skip to sub-navigation skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to sub-navigation skip to content
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact the Florida Department of Health

Questions and Answers regarding the 911 Public Safety Telecommunicators program.



Can I still be grandfathered in? (This clause expired October 1, 2012)

No, any individual that was not grandfathered in prior to October 1, 2012 is no longer eligible.  Per Florida Statute 401.465(2)(i) The department shall establish by rule a procedure for the initial certification of 911 public safety telecommunicators as defined in this section who have documentation of at least 3 years of supervised full-time employment as a 911 public safety telecommunicator or an emergency dispatcher since January 1, 2002. This paragraph expires October 1, 2012.

Back to Top

When does my certification expire?

PSTs have a common expiration date. ALL PST certifications automatically expire February 1, of each odd year.   Any person who was certified August 1, 2012 or later will have a certification that expires on February 1, 2015.

Back to Top

How do I apply for renewal?

To apply for renewal, PSTs must have completed 20 hours of continuing education based on the Department of Education’s 911 Public Safety Telecommunication Curriculum Framework, program number P090101, and submit the completed Form DH 5068 along with a business check, cashier’s check or money order for $50.  No personal checks will be accepted.

Back to Top

What if I miss my expiration date?

Any person who does not recertify prior to February 1, of the odd year must pay both the renewal fee of $50 along with a $50 late fee. If the certificate is not renewed within 180 days of expiration, you must go through an approved training program and pass the exam to become recertified.

Back to Top

Can I work on an expired certificate?

No, the only people who may work as 911 Public Safety Telecommunicators are those who possess an active State of Florida certificate.

Back to Top

Do I have to take the test?

Yes, any person who wishes to become certified as a 911 public safety telecommunicator or any sworn law enforcement who wishes to perform as a 911 public safety telecommunicator on an occasional or limited basis must pass the exam.

Back to Top

Do I have to take the 232 hours of training?

No, if you were employed as a 911 public safety telecommunicator, or a state-certified firefighter before April 1, 2012, you may take the exam. Upon passage of the examination, the completion of the public safety telecommunication training program shall be waived.

Back to Top

How do I apply to take the test?

First you must submit the completed application along with the $75 testing fee. Once approved by the Department of Health to be eligible to test, you will log onto this website and select a testing location and time that best serves you.

Back to Top

If I don’t pass the test, do I have to pay to take it again?

Yes, there is a $75 testing fee for each attempt.

Back to Top

I am a sworn law enforcement officer and will be working in dispatch only to give breaks. Do I have to take the test?

  Yes, but sworn law enforcement officers who wish to work on an occasional or limited basis are exempt from the testing fee and the certification requirement. Per Florida Statute 401.465(2)(k); 1. The requirement for certification as a 911 public safety telecommunicator is waived for a person employed as a sworn state-certified law enforcement officer, provided the officer:

a. Is selected by his or her chief executive to perform as a 911 public safety telecommunicator;

b. Performs as a 911 public safety telecommunicator on an occasional or limited basis; and

c. Passes the department-approved examination that measures the competency and proficiency of an applicant in the subject material comprising the public safety telecommunication program.

2. A sworn state-certified law enforcement officer who fails an examination taken under subparagraph 1. must take a department-approved public safety telecommunication training program prior to retaking the examination.

3. The testing required under this paragraph is exempt from the examination fee required under subsection (3).

Back to Top

I am a sworn law enforcement officer who took the exam under the law enforcement exemption clause, can I become certified?

No, if you have taken the exam because you’ve been chosen by your chief executive to perform as a 911 public safety telecommunicator on an occasional or limited basis (FS401.465(2)(k) above), you have chosen to be exempt from certification.

Back to Top

Once I pass the test, do I automatically become certified?

No, passage of the exam makes you eligible for certification. Once you have passed the test, you will need to apply for certification by submitting Form DH 5066 along with the $50 certification fee. Fees are accepted in the form of a business check, cashier’s check or money order.

Back to Top

How many times can I take the test?

You have 3 attempts at the exam during a 12 month period with a minimum of a 30 day period between attempts. After the third failure, you will be required to re-take an approved training program. At the completion of the training program, you are once again eligible to apply to take the test.

Back to Top

How do I get our service approved as a training center?

Any agency seeking determination of equivalency for their training program shall submit to the Department of Health DH Form 5067

911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Course Equivalency Application with supporting attachments. The training program shall consist of no less than 232 hours. The department shall identify from DH Form 5067, 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Training Course Equivalency Application, the instructional objectives within their training program that meet each of the student performance standards as outlined in the Department of Education's 911 Public Safety Telecommunication Curriculum Framework, Program Number P090101.

Back to Top