Before You Choose VitalChek
- Only those individuals authorized to receive cause of death information are eligible to request and receive the document. Misrepresenting an identity, your relationship or who you represent, or assuming the identity of another person is subject to criminal penalties as defined in s. 382.026, Florida Statutes. The penalties for such a felony may be imprisonment not to exceed 5 years or a fine of $5,000 or both.
If you elect to use another vendor:
- There are many other vendors on the Internet. If you elect to use another vendor, you will be charged an additional fee to that vendor without receiving any additional services.
The Bureau has no control over what services and fees other Internet vendors offer and charge, nor can we guarantee the confidentiality of any vital record data provided to any vendors other than VitalChek®.
- If you have ordered through another vendor and have experienced a problem in obtaining the record ordered, you will need to contact that vendor directly. If you believe an Internet vendor's website provides inaccurate information about service or fees, you may wish to consider reporting to the State Attorney's office OR a consumer protection agency in the state where the vendor is located.
The Bureau of Vital Statistics is committed to providing the highest quality and most expeditious service possible. Computer generated certifications ordered by mail with a check or money order for birth records (1917-present), deaths records (2009 - present), marriage and divorces reports (1970 - present*) are normally processed within 3 to 5 business days after receiving the order.
Records that have been previously amended or that require an amendment may require additional processing time.
Marriage and Dissolution reports are filed by the Clerk of Courts in each county and may take up to sixty (60) days to be received by the state office.
Our ultimate objective is to provide you, the client, with the needed documents or service at the lowest cost possible in the shortest time possible.
Clients can obtain their certified copies of computer generated birth and death records at ANY county office in the state of Florida or from the state office in Jacksonville.
Credit cards are only accepted at the county vital statistics office and the state office in Jacksonville during a visit by the client in person.
If your circumstances require that you take possession of the document in a short window of time or you wish to order from home with a credit card, the Bureau uses the VitalChek® network as our ONLY recognized vendor to accept orders billed to a credit card. Go to the VitalChek® website or speak with a customer representative at 1-877-550-7330.
Be aware that, in addition to the cost of the certification, there are additional fees for using the VitalChek® service.-Please note that limited Florida deaths were recorded between 1877 and 1917