WIC is a nutrition program for women who are pregnant or breastfeeding or who have recently been pregnant, infants & children under age 5.
WIC provides the following at no cost:
- healthy foods
- nutrition education and counseling
- breastfeeding education, support, and breastfeeding classes
- referrals to health care, immunizations, and community services
To be income-eligible for WIC:
You must have a total household income equal to or less than the amounts shown in the
Income Guidelines OR you are income-eligible if you are currently receiving Medicaid, Temporary
Cash Assistance (TCA), or Food Stamps. However, you do not have to be on a public assistance
program to qualify for WIC.
WIC INCOME GUIDELINES
For a pregnant woman, each unborn baby counts as 1 extra person in the
Size of Household
Monthly income before taxes
Each year, these dollar amounts may increase
To apply for WIC:
- Call your local WIC office (listed below) or call toll free 1-800-342-3556 and
say you want to apply for WIC.
- The local WIC office will give you a date and time for a WIC certification
visit. At this visit, the household income and the medical/nutrition status of
each applicant will be reviewed. On that day, you will find out if you and your
children are eligible for WIC.
What to bring to the WIC certification visit:
- Bring EACH family member who is applying to receive WIC services.
- Bring proof of ALL income for everyone in the household (before taxes
and deductions are taken out). Income includes such things as: salaries, child
support and alimony, foster care payments, interest withdrawn, unemployment
compensation, and military earnings; OR, if you receive Medicaid, Temporary Cash
Assistance (TCA), or Food Stamps, you are income eligible for WIC. (If you do
not receive Medicaid or TCA, but other members of your household receive these
benefits, you may be income-eligible for WIC.) WIC staff can verify your
enrollment in these programs. However, it is helpful to bring the current Notice
of Case Action letter, which is proof of eligibility for one or more of these
- Bring ONE proof of where you live (no P.O. boxes). The document must be
current and show your name and address. Items that are allowed include a utility
bill, bank/insurance statement, or driver's license. You must be currently
living in Florida, but you don't have to be a U.S. citizen.
- Bring ONE proof of identification for you and ONE proof of
identification for any infant or child applying for WIC, such as a birth
certificate, driver's license, crib card, military ID, photo ID, Social
Security Card, or hospital record.
- For EACH woman, infant, and child applying for WIC, you will need:
- A recent height and weight measurement (no older than 60 days), and
- hemoglobin or hematocrit blood test results (not required for infants
under 6 months).
- Ask your doctor or health clinic to fill out a WIC Medical Referral Form.
If you are not able to get this form, the WIC office will let you know how to
get the health information needed.
- Bring the Social Security Number for each person applying for WIC, if
- Bring the immunization (shot) record for each child.
In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this
institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color,
national origin, sex, age, or disability. To file a complaint of discrimination,
write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights,
1400 Independence Avenue, S.W.,
Washington, D.C. 20250-9410
or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720-6382 (TTY). USDA is an equal
opportunity provider and employer.
Call WIC Today!
|Yulee WIC Clinic
|Hilliard WIC Clinic
|Callahan WIC Clinic
|Baker County WIC Clinic