Florida Health - Brevard County

Florida Department of Health in Brevard County  
EH Home
Facility Programs
Arbovirus Sentinel Chicken
 Surveillance
Adult Entertainment
Animal Care Facilities
Body Piercing
Biomedical Waste
Food Safety and Sanitation
 Program
Group Care
Indoor Air / Mold
Lead Program
Mobile Home / RV Parks
Sanitary Nuisances
Tanning Salons
Tattooing
Onsite Sewage Programs
Construction Permits
Operating Permits
Service Permits
Rabies Program
Water Programs
Healthy Beaches Program
Limited Use Drinking Water
Public Swimming Pools and
 Bathing Places
Well Construction
Well Surveillance
Administration /
Directory

         Get Adobe Reader (opens in new window) 
         Get Word Viewer (opens in new window) 
         Get Excel Viewer (opens in new window)

 DOH-Brevard Home | Contact Us | Florida Department of Health Website | myFlorida.com  

Conventional and Cosmetic Tattooing
Phone:  321.633.2100, option 4

Effective January 1, 2012, sections 381.00771 - 381.00791, Florida Statutes (F.S.), The Practice of Tattooing authorized the Florida Department of Health to regulate activities associated with tattooing. These statutes require licensure of tattoo artists and tattoo establishments as well as outline operational requirements for tattoo establishments and educational requirements/standards of practice for conventional and cosmetic tattoo artists. Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), which became effective September 5, 2012, provides details regarding requirements for tattoo establishments and artists. The Florida Department of Health - Brevard County is responsible for the licensure of all tattoo establishments within Brevard County and all tattoo artists that reside in Brevard County. Application forms for tattoo establishments and tattoo artists are available below. 

A tattoo establishment in Brevard County shall complete an Application for Tattoo Establishment DH Form 4151 in its entirety and submit it along with the required $200 fee to the Florida Department of Health - Brevard County. A satisfactory inspection is required prior to the issuance of a Tattoo Establishment License. Tattoo establishments must also maintain a biomedical waste generator permit. For information on obtaining a biomedical waste generator permit in Brevard County please visit the Florida Department of Health - Brevard County's Biomedical Waste webpage.

Tattoo artists that reside in Brevard County and have successfully completed the required educational course shall submit an Application for Tattoo Artist License DH Form 4147 along with all supporting documentation and the required $60 fee to the Florida Department of Health - Brevard County. All persons who tattoo the body of a human being must be licensed in Florida as a tattoo artist. This includes persons who practice cosmetic tattooing, which is also known as permanent makeup or micropigmentation, and students or apprentices who tattoo human beings as part of their tattoo training. Effective January 1, 2013, any unlicensed person engaged in tattooing will be subject to administrative penalties. Tattoo Artists residing outside Brevard County should contact their local county health department to obtain tattoo artist licensure. Educational courses approved by the Florida Department of Health can be found at http://www.floridahealth.gov/healthy-environments/tattooing/tattoo-educational-materials.html.

Guest tattoo artists that plan to tattoo in Brevard County and who also hold an active license, registration, or certification issued by a jurisdiction outside of Florida shall submit an Application for Guest Tattoo Artist Registration DH Form 4150 along with all supporting documentation and the required $35 fee to the Florida Department of Health - Brevard County.  A guest artist registration is valid for up to 14 consecutive days.  Effective January 1, 2013, any unregistered person engaged in tattooing will be subject to administrative penalties.

Applications, supporting documentation and applicable fees (made payable to DOH-Brevard) may be sent to the Florida Department of Health - Brevard County, 2725 Judge Fran Jamieson Way, Ste A116, Viera, FL 32940.

For more information on tattooing in the State of Florida, please visit http://www.floridahealth.gov/healthy-environments/tattooing/index.html.

Downloadable Files/Links:

 

 
 


This page was last modified on: 11/1/2013 04:54:46

 

 



Disclaimer * Privacy Notice * Webmaster * Email Advisory