Mission: To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.
 
Search our website: 
 
  Translate this page to:  Spanish

Vital Statistics - Birth & Death Certificates



Our Locations

1845 Holsonback Drive
P.O. Box 9190
Daytona Beach, FL 32120
Phone: 386-274-0614
Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. Monday - Friday


121 W. Rich Avenue
DeLand, FL 32720
Phone: 386-274-0614 extension 0723
Hours:
8:30 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.
12:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Chief Deputy Registrar - Jane Gray

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

Email Vital Statistics


The Florida Department of Health in Volusia County Vital Statistics registers and issues birth and death certificates for all Counties in the State of Florida. Information included in the birth/death record is used to compile yearly reports by the Florida Office of Vital Statistics and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

All certificates issued from this office are certified. Death records are available from 2009 to present. Birth certificates are available from 1930 to present. Any records prior to these dates can be obtained through the State Office of Vital Statistics, PO Box 210, Jacksonville, FL 32231. Phone number 904-359-6900 extension 9000.

The Florida Department of Health in Volusia County Vital Statistics has three methods for providing service:

In Person:

  • Daytona Beach: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. We are located at 1845 Holsonback Drive, Daytona Beach
  • DeLand: Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. We are located at 121 W. Rich Avenue, DeLand

 

By Mail: Applications are hyperlinked below and should be mailed to:

Florida Department of Health in Volusia County
Attn: Vital Statistics - BIN 102
P.O. Box 9190
Daytona Beach, FL 32120

Birth Certificates
Death Certificates

 

Order Online

VitalChek Express Certificatr Service - A LexisNexis Company - Link opens in a new window

You may order a certified copy of a birth, death or marriage record online using your credit card through our only approved internet ordering service VitalChek Network, Inc. ®

The Volusia County Health Department does not accept credit cards or online orders; however, for your convenience, you can process online requests through an independent company that we have partnered with to provide  you this service; VitalChek Network Inc. VitalChek can be reached through its website www.vitalchek.com. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard®, or Visa®.

Other internet vendors are not authorized by the Volusia County Health Department and may charge additional fees without providing state-approved services. Neither the Volusia County Health Department nor VitalChek have control over the services and fees other Internet vendors offer and charge, nor can we guarantee the confidentiality of any vital record data provided to vendors other  than VitalChek.


Jump to:    Frequently Asked Questions    Related Links


Birth Certificates

Birth Certificates Fee: (All Florida Counties - from 1930 to present)
$15 -- first copy, $8 -- additional copies on same child

PAYMENT OPTIONS FOR SERVICES:

Payments made with mailed in requestIf you are sending your request to this office, payments accepted are money order or check (starter checks are not acceptable). Please make your payment out to the following; Florida Department of Health Volusia County or FDOH-Volusia County Please do not send cash through the mail.

Payments made in person:If you are coming into the Vital Statistics Office to request your certificate, payments accepted are cash, credit/debit cards (all major credit cards are accepted, debit card must be Visa or Master Card), money order and checks (starter checks are not acceptable). Please make your payment out to the following; Florida Department of Health Volusia County or FDOH-Volusia County.

Birth certificates are confidential in the state of Florida and can only be issued to the registrant if 18 years or older, parents listed on the birth certificate or guardian with guardianship papers.

Mail requests for a birth certificate should include the following information:

  • Name of child.
  • Date of birth and county of birth.
  • Mother's full name, including her maiden name, and father's name.
  • Relationship to the person on the birth certificate.
  • A front and back photocopy of a valid picture identification must be included.
    • Identification includes:
    • State Picture ID
    • State Drivers License
    • Passport
    • Military ID

Additional information & forms for Birth Certificates


Death Certificates

Death Certificate Fees: (All Florida Counties - from 2009 to present)
$8 -- each certified copy

Mail requests for a death certificate should include the following information:

  • Name of deceased.
  • Date of death.
  • Place of death.
  • Funeral home establishment.
  • Relationship to decedent or reason for obtaining the certificate.
  • A front and back photocopy of a valid picture identification is needed to obtain cause of death.
    • Identification includes:
    • State Picture ID
    • State Drivers License
    • Passport
    • Military ID

Additional information & forms for Death Certificates


Who is authorized to obtain cause of death?

  • Section 382.025 (2)(a) 1, Florida Statutes, "to the registrant's spouse or parent, or to the registrant's child, grandchild, or sibling, if of legal age, or to any family member who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates the family member's interest in the estate of the registrant, or to any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the family member's".


Please Note that:

  • Cause of Death cannot be included when requesting copies for probate issues.
  • Cause of Death is not needed for: real estate taxes, property claims, vehicles title transfer, closing out bank accounts.
  • Cause of Death is usually required for Life insurance.

Page last updated: 06/2/14