Licensure by Endorsement

Licensure by endorsement of a registered dietitian credential, issued by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR), is the most efficient method of obtaining a Florida license. Applying by this application method will expedite licensure.

An applicant who holds a valid license to practice dietetics or nutrition issued by another state, district, or territory of the United States may apply by endorsement of other state license. The Council makes the licensure decision by comparing the laws of Florida to the laws in the other jurisdiction. The laws in the other jurisdiction must be substantially equivalent to or more stringent than Florida law. Your individual education and experience are not considered. Holding a license in another jurisdiction does not require you to apply under this method.

Licensure by Examination

Examination Requirement

The examination used for licensure is the Registration Examination for Dietitians from the Commission on Dietetic Registration, unless the applicant is qualified for exemption by subsection 468.509(3), F.S.

Education and Experience Requirements (All Examination Application Methods)

Section 468.509, F.S., specifies the requirements for dietitian/nutritionist licensure. The education requirements are a baccalaureate or postbaccalaureate degree with a major course of study in human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food management.

The experience requirement is a preprofessional experience component of not less than 900 hours. See rule 64B8-42.002, F.A.C., Licensure by Examination, for details on the experience component.

Equivalent Education and Experience

Section 468.509, F.S., allows applicants to demonstrate an equivalent major course of study and/or education or experience that is equivalent to the required 900-hour preprofessional experience component.

(1) Any person desiring to be licensed as a dietitian/nutritionist shall apply to the department to take the licensure examination.

DIETITIAN/NUTRITIONIST LICENSURE

- (2) The department shall examine any applicant who the board certifies has completed the application form and remitted the application and examination fees specified in s. 468.508 and who:
- (a)1. Possesses a baccalaureate or postbaccalaureate degree with a major course of study in human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food management, or an equivalent major course of study, from a school or program accredited, at the time of the applicant's graduation, by the appropriate accrediting agency recognized by the Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation and the United States Department of Education; and
- 2. Has completed a preprofessional experience component of not less than 900 hours or has education or experience determined to be equivalent by the board; or
- (b)1. Has an academic degree, from a foreign country, that has been validated by an accrediting agency approved by the United States Department of Education as equivalent to the baccalaureate or postbaccalaureate degree conferred by a regionally accredited college or university in the United States;
- 2. Has completed a major course of study in human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food management; and
- 3. Has completed a preprofessional experience component of not less than 900 hours or has education or experience determined to be equivalent by the board.
 - CNS and DACBN Credential Holders (Examination with Waiver Application Method)

Subsection 468.509(3)(b), F.S., was created in 2015 and provides the following:

- (3) The board shall waive the examination requirement for an applicant who presents evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant is:
- (b) A certified nutrition specialist who is certified by the Certification Board for Nutrition Specialists or who is a Diplomate of the American Clinical Board of Nutrition and complies with the qualifications under this section.

Individuals who hold one or both credentials (CNS/DACBN) may apply by examination with waiver which waives the examination requirement. Applicants under this method may also demonstrate an equivalent major course of study and/or education or experience that is equivalent to the required 900-hour preprofessional experience component.