Florida Health Public health Prevent Promote Protect Florida Department of Health in Lafayette County 915 Nobles Ferry Road, Live Oak, Florida

Vital Statistics

The Vital Statistics office is responsible for recording and issuing Birth and Death Certificates.

Birth Certification Requirements

Birth certificates are confidential in the State of Florida and can only be issued to the person named on the record, 18 years or older, or the parent or legal guardian of he person named on the record. Legal guardian must show guardianship documentation.

  • Applicants must have a picture ID
  • Years available: 1917 to the present (statewide)
  • Fees: $15.00 each certified copy
  • Payment in cash or check

Birth certificates for years prior to those listed can be obtained from:
State Office of Vital Statistics
PO Box 210
Jacksonville, FL  32231-0042


State Office - Application for Florida Birth Record (English)
State Office - Application for Florida Birth Record (Spanish)

Death Certification Requirements

  • Applicants must have a picture ID
  • Years available: 2007 to the present (statewide)
  • Fees: $7.00 each certified copy
  • Payment in cash or check

Death certificates for years prior to those listed can be obtained from:
State Office of Vital Statistics
PO Box 210
Jacksonville, FL  32231-0042

State Office - Application for Florida Death Record (English)
State Office - Application for Florida Death Record (Spanish)



If cause of death is requested, must be an immediate family member of legal age or a legal representative representing immediate family member or estate of deceased. (Florida Statute 382.025, F.S.) Legal representative must provide legal documentation.

Birth or Death certificates for years prior to those listed can be obtained from:
State Office of Vital Statistics
PO Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

 


For more information about Birth and Death Certificates contact Kathy Dodd, Vital Statistics Registrar at 386-294-1321


Vital Statistics Services are available: 8:00am - 4:00pm Monday through Friday.


Links
All links open in new windows

Florida Health - Certificates and Registries
CDC - Where to write for Vital Records - All States
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

This page was last modified on: 04/7/2014 09:44:02

*Note: This page contains materials in the Microsoft Word (DOC) format. The free Microsoft Word Viewer may be required to view these files.

*Note: This page contains materials in the Portable Document (PDF) format. The free Adobe Reader may be required to view these files.