Application and License Requirements
Apply Online for Licensure
: Eliminate mailing time and expedite your application! Apply online, using your user id and password, and receive a response within 10-13 business days!
If you are applying for re-exam, you can not use the on-line application. You must submit a paper application through the mail. Please fill out the Re-Examination Application
Apply online or mail a completed Application for Licensure Examination and required fees. The application must be submitted online or postmarked at least 90 days in advance of the examination date. To meet the examination deadline, the application must be complete at least 60 days in advance of the examination date.
The department shall certify eligible for the licensure examination each applicant who:
- Has completed the application form and remitted the required fees;
- Is not less than 18 years of age;
- Is a graduate of an accredited high school or possesses a certificate of equivalency of a high school education;
- Successfully passed the National Opticianry Competency Examination within three years of application or has current ABO certification;
- Successfully passed the Contact Lens Registry Examination within three years of application or has current NCLE certification; and
- Has completed one of the following:
- Received an associate degree, or equivalent, in opticianry from an accredited school; or
- Is licensed to practice opticianry in another state and has actively practiced in such state for more than 3 of the last 5 years; or
- Has actively practiced opticianry in a state in which licensure is not required for more than 5 of the last 7 years and provides tax records, business records, affidavits, etc. documenting such; or
- Has registered as an apprentice with the department and completed 6,240 hours of training under their registered sponsor(s). These requirements must be met within 5 years after the date of registration.
If an applicant fails to complete the application within 12 months of its receipt in the Board office, he or she shall be required to apply as an initial applicant.
Licensure Requirements following receipt of a passing score on the opticianry licensure examination:
- Original certificate documenting completion of a two-hour initial licensure laws and rules course from a board approved laws and rules course provider;
- Copy of certificate documenting completion of a board approved two-hour continuing education course relating to the prevention of medical errors; and
- Payment of initial licensure fee within one year of notification of successful passage of the licensure examination.
For approved provider course information visit CE Broker
- Click on the “Florida Department of Health” link
- Click on the “Official Course and Provider Search” link
Application Deadlines and Exam Dates
The Florida Opticianry Licensure Examination consists of three parts:
- National Opticianry Competency Examination by the American Board of Opticianry (ABO)
- Contact Lens Registry Examination by the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE)
Note: Proof of successful completion of the above two parts are required prior to taking the National Optician’s Practical Examination.
- National Optician’s Practical Examination by the National Commission of State Opticianry and Regulatory Boards (NCSORB)
Prior to applying to take the NCSORB National Optician’s Practical Examination you must successfully pass the National Opticianry Competency Examination and the Contact Lens Registry Examination through the American Board of Opticianry and National Contact Lens Examiners.
American Board of Opticianry and National Contact Lens Examiners
10341 Democracy Lane
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 691-8356 or (800) 296-1379
The ABO and NCLE examinations must be successfully completed within three years preceding application for the licensure examination. If the ABO and NCLE examinations were successfully completed more than three years preceding application for the licensure examination, the applicant must have maintained current ABO and NCLE certificates by having completed continuing education courses.
Apprenticeship Program Requirements:
- Apply online or submit a completed application.
- Submit the registration fee.
- Submit a completed sponsor registration form.
- Submit a copy of high school diploma, transcript or equivalency certificate.
- Submit a 2x2 photograph.
- An approval letter will notify the applicant of their Apprentice Optician number and starting date.
- An Apprentice Optician is required to complete a two hour Board-approved Apprentice/Sponsor Orientation Course and submit the original certificate of attendance to the board office within one year of registration with Department.
- Apprentice Opticians may perform opticianry tasks only under the direct supervision and physical presence of a licensed Optician, Ophthalmologist or Optometrist licensed under the laws of this state. An optician must be licensed in this state for at least one year before providing supervision.
- A sponsor may only supervise 2 Apprentices at any given time.
- An Apprentice may have 2 sponsors, a primary and a secondary sponsor, and may only work at the location(s) specified on the application.
- The registered sponsor is responsible for the completion, filing, signature and verification of the Apprenticeship Sponsor Attestation Form to the department within six months of the apprentice's completion of the program.
- If an Apprentice terminates apprenticeship with a sponsor or the sponsor is no longer providing training to an apprentice, the sponsor shall submit a completed Apprenticeship Sponsor Attestation Form to the department within 30 days from the date of termination.
- Sponsors are required to keep copies of all apprentice records for a period of 6 years or one year subsequent to the date the apprentice is licensed as an optician, and pursuant to Chapter 64B12- 6.009, F.A.C., the sponsor shall provide copies of the apprentice’s time records to the Board, upon request.
- An apprenticeship shall consist of 6,240 hours of specified training, completed within 5 years after the apprentice’s first registration with the Department. Each credit hour earned at a board approved school of Opticianry shall count as 86.67 apprenticeship hours.
|Examination Fee (Paid to NCSORB)
|Re-Examination Fee (Paid to NCSORB)
||$275.00 per part, when taken separately
Initial Licensure Fees:
|If licensed in the first year of the biennium (Every odd numbered year)
If licensed in the second year of the biennium (Beginning on 01/01 every even numbered year
and your license expires 12/31 of the same year
it was issued)
Apprentice Registration Fee:
|Board Certification Application Fee:
Make checks or money orders payable to the "Department of Health." Applicants and licensees are responsible for the fees outlined in applicable board or department rule at the time an application is received.