Vital Statistics HOME
• Frequently Asked
• Order a Record
• Commemorative Birth Certificates
• Katherine's Law
• Putative Father
• Apostille Birth Certificates
Q. How do I obtain a birth certificate?
A. Complete this
Birth Certificate Application, then place your order using one of the methods
Q. How much does a birth
A. The cost for a copy is $10.
Q. What years of birth certificates can be obtained?
A. Certificates of birth occurring within the State of
Florida are available from 1930 to present.
Q. What if I need someone else to receive a birth
certificate for me?
to name another person to receive a birth certificate for you.
Q. Can I pay for a birth certificate with a credit card?
A. Credit card orders are accepted 24 hours a day, 7 days week through the VitalChek
website, or by calling 1-877-550-7330 for VitalChek's automated
voice system (NOTE: VitalChek charges a $5 processing
You can also use a credit card at the Vital Statistics Office. Credit
card orders always require a copy of a valid photo ID, which can be
faxed to 850-833-9275, if necessary.
Q: I need a record for someone who was not born in
Florida. How can I request such?
Anyone born on a United States (US) military installation abroad who
needs a copy of the Consular Report of Birth Abroad (DS-1350 or
request a replacement of the certificate through the US Department
of State. If the child was not born on an overseas
view the CDC's
"Where to Write for Vital Records" document to learn more.
Q. Where is the Okaloosa County Health Department
located? How can I reach the Vital Statistics office?
A. We are located at 221 Hospital Dr NE in Fort Walton
Beach, Florida. The Vitals Statistics' phone number is
850-833-9255, and their fax is (850) 833-9275.
Q. Are there other locations where
I can obtain a birth certificate?
A. Yes. Birth certificates may also be obtained through the
Okaloosa County Tax Collector’s Offices only at these locations:
Fort Walton Beach, Crestview, Niceville and Destin. Certificates
sold through the Tax Collector’s Offices are only issued to a
certificate holder who is at least 18 years old or to the parent
listed on the certificate. The cost is $10.00 plus an additional
surcharge of $6.25 per applicant. The Tax Collector’s Office offers walk-in
Back to TOP
Applications are accepted in person at our
Fort Walton Beach facility.
221 Hospital Dr NE
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
View our hours of operation.
If you have a question about your form of
identification, please check with our office.
• Require completed application and payment by check, money order, or credit
• Require a notarized copy of valid
photo ID (NOTE: must be done by a US notary)
• Mail requests to
Okaloosa County Health Department, 221 Hospital Drive
NE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548. Please include a
self-addressed stamped envelope.
• You may use
this Birth Certificate Release Affidavit (DH 1958)
form to name another person to receive a birth certificate for you.
NOTE: Under current Florida
Statutes, only the following people may receive birth
1. Person listed on the birth record and is over 18
2. Parents listed on the birth record
3. Individual/agency who is listed as guardian on
the birth record and MUST provide certified/notarized
documentation of guardianship
FAX ORDERS through the Vital Statistics Office
Require completed application and
a notarized copy of a valid
photo ID (NOTE: must be done by a US notary). Fax items to the Okaloosa
County Health Department at (850) 833-9275.
• All fax orders must be paid by credit
PHONE, ONLINE, & FAX ORDERS through
Florida Department of Health does not
accept credit cards for online orders, however,
for your convenience, you can process online
requests through an independent company that we
have partnered with to provide you this service,
VitalChek Network, Inc. Major credit cards are
accepted, including American Express®,
Discover®, MasterCard®, and Visa®.
Credit card orders will be accepted 24 hours
a day, 7 days a week through the VitalChek
network (automated voice system). A $5 VitalChek fee is
VitalChek Fax: 1-877-550-7428
If ordering by fax, a $5 VitalChek fee is required. Allow
2-3 days for processing.
NOTE: Certifications of
birth cannot be faxed.
Back to TOP
If a birth record contains errors, it may be
possible to correct the record. Depending on the
type of correction and the age of the
registrant, documentary evidence may be required
to support the correction. If the correction is
to the name of a minor child, the signatures of
both parents, if listed on the original birth
record, are required. A non-refundable fee of
$20.00 (which includes one certification of the
record) is required by Florida law. All
amendments are processed through the State
Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Instructions for Amending a Certificate of Live
Application to Amend:
Affidavit of Amendment of Certificate of Live
Birth Certificate Release Affidavit (DH Form
Back to TOP
The State of Florida also issues commemorative birth certificates.
To learn more about ordering, visit
the Florida Department of Health's website.
(Click thumbnail to
view full size)
Back to TOP
What is Katherine’s Law?
In 2006, Florida's governor
signed into law legislation that allows for the issuance of
a certification for a Certificate of Birth Resulting in
Stillbirth. This law, section 382.0085, Florida Statutes, is
known as Katherine's Law. Florida is the 14th state to
implement such a law.
The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is not
proof of live birth and may not be used to establish
identity. Gestation must be 20 weeks or more, and there must
be a fetal death certificate on file with the Florida Office
of Vital Statistics in order for a stillbirth certificate to
be prepared. The information included on the stillbirth
certificate comes from the fetal death certificate.
Issuance is from the State Office of Vital Statistics only;
county offices cannot issue this certificate. An
informational brochure is available for the funeral
director, physician, medical examiner, hospital, and
Back to TOP
What is the Putative Father Registry?
The purpose of the Putative Father Registry is to permit a
man alleging to be the biological father of a child to
assert his parentage, independent of the mother, and
preserve his rights as a parent.
A Florida Putative Father Registry Claim is done without the
consent or involvement of the mother. The registry is where
the putative father claim is filed and recorded. The
putative father’s name is not added to the birth record.
Should the child be placed for adoption, the putative father
must be named a party to the adoption proceedings.
Back to TOP
Apostille birth certificates are those
prepared to give to foreign countries.
following situations are examples of when an Apostille
birth certificate could be required.
• Transferred by your employer to a foreign
• Wanting to marry in a foreign country
• Adopting a child in a foreign country
Need an Apostille Application? Learn more about
the steps you must take to apply for and obtain an
Back to TOP