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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
COUNCIL OF LICENSED MIDWIFERY  

APPLICATION CHECKLIST FOR LICENSURE 
 

This checklist is a guide to assist you in submitting the required documentation to determine licensure eligibility.  Please make a 
copy of all documentation for your records, prior to mailing the originals to the department. Your application will be reviewed within 
30 days from receipt of your application and fees you will be notified via mail of your application status.   
 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE!: 
 
Effective July 1, 2009, section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall 
refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant 
has been: 
 
• Convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to,  regardless of adjudication, a felony under chapter 409, 

chapter 817,  chapter 893, 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970, or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396, unless the  sentence and any 
subsequent period of probation for such conviction or  pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the 
application;  

• Terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to s. 409.913, unless the applicant has been in 
good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent 5 years; 

• Terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any 
other state Medicaid program or the federal Medicare program, unless the applicant has been in good standing with a 
state Medicaid program or the federal Medicare program for the most recent 5 years and the termination occurred at 
least 20 years prior to the date of the application. 

 
Basic Documentation:  

 Complete application, please print clearly or type. 
 FEE: Cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Department of Health 

o Licensure by Examination (Total $705.00) 
• Application Fee $200.00 (non-refundable) 
• Licensure Fee $500.00  
• Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00 

o License by Endorsement (Total $955.00) 
• Application Fee $200.00 (non-refundable) 
• Endorsement Fee $250.00 
• Licensure Fee $500.00  
• Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00 

 Complete the “Confidential and Exempt from Public Records Disclosure” form.  
 Complete the “Proof of Liability Coverage” form. 
 Complete the “Emergency Back-Up Plan for Licensed Midwifery Patients” form.  
 High School Diploma or Equivalent  
 Proof of 2 hours of prevention of medical errors 
 Proof of 1 hour of HIV (Human Immunodeficiency Virus)  
 Documentation/written explanation/court documents for “Yes” answers on #17-31 of application 
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Based on one of the below licensure methods, additional documents are required.   
 
 Examination – Based on Florida Approved Midwifery Training Program: 

 Official transcript from an (Florida) approved midwifery training program which includes: 
• all courses successfully completed 
• date of graduation  
• degree, certificate or diploma granted  

 Official documentation mailed directly from North American Registry of Midwives’ (NARM) certifying a passing 
exam score. 

 
Endorsement – Based on another State License:  

 Official verification of certificate or license to practice midwifery in another state, submitted to our office directly 
from the issuing state.  At least one license or certificate must be current, valid and unrestricted 

 Copy of the other state’s laws and rules under which the certificate or license was issued 
 Official certificate or diploma from a midwifery program approved by the certifying body of the state in which it was 

located or an authenticated copy of that certificate or diploma  
 Official transcript from the midwifery program which documents classroom instructions and clinical training 
 Evidence of a passing score on the licensure examination (North American Registry of Midwives NARM) 
 Evidence of successful completion of an approved 4-month pre-licensure midwifery training program (please see 

additional requirements)  
 
Endorsement – Based on Foreign Trained: 

 Valid certificate or diploma from either a foreign institution of medicine or a foreign school of midwifery  
 Certified translation of the certificate or diploma earned from a foreign institution of medicine or foreign school of 

midwifery 
 Document which renders the foreign trained applicant eligible to practice medicine or midwifery in the country in 

which that document was issued 
 Certified translation of the certificate, diploma or license which renders the foreign trained applicant eligible to 

practice medicine or midwifery in the country from which the diploma or certificate was awarded  
 Clarification of the existence of any deviation as to how the applicant’s name appears on the face of documents in 

support of this application 
 Evidence of a passing score on the licensure examination  
 Evidence of successful competition of an approved 4-month pre-licensure midwifery training program (please see 

additional requirements)  
 
Approved 4-Month Pre-Licensure Training Program:  
Applicants who received education and training outside of Florida are required to take a 4-Month Pre-Licensure Course by 
an approved Florida program.  To establish educational eligibility for acceptance into the required 4-month pre-licensure 
course may do so through one of the following: 

• Have your education reviewed for substantial equivalency through the use of an approved Education 
Credentialing Agency.  The following Agencies are currently approved: 

o International Credentialing Associates, Inc. 
o Josef Silny and Associates, Inc. 

• Receive determination of substantial equivalency through the Department of Health, Council of Licensed 
Midwifery by submitting the following: 

o Completed Application for 4-Month Pre-Licensure Course 
o $100.00 Application Fee (Non-Refundable) 

 
All candidates wishing to take the examination must apply directly to the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM).  
Please contact NARM’s testing center at 1-888-353-7089 for examination application and information.  

 
All fees must accompany the application for processing.  The application is valid for only one year.  If the application is 
not completed within one year, a new application, documentation and fess will be required again.  Should an applicant be 
deemed ineligible for licensure, the application fee is non-refundable.   
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WHERE TO SEND APPLICATION AND DOCUMENTATION  

Where to send the application: The original application plus fees (cashiers check or money order) and supporting 
documentation should be sent in the same envelope to:  

Department of Health 
Council of Licensed Midwifery 
Post Office Box 6330 
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6330 
    

The use of this address will ensure the receipt of the application by the office where the fees will be processed. The 
application and supporting documentation will then be logged in and forwarded to the Council office.  

Where to send supporting documentation not sent with the application: Any additional documentation, sent either by 
yourself or by another individual for you, which was not submitted with the original application, should be mailed to the 
following address:  

Council of Licensed Midwifery  
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C06      
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3256 

 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION  

 

The following instructions are numbered so that they correspond with the numbered sections of the application. Each 
instruction gives specific information regarding the corresponding section of the application. It is recommended that you 
maintain a copy of the instructions and application should you need to refer to them during the application process. A 
response must be provided in each section. If a question does not pertain to you indicate "N/A" in that section. All 
questions with "YES/NO" answers must have either "YES" or "NO" marked. No other response is acceptable.  

ADDITIONAL SPACE NOTE: If any of the sections in the application do not contain sufficient space for the requested 
information, use an additional page or the reverse side of the application page on which the question is located.  Always 
number the additional information with the corresponding number of the question on the application.  

1 -Names:  List your full last name. Type a hyphenated last name in the same space.  A hyphenated last name will be 
recognized by the first letter of the first name (i.e.) Diaz-Balart will be filed under Diaz.  List your full first name, no 
nicknames or shortened versions.  List your full middle name, if you have one. If you have two, type them in the same 
space. If you do not have a middle name please indicate N/A.  

2-6 - List your Date of Birth, Place of Birth, Home/Work Telephone Number and E-Mail Address.  

7 - Mailing address: This should be the address where you will receive correspondence we send regarding your file.  

8 – Physical/Primary Practice Address:  This should be the address where you are currently practicing or where you can 
be physically located.  NOTE:  Do not list P.O. Boxes.  In the event that either of your addresses changes during the 
application process, submit the new address(s) immediately.  

9 -Name Changes: If you have ever changed your name by marriage or other court action, you must submit legal 
documentation of the change with your application (if you have been married more than once all marriage and divorce 
documents must be submitted.) List your maiden name in the space provided.  NOTE: If you use any names other than 
your legal name, but have not legally changed your name, list such name(s) in the space provided under "other" in this 
section.  If you are married but use a maiden name professionally, please indicate this.  

10 - Response to this section is voluntary.  

11 - List your U.S. Citizenship. If No, you must provide your alien number.  

12 - Provide the name, location, dates attended and degree earned of where you attended high school or where you 
received your general equivalency diploma.   
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13 - Provide the name, location, dates attended and degree earned of the midwifery school(s) you attended.  Submit a 
notarized copy of the diploma.  If the degree is in any language other than English it must be accompanied by a certified 
translation of that degree.  

14 - Provide the name, location, dates attended and degree earned for all post-secondary, health care, and/or medical 
education training. Provide a copy of the diploma.  If the degree is in any language other than English it must be 
accompanied by a certified translation of that degree. List the programs chronologically starting with the first program 
attended and ending with the last (or current) program attended.   

15 - Staff Privileges. Provide the name, location, type of privilege, chief of staff and dates of service chronologically 
starting with your first position and ending with the last (or current) position.  
 
16 - If you HAVE EVER BEEN issued a license, full or temporary, to practice as a midwife, health care provider and/or 
medical doctor in the United States, list the license(s) in this section. NOTE:  You are responsible for contacting all of the 
states listed to request verification. The state you are/were licensed in must send the verification form directly to the 
Council of Licensed Midwifery at the address on the form. Some states charge a verification fee. See the attached 
Licensure Verification form.  
Column One:  List the state which issued the license, standard two letter postal abbreviations are acceptable. 
Column Two:  List the month and year the license was issued.  Confirm this date with that state Board. 
Column Three:  Indicate how the license was issued: by endorsement (END), state exam (EXAM), reciprocity 
(RECIP/LIST STATE), as applicable.  If issued by some other means, type (OTHER) and explain in full on additional 
space.   
Column Four: List current status of license(s) and the respective number(s).  Denote as either active(ACT) or inactive 

(INACT). If in another status, list (OTHER) and explain on additional space.  
 
17 - 19 - Answer "YES" or "NO". Provide copies of ALL documents if your answer is "YES".  Note: The 4 month pre-
licensure course must be verified by at least one of the following: An official transcript which includes course titles, grades 
received and dates of the program, an original letter on letterhead stationary from the director of the program which states 
the applicant successfully completed the pre-licensure course, the grades earned and the dates of attendance, or a 
certificate stating the successful completion of the pre-licensure course and the dates of attendance, signed by the 
director of the program.  

20 – If you answer YES, NARM must provide documentation directly to the Council office stating you have passed.  

21 - 27 - If your answer is "YES", submit a statement for that answer and provide documentation as requested on the 
application form.  

28 - If yes, please provide an explanation on a separate sheet.   You must also submit CERTIFIED copies of all pertinent 
court/arrest documents, including arrest report, official charges, restoration of civil rights (if applicable) and current 
disposition. 

 
29 - If yes, provide an explanation on a separate sheet.  You must also direct the Medicaid program to submit all pertinent 

documentation directly to the Board office. 
 
30 - If yes, provide an explanation on a separate sheet.  You must also direct the state Medicaid program or the federal 

Medicare program to submit all pertinent documentation directly to the Board office. 
 
31 - If you have worked in any health care profession within the past 3 years fill in the place of employment, complete 
mailing address, and beginning and ending dates of employment.  Month and year are acceptable.  Mail the Employment 
Verification Form (if employment was within the United States) to your employers and allow appropriate time for 
Department receipt.  

32 -This section of the application must be completed. The applicant's name must be printed in the first blank and 
signed in the second blank. This section will be copied and used as a release of information when needed; therefore, the 
signature must be a full signature to be acceptable.   

 
You must notify us immediately of any occurrences which would change or affect in any way, an answer or 
response you have given in the application.  Failure to do so could result in the denial of your application or 
revocation of your license. 
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CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS 
DISCLOSURE* 

 
Florida Department of Health 

Council of Licensed Midwifery Application 
 
 

Name:____________________________________________________ 
Last    First    Middle 

 
Social Security Number:____________________________________ 

 
If questions 1-4 are answered YES, explain in full on a separate sheet of paper.  You must make a statement that 
includes, but is not limited to, the date(s), location(s), specific circumstances, practitioners and/or treatment involved.  If 
you have been under treatment for emotional/mental illness, chemical dependency, etc., you must request that each 
practitioner, hospital, and program involved in your treatment submit a full, detailed report of such to the Council office.  
1. a. In the last five years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired practitioner  

program for treatment of a diagnosed mental disorder or impairment?  [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

b. In addition, do you hold a valid document from a foreign country authorizing you to practice medicine in that 
country? If yes, submit official documentation.      [  ] Yes  [  ] No 

2. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed physical disorder that 
has impaired your ability to practice midwifery?         [  ] Yes  [  ] No 

 
3. In the last five years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter into, or participated in any drug or alcohol 

recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment of drug or alcohol abuse that occurred within the 
last five years?         [  ] Yes  [  ] No 

 
4. a. In the last five years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a diagnosed substance-

related (alcohol/drug) disorder, if you were previously in such a program, did you suffer a relapse within the last 
five years?         [  ] Yes  [  ] No 

 
b. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed substance-related 
(alcohol/drug) disorder that has impaired your ability to practice midwifery within the past five years? 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 
 
* This page is exempt from public records disclosure. The Department of Health is required and authorized to collect Social Security 
Numbers relating to applications for professional licensure pursuant to Title 42 USCA § 666 (a)(13). For all professions regulated under 
chapter 456, Florida Statutes, the collection of Social Security Numbers is required by section 456.013 (1)(a), Florida 

 
 

Division of Medical Quality Assurance 
Council of Licensed Midwifery 

 PO Box 6330 • Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3257 

Website:  www.flhealthsource.com/ 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
COUNCIL OF LICENSED MIDWIFERY 

Post Office Box 6330 
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6330 

(850) 245-4161 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1.   Last Name                                                 First Name                                        Middle Name 

 

2.   Date of Birth 

 

3.   Place of Birth (City, State, Country) 

 

4.   Home Telephone Number 

      (          ) 

5.   Work Telephone Number 

      (         ) 

6.   E-mail Address: 
______________________________________________________________________ 

      Do you prefer to receive correspondence by e-mail?   [  ] Yes  [  ] No  

7.   Mailing Address: 

      _____________________________________ 

      _____________________________________ 

 

8.   Physical Address: 

      _____________________________________ 

      _____________________________________ 

9.    Name Changes or Aliases:          (If yes, please list below)                                            [  ] Yes  [  ] No   

       Maiden Name:                                               Other: 
 
10. We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance 

with Section 60-3, Uniform Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978) 43 FR 38295 (August 
25, 1978).  This information is gathered for statistical purposes only and does not affect your candidacy 
for licensure in any way. 

       Sex:                       [   ] Female    [   ]Male 
       Ethnic Origin:       [   ] White      [   ] Black    [   ] Hispanic    [   ] Asian/Pacific Islander    [   ] Native 

American 
                                     [   ] Other _________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR MIDWIFERY LICENSURE 
[   ] Examination $705.00 (1010)  [  ] Endorsement - Another State License $955.00 (1030) 

                                                                 [  ] Endorsement - Foreign Trained  $955.00 (1030) 

 

 

 

    

Would you be willing to provide health services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical 
assistance teams during times of emergency or major disaster?                                         [   ] Yes [   ] No 
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11. HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION OR EQUIVALENCY  

Name and Location of School  Dates Attended  Degree  
   

12. MIDWIFERY EDUCATION  
Name and Location of School  Dates Attended  Degree  

   

   

   

13. POST-SECONDARY, HEALTHCARE OR MEDICAL EDUCATION    (does not apply indicate N/A)  

Name of Institution  Full Mailing Address  Dates Attended  Degree  
    

    

    

    

14. LIST HOSPITALS WHERE YOU HAVE HELD STAFF PRIVILEGES (does not apply indicate N/A)  

Name of Institution  Mailing Address  Type of Privileges  Chief of Staff  Dates of Service  

     

     

     

15. STATE LICENSURE: List all states that you are or have ever been licensed in as a midwife, health 
care   provider, and/or medical doctor. Give area of licensure, license number, date of issuance and 
method such as examination, endorsement, grand-fathered, reciprocity, etc. Does not apply indicate N/A.  

State/Country  Date  Type of License  License Number  Method  
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Pursuant to Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes, the following questions are being 
asked.  If you answer yes to any of the following questions, explain on a separate sheet 
providing accurate details and submit copies of supporting documentation. 

Yes No 

27.1      (a) Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, 
regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S. (relating to social and 
economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S. (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 
893, F.S. (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony 
offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction?  (If you responded “no”, skip to # 7.2.) 
 

  

(b)  If “yes” to 7.1.a., have you successfully completed a drug court program for a 
felony offense that resulted in the plea being withdrawn or charges dismissed?  (If 
“yes”, please provide supporting documentation) 

  

QUESTIONS 16 through 19 MUST BE ANSWERED YES OR NO  YES  NO  
17. a. Do you hold a valid certificate or diploma from a foreign institution of medicine?  

 
b. In addition, do you hold a valid document from a foreign country authorizing you to 
practice medicine in that country? If yes, submit official documentation.  

  

  

17.     Do you hold a valid certificate from a midwifery program offered in another state or country 
bearing the seal of the institution, or otherwise authenticated, which renders you eligible to 
practice midwifery in the country or state in which it was issued? If yes, submit official 
documentation.  

  

18.      Have you successfully completed an approved 4 month pre-licensure course in Florida? If 
yes, submit official documentation of a passing score. See instructions.  

  

19.     Have you successfully completed the licensed midwifery examination? If yes, request official 
documentation be sent directly from NARM of a passing score.  

  

Questions 20 - 26 must be substantiated by either official documents sent directly to the Council 
office from the respective state licensing board or official copies of court records.  A YES answer to 

any of these questions is NOT an automatic cause for denial of licensure. 
 

20.     Have you ever been notified to appear before any licensing agency for a hearing on a 
complaint of any nature, including, but not limited to, a charge of violation of the midwifery 
and/or medical practice act(s), for unprofessional or unethical conduct?  

  

21.      Have you ever had midwifery or other health care license acted on, revoked, suspended or 
had any disciplinary action taken in any state, territory or country?  

  

22.      Have you ever had midwifery, medical or other health care application for licensure denied 
by any state board or other governmental agency of any state, territory or country?  

  

23.      Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest 
to, a crime in any jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense?  You must include all 
misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was withheld by the court so that you would 
not have a record of conviction.  Driving under the influence or driving while impaired is not 
a minor traffic offense for purposes of this question.  

 
          If the answer to question 24 above is “yes” then answer the following questions: 
           a. Does the violation involve allegations of driving under the influence of or driving while 

impaired by drugs or alcohol? 
            
           b. Does the violation involve allegations of sexual misconduct, sexual batter, lewd or 

lascivious conduct, indecent exposure or any crime involving sexual activity?  
 

  

  

  

24.      Have you ever been arrested or criminally or civilly charged with any intentional or negligent 
action related to use or misuse of drugs, alcohol, or illegal chemical substances?   

  

25.      Have you ever had any judgments entered against you related to the practice of midwifery or 
any other health care field?  

  

26.      Have you ever been sued for malpractice?    
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(c) If “yes” to 7.1.a., for felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 
15 years before the date of application? 
 

  

(d) If “yes” to 7.1.a., for felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years 
before the date of application, except for felonies of the third degree under Section 
893.13(6), Florida Statutes? 

 

  

(e) If “yes” to 7.1.a., for felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), 
Florida Statutes, has it been more than 5 years before the date of application? 

 

  

27.2     (a) Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, 
regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to 
controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, 
welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues)? 
 

  

(b.) If “yes” to 7.2.a., has it been more than 15 years before the date of application 
since the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or 
plea ended? 

 

  

27.3     (a.) Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program 
pursuant   to Section 409.913, Florida Statutes?  (If “No”, do not answer 7.3.b.) 
 

  

(b.) If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing 
with the Florida Medicaid Program for the most recent five years? 

 

  

27.4      (a.)  Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures 
established by the state, from any other state Medicaid Program? (If “No”, do not 
answer 7.4.b. or 7.4.c.) 

 

  

(b.)  Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most 
recent five years? 

 

  

(c.)  Did the termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application? 
 

  

27.5      Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human 
Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities? 

 

  

27.6      On or before July 1, 2009, were you enrolled in an educational or training program 
in the profession in which you are seeking licensure that was recognized by the 
Board of Acupuncture or Department of Health?  (If “yes”, please provide official 
documentation verifying your enrollment status.) 
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31.    LIST ALL EMPLOYMENT IN ANY HEALTH CARE PROFFESION FOR THE PAST  
THREE YEARS (does not apply indicate N/A)  

Place of Employment  Full Mailing Address  Dates of Employment  
 
 
 
 

  

 
 
 
 

  

   

 
 
 
 

  

 
32. SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 
 
 I, (Print your name) ________________________________________________________________, state that I am 
the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documentation, that said application and any 
supporting documentation are true and accurate and that the attached photograph is a true likeness of myself.  
 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions, organizations, references, personal physicians, employers (past and 
present), business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities 
(local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Department of Health any information, files or records requested by 
the Department in connection with the processing of this application.  I further authorize the Department of Health 
to release to the organizations, individuals and/or groups listed above any information which is material to my 
application.  
 
I will comply with all requirements for licensure renewal in effect at the time of license renewal including 
submission of appropriate renewal fees and continuing education requirements.  
 
I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely and without 
reservations of any kind. I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. 
Should I knowingly make a false statement in writing with the intent to mislead a public servant in the performance 
of their official duty, I shall be guilty of a misdemeanor in the second degree punishable as provided in Chapter 
775.082, 775.083, or 775.084, Florida Statutes.  
 
_______________________________________________________                     _______________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                                                                                           Date Signed  
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PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY COVERAGE  

 
 
NAME:            
 
LICENSE NUMBER: MW         
 
Please choose one of the following:  
 
( ____ ) I hereby certify that I have professional liability coverage in an amount not less  

than $100,000 per claim, with a minimum annual aggregate of not less than  
$300,000 from an authorized insurer. (I have attached copy of my insurance certificate) 

 
( ____ ) I hereby certify that I am exempt from demonstrating financial responsibility  

 because I fall into one of the categories listed below (circle):  
 
(a.) I practice exclusively as an officer, employee, or agent of the federal government, or 
of the state of its agencies or subdivisions.  

 
(b.) I have an inactive license, and do not practice in the state of Florida.  

 
(c.) I practice only in conjunction with my teaching duties at an approved  
midwifery school.  

 
(d.) I do not practice in the state of Florida, but I will submit proof of professional  
liability coverage at least 15 days prior to practicing midwifery in this state  

 
(e.) I have no malpractice exposure in the state of Florida.  

 
I affirm that these statements are true and correct and recognize that providing false information 
may result in disciplinary action or criminal penalties as provided in Sections 409.908(12)(c), 
456.048(2), 467.014, Florida Statutes, and Rule 64B24-7.013, Florida Administrative Code.  
 
____________________________________________       ________________________ 
Signature of licensee (required)     Date of signature  
 

Council of Licensed Midwifery  
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330  
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Pursuant to Section 467.017, Florida Statutes, F. A. C., a midwife is required to file with the department upon initial 
application and each biennial renewal, an emergency care plan that shall be implemented as needed in the practice 
setting.  

EMERGENCY BACK UP PLAN FOR LICENSED MIDWIFERY PATIENTS  
Department of Health -Council of Licensed Midwifery – PO Box 6330, Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330  

❑ Homebirth ❑ Birth Center ❑Hospital  
(Midwives practicing in facilities with a standard emergency care plan, please attach a copy of your facility plan or complete the following for 
your facility.)  
 
Midwife's Name: ______________________________________________________________________________________    _    
Home Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________________       _ 
Home Phone: (     )_______ -________ Office Phone: (      ) _______ - ________ Pager: (      ) _______ -______       _        
Business/Facility Name: _________________________________________________     Phone (      ) _______ -_____    __ _  
Address: _______________________________________________________________________________    _____________     _     
   
EMERGENCY TRANSFER HOSPITAL:  
(List first and second option in your practice area -please check box if facility has NICU/Perinatal services)  
1. Hospital: _________________________________               E. R. #: (       ) ______-________  L&D #: ______-_______   _       
 Address: ________________________________________________________________           ❑NICU ❑ Perinatal Unit  
2. Hospital: _________________________________               E. R. #: (      ) ______-________  L&D #: ______-_______   _  
    Address: ________________________________________________________________         ❑NICU ❑ Perinatal Unit  
 
PLAN FOR CONSULTATION WITH OTHER HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS AND EMERGENCY TRANSFER:  
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________          _      
____________________________________________________________________________________________________     _     _ 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________     ____     ___ 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________     __     _ 
 
Name of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) 911 Transport Entity:  
❑ City ___________________________________________ ❑ County __________________________________________  _ 
 
BACKUP PHYSICIAN ARRANGEMENT: (if any) 
 
Physician Name: ___________________________________________________               Phone: (       ) _______ -_______  _  
 
Address: ___________________________________________________________________________________________    __ _ 

 
AFFIRMATION:  
In the event complications arise during my patient's pregnancy, labor, delivery or postpartum, I will implement the 
Emergency Care Plan individualized for each patient accepted into my care, according to the guidelines contained 
herein. I will consult, refer or transfer to the appropriate health care facility as medically necessary, and provide 
emergency management. In order to facilitate the safe transfer of services and to provide continued supportive care 
to the extent that I am able, I will accompany my patient during transfer to provide relevant patient data and 
documentation and give report to the accepting provider.  
 
Midwife's Signature: __________________________________________________________ Date: _________________  
 
Form: DH-MQA 1077  Rule 64B24-2.003 
 


	PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY COVERAGE
	NAME:
	DH-MQA 1078  Rule 64B7-7.013
	EMERGENCY BACK UP PLAN FOR LICENSED MIDWIFERY PATIENTS
	EMERGENCY TRANSFER HOSPITAL:

