Please take a look at the summary of changes to the new specimen card.
Also, a sample specimen card is available showing the most recent changes.
Submitting entities can order more specimen collection cards (Form 677)
Please only submit this form via the Postal Service or by fax.
All infants born in Florida must have a valid newborn screening specimen collected on the DOH 677 Florida specimen card.
For newborns that are not in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, the guidelines for collection are 24 hours of age and 24 hours on protein feedings.
If at the time of collection the age and feeding status requirements are not met, then parents must be given written instructions that a repeat specimen must be collected within five days.
For newborns admitted to the NICU, the metabolic screen must be collected upon admission, prior to any treatments/transfusions, a second screening specimen should be collected between 48-72 hours of life, a third specimen should be collected at 28 days of life or before discharge; whichever comes first. A specimen must be collected at discharge irrespective of the age or feeding status of the newborn.
Specimen cards for Medicaid-eligible children must include the Medicaid billing number to be considered a completed specimen card.
Specimen cards for patients with private insurance must include the name of the insurance company and policy number to be considered a completed specimen card.
For single births, do not enter birth order information. For multiple births, it is vital to include "A" for the first birth, "B" for the second birth, and so on.
A broad overview of the current testing procedure is available online courtesy of the State of Florida Newborn Screening Laboratory at the Bureau of Public Health Laboratories (BPHL) in Jacksonville.
The monthly Lab Congratulations Report contains a heartfelt thanks to those submitting entities' nursing staffs with the best record of specimen submission.
The monthly Screening Profile Reports contains detailed information for each submitting entity on the number of unsatisfactory specimens collected, including those for which no satisfactory specimen has been received within 5 days of birth.
Submitting entities should check these lists periodically to ensure compliance with their statutory obligations to submit a satisfactory screening card for every newborn whose guardian does not object to the test in writing.
Birthing facilities may disclose, without prior individual authorization, protected health information to public health authorities. Per Florida law, this specifically applies to newborn screening information being disclosed to the Florida Department of Health.