The Vital Statistics Office assists in the enforcement of state law relating to the registration of vital statistics in the local registration district. The staff reviews birth certificates, reviews death certificates for adequacy of cause of death statements, transmits original documents to the state registrar, maintains records of burial transit permits, provides advice and assistance to funeral directors, hospital personnel, and medical examiners in connection with the preparation and filing of vital records, and prepares certified copies of vital records in response to public requests.
Birth Records can be issued to: the person named on the record, if he or she is of legal age (eighteen or older); a parent or guardian of the person named; an attorney or legal representative of one of the above; a state or federal agency upon approval of the state registrar, when the record is to be used for official purposes; or anyone, when ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction. Photo identification is required.
The Brevard County Vital Statistics Office can issue birth records for anyone born in the state of Florida from 1930 to the present. Birth records for anyone born prior to 1930, in the state of Florida must be ordered through the Jacksonville office. All records are certified.
Death records can be issued upon receipt of the registrant's death certificate to the registrant's spouse, child, grandchild, or sibling (if of legal age), parent, or the legal representative of any such person.
Death certificates are available from any county in Florida where the death occurred. Residence does not play a factor as to where the record is obtainable.
Presently, the Brevard County Vital Statistics Office can issue computerized certified copies of death certificates from 2009 to present.
How To Obtain Birth and Death Records
Birth and Death records can be requested in person, by mail, or by fax:
- The cost for one birth certificate is $12.00. Birth records for anyone born in the State of Florida are available from 1930 to present.
- The cost for one death certificate is $9.00. Death records for anyone who died in the Sate of Florida are available from 2009 to the current year. All other records must be obtained from the Jacksonville Vital Statistics State Office.
Apply in person at the Brevard County Vital Statistics office located at 2575 N Courtenay Pkwy, Suite 104, Merritt Island, Florida 32953. Our hours of operation are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. You must have a valid picture ID.
Mail in your request for a Birth and/or Death Record to 2575 N Courtenay Pkwy, Suite 104, Merritt Island, Florida 32953, to the attention of the BREVARD COUNTY VITAL STATISTICS OFFICE. Please add $2.00 for shipping and handling. Please include all information regarding the birth or death. A photocopy of the applicant's picture ID is also required. Records cannot be faxed to the applicant. Please use the following forms to submit your request:
Birth Certificate Request (pdf - 161 KB)
Birth Certificate Request (Spanish) (pdf - 96 KB)
Death Certificate Request (pdf - 251 KB)
For an additional processing fee of $10.00 you can request Birth and Death records by fax using a Visa or MasterCard. Your order will be processed within the next business day. Express delivery is available for $18.00 via UPS. Please send your request by fax to (321) 454-7164. Fill out the birth certificate or death certificate request forms and attach a photocopy of the applicant's picture ID (enlarge picture ID) and submit it together with the following credit card authorization form:
Credit Card Authorization Form (pdf - 34 KB)
Acceptable forms of payment: Cash, MasterCard, Visa, or money order. No Personal Checks. Please submit money order or cashier’s check payable to the FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH IN BREVARD COUNTY.
For additional information please contact us at (321) 454-7163.