Return to Vital Statistics HOME
|Frequently Asked Questions|
|Place an Order|
|Apostille Death Certificates|
*Note: This page contains materials in the Portable Document Format (PDF).
The free Adobe Reader may be required to view these files.
Florida DEATH records are available in our office from 2009 to present.
| Q. How much does a death certificate cost?
A. The cost for a each certified copy is $12.00.
| Q. Can I pay for a death certificate with a credit card?
A. Yes, we accept Visa and MasterCard at this time. You may come in person, fax or mail your completed application. Valid Photo identification is also required if you are requesting the cause of death.
| Q. How long does it take to obtain the death certificate once you receive my application?|
A. We process the application the same day that it is received whether it is in person, via mail or fax.
| Q. Who can obtain a death certificate?|
A. Death certificates without the cause are available to anyone.
However, a Florida Death Certificate with the cause of death is confidential and available only to the following:
The Decedent's spouse, parent, child, grandchild, or sibling (if 18 years of age or older).
Any person who provides a "Will" that has been executed pursuant to state statute 732.502; an insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent; Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the previously mentioned persons.
| Q. What if I need someone who is not authorized to receive a death certificate for me?|
A. You may complete an Authorization to Release form DH1959 (pdf 44KB). In addition to form DH1959, we will need photo identification from whoever is eligible to receive as well as who is being authorized to receive the certificate.
| Q. How may I obtain a death certificate for someone who passed away in a state other than Florida?|
A. If the death did not occur in Florida, please go to the following link to order certificates from other states: CDC website to obtain and print out an application for other states.
Back To Top
|NOTE: Under current Florida Statutes, only the following people may receive a death certificate with the cause of death: In Florida anyone may order a Florida Death Certificate "Without cause of death". |
2. Any person who provides a "Will" that has been executed pursuant to state statute 732.502; an insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his other interest in the estate of the decedent;
3. Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the previously mentioned persons.
|Applications are accepted in person at either of our two locations. You will complete an application and will need to provide valid identification if requesting the cause of death.|
|415 E Noble Avenue
Bushnell, FL 33513
|8015 E CR 466
The Villages, FL 32162
|View our Hours Of Operation|
|A completed signed application.|
With the cause of death, Valid photo identification is required >>Please check with our office if you have a question about your form of identification.
Payment by check, money order or credit card.
Mail request to Sumter County Health Department, P.O. Box 98, Bushnell, FL 33513.
|Application for Forida Death Cerificate|
|Completed signed application,
With the cause of death, Valid photo identification >> Please check with our office if you have a question about your form of identification.
Fax request to Sumter County Health Department at Bushnell location FAX (352) 568-0930 or The Villages location FAX (352) 689-4676.
|NOTE: All fax orders must be paid by credit card. We accept Visa or MasterCard.|
Back To Top
|To amend the medical certificate or cause of death section on the death certificate requires the certifying physician or medical examiner to complete and file the notarized Affidavit of Amendment to Medical Certification of Death, DH 434A (2005 Version) or Affidavit of Amendment to Medical Certification of Death, DH 434 (2004 and prior). This includes not only the cause of death and manner of death, but also the date of death, hour or time of death or the place of death other than street address.
All amendments are processed through the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
|Questions on the medical affidavit should be directed to the Bureau of Vital Statistics at (904) 359-6900, Extension 9013.|
Back To Top
|Apostille birth certificates are those prepared to give to foreign countries.
The following situations are examples of when an Apostille birth certificate may be required.
Transferred by your employer to a foreign county,
Wanting to marry in a foreign country,or
Adopting a child in a foreign country.
For more information and forms that are needed, visit Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics website: Apostille/Exemplified
Back To Top
Page last updated: 1/17/2014