
 

 
STATE OF FLORIDA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
 

CITATION  FOR  VIOLATION 
ONSITE SEWAGE PROGRAM/SANITARY NUISANCE 

Authority:  381.0065 Florida Statutes 

 
    
Person being cited  Address of alleged violation (street address) 
 
    
Address of person being cited (street address)  Address (city, state, zip) 
 
    
Address (city, state, zip)  Date and Time of Citation (M/D/Y); a.m./p.m. 
 
    
Business Name (if applicable)  Name of Citing Inspector 
 
PART 1. CITATION OF LAW AND/OR RULE VIOLATIONS 
Write particular nature of violation, including specific reference to the provisions of law and/or rule allegedly violated. 
 Law  Rule 
Citation:    Violation:  
Citation:    Violation:  
Citation:    Violation:  
Citation:    Violation:  
Citation:    Violation:  
Citation:    Violation:  
Citation:    Violation:  
Citation:    Violation:  
Citation:    Violation:  
 
PART 2. DESCRIPTION OF VIOLATIONS 
Describe any violations observed, along with the date and time observed.  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
 
PART 3. PRELIMINARY NOTICE 
Date of initial notice of violation:      
Type of notice given: 
 Inspection report   
 Notice of violation   
 Other (specify)   
 
Notice issued by:   ,   County Health Department 
 
PART 4. FOLLOW UP VISIT 
Date of reinspection    
 
Reinspection by:   ,  County Health Department 
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PART 5. ACTIONS TAKEN TO CORRECT VIOLATIONS 
List any actions the property owner has taken to correct the violations. 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
 
PART 6. ORDER OF CORRECTION/FINE AND PAYMENT 
The person named in this citation is hereby ordered to correct the violation(s) listed in Part 1 within   days 
of the service of this citation. 
 
The person identified on this citation is hereby directed to pay a fine in the amount of $  for 
the violations listed in Part 1.  Payment must be made to the   
County Health Department within 21 days of the receipt of this citation, or you may choose the option listed in 
Part 9. 
PART 7. ACCEPTANCE OF CITATION 
The person named above acknowledges receipt of the citation issued.  Any person who willfully refuses to sign 
and accept a citation issued by the department is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as 
provided in section 775.082 or 775.083, Florida Statutes. 
 
    
Signature of Recipient  Date 
 
PART 8. REDUCTION OR WAIVER OF FINE 
The person named in this citation may request that the amount of the fine in Part 6 be reduced or waived by 
demonstrating good faith in correcting the violations, or by presenting "before and after" evidence to the  
     County Health Department within two working days of the time of issuance of 
this citation.  In determining whether to reduce or waive the fine, the      County 
Health Department shall consider the gravity of the violation, the person's attempts at correcting the violation, 
and the person's history of previous violations.  The County Health Department is not required to reduce or 
waive the fine. 
 
The amount of this citation is hereby reduced or waived to the amount of $    . 
 
 
             
Signature, CHD Director/Administrator    Date 
 
PART 9. REQUEST FOR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 
Per sections 120.569 and 120.57, Florida Statutes, the recipient has the right to request a formal or informal 
administrative hearing to contest the citation within 21 days after the date the citation is received.  If the 
recipient fails to timely request a hearing, pay the fine within the time allowed, or fails to appear to contest the 
citation after having requested a hearing, the recipient will have waived the right to contest the citation and this 
citation becomes a final order requiring the recipient to pay the amount of the fine shown above. 
 
I request an administrative hearing. Yes   No   
 
I dispute the material facts. Yes   No   
 
              
Signature of Person Named on Citation    Date 
 
 

NOTICE OF APPELLATE RIGHTS ON REVERSE 
White copy: County Health Department 
Yellow copy: Citation Recipient 
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NOTICE OF APPELLATE RIGHTS 

 
 
This citation becomes a Final Order of the Department if you have not contested the Citation 
within twenty-one (21) days of the date upon which the Citation was served upon you.  If this 
Citation becomes a Final Order of the Department, you have the right to appeal the Final Order 
to the District Court of Appeal in your area or the First District Court of Appeal. 
 
YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED, pursuant to sections 120.569 and 120.68, Florida Statutes, 
that you may appeal the Final Order by filing one copy of a Notice of Appeal with the Agency 
Clerk for the Department of Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN # A02, Tallahassee, Florida 
32399-1703, and by filing one copy of the Notice of Appeal and filing fee ($250, pursuant to 
section 35.22(3), Florida Statutes) with the District Court of Appeal within thirty (30) days of 
the effective date of the Final Order. 
 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING DH 3146: 
 
1. The name of the person being cited must be filled in.  Must be the owner, operator, occupant, or business  
 name.  If a septic tank company, cite the registered contractor. 
 
2. Below the person's name being cited, place the mailing address of that person.  May be a place of business if a  
 septic tank contractor, company, or employee is being cited. 
 
3. Include the business name, if applicable.  If inapplicable, put "NA". 
 
4. Include the physical address where the alleged violation exists. 
 
5. Indicate the date and time the citation is being issued in month/day/year format, and the time in the a.m./p.m. 
 format. 
 
6. Name of inspector issuing the citation must be on form. 
 
7. Part 1.  State the section or subsection of the law and administrative rule allegedly violated and include a brief  
 statement of the violation cited. 
 
8. Part 2.  Describe the observed violation and provide pertinent facts related to the violation. 
 
9. Part 3.  The county health department must complete this part. 
 
10. Part 4.  This part is completed by the county health department employee conducting the follow-up visit or  
 investigation. 
 
11. Part 5.  Describe actions the property owner has already taken to correct the violations. 
 
12. Part 6.  Enter order of correction if appropriate, to include time period for correction.  An order of correction and an order to pay  
 a fine may both be imposed.  Enter the amount of the fine being imposed for the violations listed in Part 1.  In no event shall the  
 fine imposed by a citation exceed $500 for each violation.  Each day a violation exists constitutes a separate  
 violation for which a citation may be issued (s. 381.0065(5), FS).  Fines shall be assessed from the date of the  
 initial notice of violation.  This amount may be reduced or waived as per Part 8.  Insert the name of the county  
 health department issuing the citation. 
 
13. Part 7.  The signature of the recipient must be the same as the person cited. 
 
14. Part 8.  If a request for fine reduction or waiver is submitted by the person named in the citation, the County 
 Health Department Director or Administrator shall evaluate the justification for fine reduction or waiver and  
 consider the gravity of the violation, the person's attempts at correcting the violation, and the person's history  
 of previous violations.  If a reduction or waiver of the fine is justified, the reduced or waived fine shall be  
 specified in the space provided and the county health department Director/Administrator must sign and date in  
 the spaces provided. 
 
15. Part 9.  The person named in the citation must indicate whether or not an administrative hearing is being  
 requested, and the person must sign and date the request. 
 


