification: Applicant’s valid photo identification is required: Driver’s License, State Identification Card, Passport, Military Identification Card.
ORDER FROM VITALCHEK (OUR ONLY CONTRACTED VENDOR)
In a hurry? Order online or by phone with a credit card from VitalChek® network, our ONLY contracted vendor. VitalChek charges an additional $7.00 service fee to verify your identity, obtain ordering information and download your request directly to our office.
VitalChek provides the option to order from the Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics or from the local health department in the county where the birth occurred. Florida Vital Statistics charges a $19.00 agency fee which includes the first certificate and $4.00 for additional certificates. County Health Department fees vary. UPS shipping is available for an additional charge and requires signature upon delivery. Please note: Regular mail may be selected as a shipping method for no additional cost.
To order, go to www.VitalChek.com or speak with a customer representative at 1-877-550-7330. If calling from outside of the United States, call 877-550-6800. If you should experience problems with the online ordering, please contact VitalChek® directly for assistance.
PLEASE BE CAUTIOUS WHEN ORDERING ONLINE: There are many online vendors offering to assist you with the simple process of ordering a vital record. They charge additional fees but have no ability to expedite the processing of your order. Birth certificates can only be issued by an official government agency. The Bureau of Vital Statistics has no affiliation with these vendors, nor can we guarantee the confidentiality of any information you provide to any vendor other than VitalChek®
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
Email to VitalStats@flhealth.gov