Body piercing is an invasive procedure that may present the
potential for infection. Not only can piercing lead to infections of
the pierced site (especially if aftercare procedures are not
followed), but it also has the potential to transmit blood borne
pathogens, such as Hepatitis B, if minimum sanitary and safety
standards are not met. The department also has developed a
brochure containing 10 common questions related to body piercing.
download the brochure or it is available by contacting the body
In 1999, the Florida Legislature passed section 381.0075, Florida
Statutes (F.S.), regulating the body-piercing industry.
Chapter 64E-19, Florida Administrative Code [F.A.C.] prescribes
the minimum sanitary and safety requirements related to the design,
operation, and maintenance of body-piercing salons and temporary
Operators and piercers (defined in subsection
381.0075(2), F.S. , and section
64E-19.002, F.A.C, respectively) must be trained in
infection-control procedures prior to licensure of a body-piercing
Training courses are reviewed and accepted by the Department of
Health, Bureau of Community Environmental Health, and are presented
by individuals with the
required knowledge, experience, and credentials.
License Application and Other Forms
In accordance with Chapter 64E-19, F.A.C., body-piercing salons
and temporary establishments require an operating license that is
subject to annual renewal. Body-piercing licenses are issued by many
of the Department of Health's county health departments. To apply
for a license, complete the
application form and submit it along with the required
fee ($150.00 state fee plus $50.00 Lee County fee) to the Lee County Health Department.
Owners and operators of body-piercing salons and temporary
establishments also should have an
injury-report form in the event of a report or complaint of
injury. The completed form should be sent to the Lee County Health
The following four forms are provided here as a service to assist
body-piercing salons in complying with the record-keeping
requirements of Chapter 64E-19, Florida Administrative Code. Use of
these specific forms is voluntary and is not required by the
Department of Health. If you prefer to continue to use your present
forms, please do so.
Environmental Health Home Page