New Reporting Requirements for Sexually Transmitted Diseases(STDs)

Did you know that there are changes in STD reporting requirements this year?

Herpes simplex virus (HSV) in neonates and infants to 6 months old. Human papillomavirus (HPV) in neonates and children through 12 years of age.

Reporting elements now specified:

- Name
- Complete address
- Telephone number
- Date of birth
- Sex
- Race and ethnicity
- Social security number
- Diagnosis and treatment
- Reporting provider's name, address and telephone number Florida Administrative Code (Ch. 64D-3) describes the 72 diseases and conditions that all practitioners are required to report as defined in Section 384 of the Florida Statutes. Your local CHD can provide you with the new form DH 720 upon request - to report STD information, only! You can choose to fax the written report and should include the information listed above. (HIV and Hepatitis are reported according to different rules; see other side.

Questions about STD reporting? Access online services and locate your local County Health Department STD representative:

Go to www.doh.state.fl.us
From the far left column, select Diseases and Conditions
From the alphabet list, choose S
Click on Sexually Transmitted Diseases
Click on Clinic information
On the map, click on the county of residence of the patient to be reported
Select a clinic
Mail/fax to the address shown (check for alternate address at end of form STD Case Reporting-Private)

Did you know that there are also other disease control reporting changes?

Hepatitis B Screening

Providers are now required to screen pregnant women at the first prenatal visit and, if considered high-risk, again at 28-32 weeks.

For information on reporting of Hepatitis contact your local health department.

Finally there is another very important change: HIV in Pregnancy

Providers are now required to counsel and offer the pregnant woman an HIV test.

For information on reporting HIV call: 850.245.4430

Florida Department of Health 4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin # A-19 Tallahassee, FL 32399-1716 Tel: (850) 245-4303 Fax: (850) 414-8103

