Birth Certificates are often needed for entrance to school, voter registration, marriage, passports, veteran benefits, public assistance, social security benefits and obtaining a drivers license. The State of Florida maintains the original copies of birth certificates. We provide you with a certified certificate that you can legally keep and use.
Birth certificates that include the State File Number are registered and available in our office within 3 to 10 days of your child's birth.
Who Can Obtain a Birth Certificate?
Certified copies of birth certificates can be obtained by:
- Individuals who are at least 18 years old
- Either parent named on the certificate
- Lawyer representing the registrant or parent
- Legal guardian with guardianship papers
- Anyone with a notarized affidavit and proper ID
Requesting a Birth Certificate
Birth certificates may be obtained through the Vital Statistics office at the Florida Department of Health in Santa Rosa County (DOH-Santa Rosa) in person or by mail. Requests for birth certificates by mail must include the following:
Full name as it appears on the certificate
Date of birth
City or county of birth
Full names of both parents including the mother's maiden name
Signature of the parent or the individual if over the age of 18
Mailing address where the record is to be mailed
Copy of the front and back of a valid photo ID
A fee of $12.00 for each copy
A fee of $2.00 for shipping and handling on mail orders
Click here for a Florida Birth Record Application (.pdf 175kb)
Mail requests to:
Office of Vital Statistics
PO Box 929
Milton FL 32572-0929
Birth Record Amendments
If the birth record contains errors, an amendment is needed to correct the record. Depending on the type of correction and the age of the registrant, documentary evidence may be required to support the correction. If the correction is to the name of a minor child, the signatures of both parents, if listed on the original birth record are required. Also, an affidavit must be filled out and signed.
A non-refundable fee of $20.00 which includes one certification of the record is required by Florida law.
Click here for the Application for Amending a Florida Birth Record (.pdf 1.22mb)
Click here for the Affidavit of Amendment (.pdf 349kb)
Click here for Form Instructions (.pdf 46kb)
*Note: This page contains materials in the Portable Document Format (PDF). The free Adobe Reader may be required to view these files.