Madison County Health Department

Vital Statistics

The Madison County Vital Statistics Office reviews, accepts, and processes birth and death records for Madison County events. We also issue certified copies of birth and death certificates in accordance with Chapter 382, Florida Statutes.



Birth Certificate
The Madison County Vital Statistics Office is online with the State Vital Statistics database in Jacksonville, and can issue certified copies of birth certificates for persons born in Florida in the years of 1930-39, 1946, 1947, and from 1963 through the present.

A certified photocopy of the original record for a person born in Madison County from 1995 through the present can also be obtained from our office.
    Who can get a birth certificate?
  • The person (if 18 years old or older)
  • The parents listed on the birth certificate
  • A legal guardian (382.025 F.S.)
Anyone born prior to the above dates can obtain a birth certificate from:

State Vital Statistics Office
P.O. Box 210
Jacksonville, Florida 32231-0042



Death Certificate

The Madison County Vital Statistics Office issues certified copies of death certificates for persons who died in Madison County from 1990 through the present.

Death certificates for a person who died prior to 1990, whether in Madison or any other Florida county, can be obtained from the State Vital Statistics Office at the above address.

Who can obtain a death certificate?

Anyone can purchase a death certificate without the cause of death listed.
    Note: since the cause of death is confidential, it can only be obtained by:
  • An immediate family member (spouse, child, sibling if 18 years old or older)
  • Anyone with an insurance policy or other document that shows their interest in the estate
  • A legal representative of the above named (382.025 F.S.)


Fees for Birth and Death Certificates

Birth Certificates are $12 for the first copy and $12 for each additional copy of the same certificate purchased at the same time, if the person was born in Madison County.

If the person was born in another Florida county, the fee is $12 for the first copy and $12 for each additional copy of the same certificate purchased at the same time.

Death Certificates are $12 per certified copy with or without the cause of death listed for the first copy and $5 for any additional copies. But must be purchased at the same time.



Office hours:

Monday - Friday
8:00AM - 5:00PM ---Issuance of Birth/Death Certificates

For more information, call (850) 973-5000
or write:
Madison County Health Department
Vital Statistics
218 SW Third Ave
Madison, Fl 32340

Vital Statistics


Kim Barnhill, Administrator/Local Registrar
Brenda McCormick, Chief Deputy Registrar
Kathy Meldrem, Deputy Registrar
Alisha Williams, Deputy Registrar
Janice Brooker, Deputy Registrar