Biomedical Waste, Body Piercing and Tattooing
Environmental Health Services Index | Biomedical Waste, Body Piercing and Tattooing
The 1993 Florida Legislature provided funding for the Biomedical Waste Program, from the Solid Waste Management Trust Fund. Additional funding is provided through the annual permitting of facilities that generate at least 25 pounds of biomedical waste in any 30-day period. These permitted facilities are inspected annually.
Facilities which generate biomedical waste (hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, laboratories, funeral homes, dentists, veterinarians and physicians) are some of the facilities that may require an annual operating permit. Facilities that produce less than 25 pounds of biomedical waste in each 30-day period and can document this for a minimum of one year can apply for an exemption from permitting and fee requirements, and are inspected every three years. These facilities must still meet the other requirements found in Chapter 64E-16, Florida Administrative Code.
Both the Florida Department of Health and the Department of Environmental Protection have responsibilities under this program. The Department of Environmental Protection has primary responsibility for biomedical waste incineration and final disposal. The Florida Department of Health has primary authority and responsibility for facilities that generate, transport, store, or treat biomedical waste through processes other than incineration.
In 1999, the Florida Legislature passed Florida Statute 381.0075, which authorized the Department of Health to develop rules that regulate body piercing salons. These rules are found in Chapter 64E-19 of the Florida Administrative Code, and went into effect in February 2000.
Owners and operators of body piercing salons are required to obtain an annual operating permit from their county Health Department.
Chapter 64E-19 outlines minimum requirements for body piercing establishments, including cleaning and sterilization of instruments and jewelry, piercing procedures, injury reporting, customer and other facility records, infection control training for piercers, and informed consent issues for minors under age 18.
These facilities are inspected yearly by the regional biomedical waste coordinater, located at the Florida Department of Health in Alachua County along with a communicable disease nurse.
Tattoo Artist and Establishment Licensing
Effective January 1, 2012, the Department of Health (the department) implemented sections 381.00771-381.00791, Florida Statutes (F.S.), The Practice of Tattooing. These statutes require licensure of tattoo artists and tattoo establishments, and also set forth educational requirements and standards of practice for conventional and cosmetic tattoo artists, and operational requirements for tattoo establishments. Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), which became effective September 5, 2012 , details the statutory requirements for tattoo establishments and tattoo artists. It is recommended that tattoo establishment owners and operators as well as tattoo artists review the requirements of both the statute sections and the rule chapter to ensure compliance with requirements for both artists and establishments.
As of January 1, 2012, the conditions required by section 877.04, F.S., that required any person who tattooed in Florida to either be licensed as, or work under the "general supervision" of, a Medical Doctor, a Doctor of Osteopathy, a Doctor of Dental Surgery, or a Doctor of Medical Dentistry is no longer required due to implementation of sections 381.00771-381.00791, F.S.
For more information on these programs, contact the Florida Department of Health in Alachua County at (352) 334-7930 or write to:
Florida Department of Health in Alachua County
ATTN: BMW Coordinator
224 SE 24th Street
Gainesville, FL 32656