The Florida

Electrolysis Council

Minutes

August 20, 2018
Telephone Conference Call
1-888-670-3525
Participant Code 7811783909 #

Jolynn Greenhalgh, DNP, ARNP, RE Chair

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH ELECTROLYSIS COUNCIL SPECIAL BUSINESS MEETING BY TELEPHONE CONFERENCE CALL AUGUST 20, 2018

DIAL-IN NUMBER: 1-888-670-3525

When prompted, enter the following conference code number: **7811783909**, followed by the # sign.

Participants in this public meeting should be aware that these proceedings are being recorded and that an audio file of the meeting will be posted to the Council's website.

1 2 3 4 5	Members Present Ms. Jolynn Greenhalgh, DNP, ARNP, RE, Chair Ms. Sarah Gray, Esquire Ms. Erin Wiedemer, PMP Ms. Rosanna Bermejo, RE	Staff Present Allen Hall, Executive Director Anna King, Program Administrator
6 7	Assistant Attorney General Rachelle Munson, Esquire	
8 9 10	Additional Persons Present Jon Pellet, Esquire Sandy Allen, Esquire	
11 12	11:00 a.m. (ET) Call to Order – Special Business Meeting	
13 14 15 16	 RULES REVIEW AND DEVELOPMENT 1. Rule 64B8-51.002, F.A.C., Licensure by Examination Rule Development History Proposed Changes for Consideration 	
17 18 19	Ms. Munson presented the following amendments to the current rule draft in response to correspondence received from the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee (JAPC) on July 5, 2018.	
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34	64B8-51.002 Licensure by Examination. (1) Every applicant for licensure as an electrologist by examination shall demonstrate to the Council that the applicant: (a) through (d) No change. (e) Has successfully completed the requirements of a Council-approved pre-licensure epilator_electrolysis-training program approved by the Council for: consisting of 120 hours academic training and a minimum of 200 hours of practical application for the combined epilator, laser, and light-based standards consistent with the requirements of Rule 64B8-53.002, F.A.C. 1. The combined epilator, laser, and light-based curriculum defined in Rules 64B8-53.002, Florida Administrative Code, affective February 15, 2017; or 2. The epilator curriculum required for applicants who completed the training prior to March 1, 2018. (f) and (g) No change. (2) The Electrolysis Licensure Examination shall be: any national examination pursuant to Section 456.017, F.S. and approved by the Board that tests on the combined epilator, laser, and light-based standards consistent with the requirements of Rule 64B8-53.002, F.A.C. for the practice of electrology. The requirements and standards of the national examination shall comply with the requirements set forth in Rule 64B-1.011, F.A.C., effective 3/19/2012, which is incorporated herein by reference, and available from http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-	

(3) and (4) No change.

35

- 1 Rulemaking Authority 478.43(1), (4) FS. Law Implemented 456.017, 456.0635, 478.45 FS. History—New 5-31-93, Formerly 21M-76.002, 61F6-76.002, Amended 7-11-95, Formerly 59R-51.002, Amended 11-13-97, 2-17-00, 5-28-00, 11-27-14, _____.
- Following discussion, the Council determined to revise the language in Paragraph (1)(e) as follows:
 - (1) Every applicant for licensure as an electrologist by examination shall demonstrate to the Council that the applicant:
 (e) Has successfully completed the requirements of an <u>Council-approved pre-licensure</u> electrolysis training program consisting of 120 hours academic training and a minimum of 200 hours of practical application <u>for the epilator-only training program or the combined epilator, laser, and light-based training program consistent with the requirements of Rule 64B8-53.002, F.A.C.</u>
- 9 Ms. Jolynn Greenhalgh moved to approve all proposed changes to the rule language presented, 10 as amended. Ms. Sarah Gray seconded the motion, which carried 4/0.
- 11 Ms. Jolynn Greenhalgh moved the proposed rule language would not have an adverse impact
- on small business nor have an economic impact on government or any other entity in excess of
- 13 \$200,000 within one year of the rule being implemented. Ms. Sarah Gray seconded the motion,
- 14 which carried 4/0.

- 15 Ms. Jolynn Greenhalgh moved the proposed rule language should not be designated as a minor
- violation for first time offenses. Ms. Sarah Gray seconded the motion, which carried 4/0.
- 17 **ADJOURNMENT**
- 18 Time: 11:45pm