Vital Statistics - Birth and Death Certificates
It is the responsibility of the Registrar of Vital Statistics to maintain constant vigilance to ensure accuracy and completeness of the statistics that are reported.
The data gathered from birth and death certificates is used to identify the health of the community. Public health statistics are regarded as an indispensable tool for proper planning, management, and evaluation of many health programs.
Birth Certificates are confidential documents, except for births over 100 years that are not under seal of a court order. Certifications of birth records may be issued only to:
- The person named on the record, if he or she is of legal age (18).
- Parent(s) listed on the Birth Record.
- Legal guardian of the person named (must present guardianship papers)
- Legal representative of one of the above persons.
- Other person(s) by court order (must provide recorded or certified copy of court order).
Computer birth records from 1917 to present for persons born in the State of Florida may be purchased in person at the Vital Statistics office at:
5150 N.W. Milner Drive
Port St. Lucie, FL
between the hours of 8:00 AM and 4:30 PM
Phone (772) 873-4932
Valid Photo I.D. is required, preferably a Florida Driver's License or Florida State I.D.
A certification of a death certificate including the cause of death information may be issued only to the decedent's spouse or parent; the decedent's child, grandchild, or sibling if of legal age; or to any family member providing a will or insurance policy.
After 50 years from the date of death, cause of death information is no longer exempt from s119.07 Florida Statute. Anyone may obtain a certified copy showing cause of death on those records.
Death Certificates, of persons who died in St. Lucie County, are available in the local office for three years.
|Computer Birth Certificates||$ 17.00|
|All Death Certificates||$ 14.00|
|Birth/Death Records Search
(Each year searched other than year given)
Please make checks or money orders payable to "St. Lucie County Health Department."
To order a birth certificate by mail, please send your request to:
St. Lucie County Health Dept.
5150 NW Milner Drive
Port St. Lucie, FL 34983
- The Registrant's name
- The Registrant's date of birth
- The Mother's full maiden name
- The Father's name
- The Registrant's county of birth
- Your relationship to the registrant
- Your signature
- A photo copy of your I.D. (preferably FL Drivers License or FL State I.D.)
For a Death Certificate Request by mail, please include:
- The Deceased name
- The Deceased date of death
- County of death
- Your relationship to the Deceased
- Purpose of death certificate
- Your Signature
- A photo copy of your I.D. (Preferably FL Drivers License of FL State I.D.)
Expired ID are not accepted as forms of identification.
For more information, call (772) 873-4932 or FAX (772) 873-4944.