

Scott A. Rivkees, MD State Surgeon General

Vision: To be the Healthiest State in the Nation

## Reminder: Reporting of COVID-19 for Health Care Providers and Facilities June 16, 2021

COVID-19-positive patients and COVID-19 laboratory results are subject to mandatory reporting to the Florida Department of Health (Department) under section 381.0031. Florida Statutes. Chapter 64D-3. Florida Administrative Code and Emergency Rule No. 64DER21-8.

All positive, negative, and indeterminate COVID-19 laboratory results must be reported to the Department via electronic laboratory reporting (ELR) or by FAX within 24 hours. This includes all COVID-19 test types: polymerase chain reaction (PCR), other RNA, antigen, and antibody tests.

If your facility is conducting in-house COVID-19 testing and needs to establish reporting through a Web portal or set up an ELR feed with the Department, please begin the enrollment process by visiting our enrollment website: http://floridahealth.gov/electronicreportingregistration. Until your ELR feed is in the Department's production, FAX results to your county health department (www.floridahealth.gov/diseases-and-conditions/disease-reporting-andmanagement/chd-epi-contacts/).

Suspected or confirmed outbreaks of COVID-19 in long-term care facilities or similar group settings such as assisted living facilities, must be reported immediately and are defined as:

- One or more facility-acquired laboratory-confirmed<sup>1</sup> COVID-19 cases in a resident.
- Two or more laboratory-confirmed COVID-19 cases in staff with epidemiological linkage<sup>2</sup> who do not share a household and are not listed as a close contact<sup>3</sup> of each other outside of the workplace during standard case investigation or contact tracing.

Patients with confirmed or suspected COVID-19 or close contact with a case should be provided the following resources to help prevent disease transmission:

- Persons with confirmed COVID-19
- Self-isolation guidance
- Contact tracing for COVID-19
- Close contacts to COVID-19

## Resources

Preparing for COVID-19 in Nursing Homes Interim Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations for Healthcare Personnel What you need to know now about COVID-19 in Florida

<sup>1</sup>Laboratory confirmation: detection of SARS-CoV-2 RNA in a clinical specimen using a PCR or antigen test. <sup>2</sup>Epidemiological linkage: cases were present in the setting during the same time period (e.g. same classroom, school event, work shift or department) within 14 days prior to the event date and that there is no other more likely source of exposure for identified cases (e.g. same household).

<sup>3</sup>Close contact: being within six feet of an infected person for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more over a 24hour period starting two days before illness onset or specimen collection date (if asymptomatic) and during the infectious period.

**Florida Department of Health Division of Disease Control and Health Protection Bureau of Epidemiology** 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A-12 • Tallahassee, FL 32399 PHONE: 850/245-4401 • FAX: 850/413-9113 FloridaHealth.gov



Accredited Health Department Public Health Accreditation Board