skip to sub-navigation skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to sub-navigation skip to content
The Florida Board of Chiropractic Medicine plays a leading role in the ever-changing health care environment through dialogue with the public, the legislature, academia, and the community.  The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five members are licensed chiropractic physicians and two members are laypersons.  Despite the expiration of their term, Board members continue to serve until they have been replaced.

Chiropractic Physicians

Kevin Fogarty, D.C. - Chair
Term: 09/23/2011 thru 10/31/2014

Christopher Fox, D.C.
Term: 09/25/2013 thru 10/31/2014

Danita Heagy, D.C.
Term: 09/25/2013 thru 10/31/2016

Julie Hunt, D.C.
Term: 09/25/2013 thru 10/31/2016

Ronald Wellikoff, D.C.
Term: 12/05/2005 thru 10/31/2013

Consumer Members

Ms. Ruth Pelaez
Term: 09/25/2013 thru 10/31/2015

Ms. Linda Reynolds - Vice Chair
Term: 12/05/2005 thru 10/31/2013

Since this Board serves as a "quasi-judicial" entity on licensure issues, contact with the members may cause the members to be recused from administrative proceedings. Staff will direct inquiries, when appropriate to the full Board for review. Despite the expiration of their term, Board members continue to serve until they have been replaced. Members are selected by the Governors Office.

All correspondence and inquiries should be directed to the:

Board of Chiropractic Medicine
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C07
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257

Please note: Florida has a very broad public records law. Most written communications to or from state officials regarding state business are public records available to the public and media upon request. Your e-mail communications may therefore be subject to public disclosure.

Organizational Structure of the Board

The Department of Health's Division of Medical Quality Assurance serves as the principle administrative support unit for the Board. The Board is supported by a full-time professional staff based in Tallahassee, and its regulatory functions are funded in full by fees paid by its licensees. Board members are appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. Unless filling a vacancy, members of the Board generally serve two four-year terms. Despite the expiration of a term, Board members can continue to serve until they have been either replaced or reappointed or serve the maximum of ten years as governed by s. 457.103, F.S. To learn more about becoming a member of the Board, visit the Governor’s Appointments Office website or email

Board Staff

Bill Miller, Executive Director- Responsible for Legislative and Budget matters.

Sharon Guilford, Program Operations Administrator-Responsible for board policy. 

Michele Jackson, Regulatory Supervisor/Consultant-responsible for the daily supervision and operation of the Board of Chiropractic Medicine.

Cassandra Smith, Regulatory Specialist II- Responsible for Chiropractic examination, duplicate licenses, Certified Chiropractic Physicians Assistants applications, and general law and rules questions. 

Kellee Crowson, Regulatory Specialist I-Responsible for Registered Chiropractic Physicians Assistants applications. 

Keri Meany, Regulatory Specialist II-Responsible for continuing education provider and course approval, renewal and reactivations.

Martha Gold, Regulatory Specialist I-Receptionist and incoming mail. 

Sherra Mears, Regulatory Specialist II-Agendas, meeting set-up, general office questions, profiling.