skip to sub-navigation skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to sub-navigation skip to content
Please note: Florida has a very broad public records law. Most written communications to or from state officials regarding state business are public records available to the public and media upon request. Your e-mail communications may therefore be subject to public disclosure

The Florida Board of Opticianry plays a leading role in the ever-changing health care environment through dialogue with the public, the legislature, academia, and the community.  The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five members are licensed opticians and two members are laypersons. Despite the expiration of their term, Board members continue to serve until they have been replaced.

John B. Girdler
Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Optician
Term: 7/23/13-10/31/14

Christopher B. Mone
Weston, Florida
Licensed Optician
Term: 7/23/13 - 10/31/15

Stanley Davis
Tallahassee, Florida
Licensed Optician
Term: 7/23/13 - 10/31/13

Byron D. Shannon
Ocala, Florida
Licensed Optician
Term: 7/23/13 - 10/31/15

Antonio Feroce
Orlando, FL
Licensed Optician
Term: 3/16/10 - 10/31/13

Irene Stavros, RDH
Miami, FL
Term: 7/23/13-10/31/14

David Calvo, Chair
Miami, FL
Term: 7/23/13-10/31/16

Since this Board serves as a "quasi-judicial" entity on licensure issues, contact with the members may cause the members to be recused from administrative proceedings. Staff will direct inquiries, when appropriate to the full Board for review. All correspondence and inquiries should be directed to the:

Board of Opticianry
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C08
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3258

Phone: (850) 245-4474
Fax: (850 921-5389

Organizational Structure of the Board

The Department of Health's Division of Medical Quality Assurance serves as the principle administrative support unit for the Board. The Board is supported by a full-time professional staff based in Tallahassee, and its regulatory functions are funded in full by fees paid by its licensees. Board members are appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. Unless filling a vacancy, members of the Board generally serve two four-year terms. Despite the expiration of a term, Board members can continue to serve until they have been either replaced or reappointed or serve the maximum of ten years as governed by s. 457.103, F.S. To learn more about becoming a member of the Board, visit the Governor’s Appointments Office website or email

Board Staff

Sue Foster, Executive Director - Chief administrative officer for the Board. Responsibilities include legislative and budget issues.
Robin McKenzie, Program Operations Administrator: prepares meeting agendas, answers specific questions regarding the laws and rules, responsible for board policy.
Ashley Tranquille, Regulation Specialist II: processes applications, prepares board materials, and answers correspondence.