Bookmark this site Calendar Español / Other Languages Back to Main Page Print This PagePrint this Page

Tattooing in Florida, Current Requirements  

 

INK LIFE TOUR ARTISTS:  

You must apply for an annual Florida Artist License UNLESS you have a valid ARTIST license, registration or certification from another state/city/country. 

Licensure of the tattoo artist requires submission of a completed Application for Tattoo Artist License  with the required $60.00 fee; a copy of a government-issued photo identification confirming the applicant is at least 18 years of age; and documentation of completing a Florida Department of Health approved, industry-specific bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases course. Courses which are approved can be found on the Department's Education Courses for Tattoo Artist webpage.  

A Guest Tattoo Artist Registration is only available to an artist who holds an active license from another government jurisdiction outside of Florida.

 

Sections 381.0071-381.00791, Florida Statutes (F.S.), The Practice of Tattooing became effective January 3, 2012. These statutes require licensure of tattoo artists and tattoo establishments, and also set forth educational requirements and standards of practice for conventional and cosmetic tattoo artists, and operational requirements for tattoo establishments.

In order to implement the new law. The statute also provides restrictions of tattooing of a minor child.  Additional information may be found at section 381.00787, F.S., - Tattooing prohibited; penalty.-

 

Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), which became effective September 5, 2012 , details the statutory requirements for tattoo establishments and tattoo artists. It is recommended that tattoo establishment owners and operators as well as tattoo artists review the requirements of both the statute sections and the rule chapter to ensure compliance with requirements for both artists and establishments.

 

 

Tattoo Establishment License

Licensure of the tattoo establishment requires submission of a completed Application for Tattoo Establishment License with the required $200.00 fee to the Health Department in Lee County. Tattoo establishments will be inspected by the same county health department staff who administers the biomedical waste and body piercing programs. An inspection with a passing result is required prior to issuance of a tattoo establishment license. A biomedical waste generator permit is also required for conventional and cosmetic tattoo (permanent make-up)  businesses. Having anyone tattooing in your shop that does not have an artist license subjects you to a fine and revocation of your shop's license.

 

Tattoo Artist License

Licensure of the tattoo artist requires submission of a completed Application for Tattoo Artist License  with the required $60.00 fee; a copy of a government-issued photo identification confirming the applicant is at least 18 years of age; and documentation of completing a Florida Department of Health approved, industry-specific, bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases course with a minimum examination score of 70%. Courses which have received approval can be found on the Department's Education Courses for Tattoo Artist webpage. The tattoo artist application requires the artist to document the licensed tattoo establishment(s) where the artist will be working. A tattoo artist license may not be issued without this information. Tattoo artists will have 6 months from the effective date of the rule to come into compliance with the tattoo artist licensure requirement.

(As of January 3, 2012, the conditions required by section 877.04, F.S. that require any person who tattoos or applies permanent make-up in Florida to either be licensed as, or work under the "general supervision" of a Medical Doctor, a Doctor of Osteopathy, a Doctor of Dental Surgery, or a Doctor of Medical Dentistry will no longer be required due to implementation of sections 381.0071-381.00791, F.S.)

 

Guest Tattoo Artist Registration

A guest tattoo artist registration is required for any tattoo artist who plans to tattoo in Florida and who also holds an active artist license, registration, or certification issued by a jurisdiction outside Florida. A person wishing to register as a guest tattoo artist shall submit a completed Application for Guest Tattoo Artist Registration,  with the required $35.00 fee; a copy of a government-issued photo identification confirming the applicant is at least 18 years of age; proof of an active license, registration, or certification in a jurisdiction outside Florida; and documentation of having completed a course on bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases with a score of at least 70% on the course examination. The guest tattoo artist application requires the artist to document the licensed tattoo establishment(s) where the artist will be working. A guest tattoo artist license may not be issued without this information.

Tattoo artists who are applying for a guest tattoo artist registration, and hold an active license, registration, or certification issued by a jurisdiction outside of Florida and have completed an educational course and achieved a score of at least 70% on the examination required for licensure, registration, or certification in that jurisdiction, may submit the curriculum for such course and examination to the department for determination as to whether the course substantially meets or exceeds those requirements specified in section 64E-28.006, F.A.C.  Should the department determine that the curriculum does not substantially meet or exceed these requirements, the tattoo artist will be required to complete a department-approved, industry-specific bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases course will be required with a minimum passing examination score of 70%. A guest artist registration is valid for up to fourteen (14) consecutive days in Florida.

 

In addition to the previously stated tattoo licensure requirements, you should contact your city and county to find out if you will need a business tax receipt for your business.

 

The following documents are available for download  :

Return to Environmental Health Home Page

TTY users can contact us through Florida Relay by dialing 7-1-1 or one of the other Relay Toll Free Numbers.

 

  This page was updated on 2014-02-10 12:45:21.283.

 

DOH YouTube Channel - Opens New Window DOH Twitter Page - Opens New Window DOH Facebook Page - Opens New WindowUnited Way / 211 - Opens New WindowFlorida KidCare - Opens New WindowMyFlorida.com - Opens New WindowFlorida Department of Health - Opens New Window

© Copyright 2007 State Of Florida      Privacy Statement   Accessibility Information   Disclaimer