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Mandatory Reporting of COVID-19:  
Point-of-Care Testing from Universities and Colleges within 24 Hours 

 
October 15, 2020 

 
Health care practitioners, facilities, and laboratories are subject to mandatory reporting to the Florida 
Department of Health (FDOH) under section 381.0031, Florida Statutes, and Chapter 64D-3, Florida 
Administrative Code.  
 

 All positive, negative, and indeterminate COVID-19 laboratory results must be reported to 
FDOH via electronic laboratory reporting or by fax within 24 hours. This includes all COVID-19 
test types—polymerase chain reaction (PCR), other RNA, antigen and antibody results. For a 
list of county health departments and their reporting contact information, please visit 
www.FLhealth.gov/chdepicontact. 

 Health care providers and facilities must report by fax all COVID-19 cases and negative test 
results to their county health department within 24 hours until they are successfully reporting 
results electronically.  

If your facility is conducting in-house COVID-19 testing, please report results electronically. To establish 
electronic reporting through a web portal, please begin the enrollment process by emailing the COVID-
19 Reporting Portal team at COVID19PortalEnrollment@flhealth.gov. Until you have access to the 
reporting portal, please fax results to your local county health department within 24 hours. For a list of 
county health departments and their reporting contact information, please visit 
www.FLhealth.gov/chdepicontact. 

As per Rule 64D-3.031, Florida Administrative Code, report content must include:  
 

o The patient’s:  
 First and last name, including middle initial 
 Address (including street, city, state, and ZIP code)  
 Telephone number (including area code)  
 Date of birth  
 Sex 
 Race 
 Ethnicity (hispanic or non-hispanic)  
 Pregnancy status, if applicable 
 Social security number  

o The performing facility’s:  
 Name, address, and telephone number  
 Specimen received date 
 Type of specimen (e.g., stool, urine, blood, mucus)  
 Specimen collection site (e.g., cervix, eye) if applicable  
 Date of report  



 

 

 Type of test performed and results, including reference range, titer when quantitative 
procedures are performed, and all available results on speciation, grouping or typing of 
organisms 

 
o The submitting practitioner’s:  

 Name 
 Address (including street, city, state, and ZIP code)  
 Telephone number (including area code)  
 National provider number (NPI)  

 
This effort is in support of the Public Health Emergency Declaration for COVID-19.  
 
For additional information, please visit https://floridahealthcovid19.gov.  
 
 
 
 


