Sumter County Health Department, Public Health Prevent, Promote, Protect

Return to Vital Statistics HOME

Birth Certificates

Frequently Asked Questions
Place an Order
Delegate Someone to Receive a Record
Amendments
Paternity Acknowledgment
Putative Father's Registry
Florida Commemorative BIRTH Certificates
Katherine's Law
Apostille Birth Certificates


*Note: This page contains materials in the Portable Document Format (PDF).
The Free Adobe Reader may be required to view these files.


Frequently Asked Questions
Q. How much does a birth certificate cost?
A. The cost for a single certified copy is $12.00. Each additional certified copy (same visit) are $5.00 (same application).
 
Q. Can I obtain my birth certificate if I was born in any county in Florida?
A. Yes
 
Q. What years of birth certificates may be obtained?
A. Certificates of birth occurring within the State of Florida are available from 1917 to present. If you were born in Florida prior to 1917, you may contact the Bureau of Vital Statistics at (904)359-6900.
 
Q. Can I pay for a birth certificate with a credit card?
A. Yes, we accept Visa and MasterCard at this time. You may come in person, fax or mail your completed application. Valid photo identification is required.
 
Q. How long does it take to obtain my birth certificate once you receive my application?
A. We process the application the same day that it is received whether it is in person, via mail or fax.
 
Q. If I was born in a state other than Florida, may I obtain my birth certificate in your office?
A. We can provide you with an application for the state you were born in. We only have access to Florida birth records. You may also go to the CDC website to obtain and print out an application for other states.
 
Q. Who is authorized to receive a copy of my birth certificate?
A. Under current Florida Statute 382.025, only the following people may receive a birth certificate.
    1. Person who is listed on the birth record and is over 18 years old.
    2. Parent(s) listed on the birth record.
    3. Legal guardian with proper documentation.
    4. Other person(s) by court order and with recorded or certified copy of court order.
 
Q. What if I need someone who is not authorized to obtain my birth certificate for me?
A. If you are eligible to receive the record, complete an Authorization to Release form (DH1958). In addition to form DH1958, we will need your photo identification, along with the photo identification of the individual being authorized to receive the certificate.
 
Q. How do I order a new or replacement Social Security Card?
A. You may call Social Security Administration at (800)866-7594 or visit their website www.ssa.gov.


Back To Top

Place and Order
NOTE: Under current Florida Statutes, only the following people may receive birth certificates.
    1. Person who is listed on the birth record and is over 18 years old.
    2. Parent(s) listed on the birth record.
    3. Legal guardian with proper documentation.
    4. Other person(s) by court order with recorded or certified copy of court order.

WALK-IN
Applications are accepted in person at either of our two locations. You will complete an application and will need to provide valid identification.
 
415 E Noble Avenue
Bushnell, FL 33513
PH (352)569-3139
8015 E CR 466
The Villages, FL 32162
PH (352)689-4675
 
BY MAIL
A completed signed application.
Valid photo identification >>Please check with our office if you have a question about your form of identification.
Payment by check, money order or credit card.
Mail request to Sumter County Health Department, P.O. Box 98, Bushnell, FL 33513.

Application for Florida Birth Certificate (ENGLISH)
Application for Florida Birth Certificate (SPANISH)
 
BY FAX
Completed signed application,
Valid photo identification >> Please check with our office if you have a question about your form of identification.
 
NOTE: All fax orders must be paid by credit card. We accept Visa or MasterCard.
 
Delegate someone to receive a birth certificate
You may use this form, BIRTH Affidavit to Release, DOH1958 to name another individual to receive a birth certificate for you.
 


Back To Top

Amendments
If a birth record contains an error, it may be possible to correct the record. Depending on the type of correction and the age of the registrant, documentary evidence may be required to support the correction. All amendments are processed through the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
 
- Instructions for Amending a Certificate of Live Birth
- Affidavit of Amendment of Certificate of Live Birth
 
If you need assistance with your request for an amendment to a vital record, call the Bureau of Vital Statistics at (904)359-6900, Extension 9005.


Back To Top

Paternity
Paternity Acknowledgment
A father's name may be added to his child's birth record only in the case where the mother was unmarried at the time of the child's birth and no father is listed on the birth record.
-Notarized signatures of both parents are required.
 
Acknowledgment of Paternity
What a Parent must know before Signing the Paternity Acknowledgment by Natural Parents
 
If you need assistance with your request for an amendment to a vital record, call the Bureau of Vital Statistics at (904)359-6900, Extension 9004.


Back To Top

Putative Father's Registry
The purpose of the Putative Father Registry is to permit a man alleging to be the biological father of a child to assert his parentage, independent of the mother, and preserve his rights as a parent.
 
A Florida Putative Father Registry Claim is done without the consent or involvement of the mother. The registry is where the putative father claim is filed and recorded. The putative father's name is not added to the birth record. Should the child be placed for adoption the putative father must be named a party to the adoption proceedings.
 
Related forms can be obtained at the Florida Departrment of Health in Sumter County. Questions regarding the Putative Father Registry can be answered by the Adoption Unit, call (904)359-6900, extension 9001 or on the website at: http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates-and-registries/certificates/birth/Putative_Father/index.html
 

Back To Top

Commemorative Birth Certificate
(issued only by the Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics office)
 
A personalized, legal, certified record of birth issued by the State of Florida. To learn more about ordering one, visit the Florida Department of Health website.
 
Traditional Commemorative Certificate
Beach Scene Commemorative Certificate
Palm Tree Commemorative Certificate
Traditional Beach Scene Palm Tree


Back To Top

Katherine's Law
In 2006, Florida's governor signed into law legislation that allows for the issuance of a certification for a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth. This law, section 382.0085, Florida Statutes, is known as Katherine's Law. Florida is the 14th state to implement such a law.

The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is not proof of live birth and may not be used to establish identity. Gestation must be 20 weeks or more, and there must be a fetal death certificate on file with the Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics in order for a stillbirth certificate to be prepared. The information included on the still birth certificate comes from the fetal death certificate.

Issuance is from the Bureau of Vital Statistics only; county offices can not issue this certificate. An informational brochure is available for the funeral director, physician, medical examiner, hospital, and parents. For questions, families should contact the state office at (904)359-6900.
 

Back To Top

Apostille Certificates
Apostille birth certificates are those prepared to give to foreign countries.

The following situations are examples of when an Apostille birth certificate may be required.
  • Transferred by your employer to a foreign county,

  • Wanting to marry in a foreign country,or

  • Adopting a child in a foreign country.
For more information and forms that are needed, visit Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics website: Apostille/Exemplified
 

Back To Top

Page last updated: 3/14/2014