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HOW TO COMPLETE A PAIN-MANAGEMENT CLINIC 
REGISTRATION FORM 

 
The following instructions apply to the registration form. 
 
 
THE REGISTRATION MUST BE TYPED OR PRINTED IN BLUE OR BLACK INK AND A SEPARATE APPLICATION 
MUST BE COMPLETED FOR EACH PAIN-MANAGEMENT CLINIC.   
 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION  
 
Sections 458.3265 and 459.0137, Florida Statutes, provide that any publicly or privately owned facility that advertises in 
any medium for any type of pain-management services or where in any month a majority of patients are prescribed 
opioids, benzodiazepines, barbiturates, or carisopropol for the treatment of chronic nonmalignant pain must register with 
the Department of Health (Department).  Your business is exempt from registration if: 

 Licensed as a facility under Chapter 395, Florida Statutes;  
 Majority of physicians who provide services in the clinic primarily provide surgical services;  
 Owned by a publicly held corporation whose shares are traded on a national exchange or on the over-the-counter 

market and whose total assets at the end of the corporation’s most recent fiscal quarter exceeded $50 million; 
 Affiliated with an accredited medical school at which training is provided for medical students, residents or fellows; 
 Does not prescribe controlled substances for the treatment of pain; 
 Owned by a corporate entity exempt from federal taxation under 26 U.S.C. s. 501(c)(3); 
 Wholly owned and operated by one or more board-certified anesthesiologists, physiatrists, or neurologists; or 
 Wholly owned and operated by one or more board-certified medical specialists who have also completed 

fellowships in pain medicine approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or the 
American Osteopathic Association, or who are also board-certified in pain medicine by a board approved by the 
American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association and perform interventional pain 
procedures of the type routinely billed using surgical codes. 

 
EACH LOCATION MUST BE REGISTERED SEPARATELY REGARDLESS OF WHETHER THE PAIN-MANAGEMENT 
CLINIC IS OPERATED UNDER THE SAME BUSINESS NAME OR MANAGEMENT AS ANOTHER PAIN-
MANAGEMENT CLINIC.   
 
Pain-management clinics must designate a physician responsible for complying with all requirements related to 
registration and operation of the pain-management clinic.  The designated physician must be a medical doctor licensed 
under Chapter 458, F.S. or an osteopathic physician licensed under Chapter 459, F.S., who holds a full, active and 
unencumbered license.  Each pain-management clinic must notify the Department of any change in designated physician 
within 10 days.  Failure to do so may result in a summary suspension of the pain-management clinic’s registration 
certificate as described in s. 456.073(8), F.S. or s. 120.60(6), F.S. 
 
Each physician practicing in a pain-management clinic shall advise the Board of Medicine, in writing, within 10 calendar 
days after beginning or ending his or her practice at a pain-management clinic.   
 
THE DESIGNATED PHYSICIAN MUST PRACTICE IN THE REGISTERED PAIN-MANAGEMENT CLINIC FOR WHICH 
HE/SHE IS RESPONSIBLE.   
 
The pain-management clinic must be inspected annually by the Department unless it is accredited by a nationally 
recognized accrediting agency approved by the Board of Medicine or Osteopathic Medicine.  If the pain-management 
clinic is accredited by one of these agencies, please provide the Department with documentation showing that the 
accreditation is current. 
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SECTION I: OFFICE INFORMATION 
 
1a. Indicate if the pain-management clinic is wholly owned by a physician licensed under Chapter 458 or Chapter 459, 
F.S. or a group of physicians, each of which is licensed under Chapter 458 or 459, F.S.; or is a health care clinic licensed 
under Part X of Chapter 400, F.S. by placing a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ in the box provided.   
 
1b. Indicate if this pain-management clinic has ever been licensed with the Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) 
prior to the submission of this application by placing a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ in the box provided.   
 
1c. If you selected yes for question 1b, indicate the AHCA license number.   
 
1d. Indicate if the pain-management clinic is exempt from licensure with AHCA by placing a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ in the space 
provided.  
 
1e. Indicate if this pain-management clinic has ever been registered with the Department prior to the submission of this 
application by placing a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ in the space provided.   
 
1f. If you answered yes to question 1e, provide the registration number.   
 
2. Provide the pain-management clinic’s corporate or legal name.  
 
3. Provide the ‘Doing Business As’ name, if applicable.   
 
4. Provide the pain-management clinic’s Federal tax identification number (FEIN #). 
 
5. Provide the pain-management clinic’s physical address. 
 
6. Provide the pain-management clinic’s mailing address. 
 
7. Provide the pain-management clinic’s telephone number. 
 
8. Provide the pain-management clinic’s facsimile number. 
 
9. Provide the pain-management clinic’s email address, if applicable. 
 
10. Provide the pain-management clinic’s business operating hours.  Also provide the hours the designated physician is 
present in the pain-management clinics.   
 
11. Provide the names and addresses of any and all pain-management clinic owner(s), principal(s), officer(s), agent(s), 
managing employee(s), affiliated person(s), and practicing physician(s) – use additional sheets of paper if necessary.  If 
an owner(s), principal(s), officer(s), agent(s), managing employee(s) or affiliated person(s) are licensed health care 
practitioners, please indicate the license number in the space provided.  For the purpose of this question, ‘license’ refers 
to a health care license issued by the Department.   
 
IMPORTANT NOTICES (Questions 12-16):  
Applicants for licensure, certification or registration and candidates for examination may be excluded from licensure, 
certification or registration if their felony conviction falls into certain timeframes as established  
in Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes.  If you answer YES to any of the following questions, please  
provide a written explanation for each question including the county and state of each termination or  
conviction, date of each termination or conviction, and copies of supporting documentation to the address  
below. Supporting documentation includes court dispositions or agency orders where applicable. 
12. Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the applicant been 
convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S. 
(relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S. (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S. 
(relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction? (If you 
responded “no”, skip to second question). 
 • If “yes”, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years from the  
 date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? 

• If “yes”, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years from the date of the  
plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? (This question does not 



DH-MQA 1219, 7/15, Rule 64B-7.001, FAC 

apply to felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes). 
• If “yes”, for the felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, has it been more than 5 
years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? 
• If “yes”, has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the 
applicant successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea for the felony offense being 
withdrawn or the charges dismissed? (If “yes”, please provide supporting documentation). 

 
13. Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the applicant been 
convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 
801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396  relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and 
Medicaid issues)? 

• If “yes”, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence and any subsequent 
period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? 
 

14 Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the applicant ever been 
terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to Section 409.913, Florida Statutes? (If “No”, do not 
answer next question).  

• If the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the 
applicant has been terminated but reinstated, has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent,  
managing employee, or affiliated person of the applicant been in good standing with the Florida  
Medicaid Program for the most recent five years? 

 
15 Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of 
the applicant ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established 
by the state, from any other state Medicaid program? (If “No”, do not answer the next two questions). 

• Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of 
the applicant been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years? 
• Did the termination occur at least 20 years before to the date of this application? 
 

16 Is the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the applicant currently listed 
on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General's List of Excluded Individuals 
and Entities. 
 
 
Sections 458.3265 and 459.0137, F.S., provide that the Department shall deny registration to: 
•  Any pain-management clinic that is not fully owned by a physician licensed under Chapter 458 or Chapter 459, F.S. or a 
group of physicians, each of which is licensed under Chapter 458 or 459, F.S., or that is not a health care clinic licensed 
under Part X of Chapter 400, F.S. (Regarding questions 17-19). 
•  Any pain-management clinic owned by or with any contractual or employment relationship with a  
physician: 

 Whose DEA number has ever been revoked. 
 Whose application for a license to prescribe, dispense, or administer a controlled substance has been denied by 

any jurisdiction.  
 Who has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, an offense that 

constitutes a felony for receipt of illicit and diverted drugs, including a controlled substance listed in Schedule I, 
Schedule II, Schedule III, Schedule IV, or Schedule V of s. 893.03, in this state, or any other state, or the United 
States. 

 
 
SECTION II: DESIGNATED PHYSICIAN INFORMATION 

 
20. Provide the physician’s full name. 
 
21. Provide the physician’s Florida MD or DO license number.   
 
22. Provide the physician’s email address, if applicable.  
 
23. Provide the physician’s telephone number.   
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24. Provide the physician’s mailing address (if different than the address for the pain-management clinic).  Note – s. 
458.3265 and s. 459.0137, F.S., require the physician to practice at the pain-management clinic location for which the 
physician has assumed responsibility. 
 
25. Provide the name, address and pain-management clinic registration number for each pain-management clinic being 
overseen by this designated physician.   
 
 
SECTION III: ACCREDITATION OR INSPECTION 
 
Each pain-management clinic must be either accredited with a national accrediting organization approved by the Board of 
Medicine or Osteopathic Medicine or be inspected by a Department inspector.  Indicate the appropriate accreditation or 
inspection.   
 
If you are accredited with an approved nationally recognized accrediting agency, submit a copy of your accreditation 
certificate.   
 
 
SECTION IV:  DESIGNATED PHYSICIAN STATEMENT 
 
After reading this statement, the designated physician must sign and date the application.   
 
Whoever knowingly makes a false statement in writing with the intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of his 
or her official duties shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 
775.083, F.S.   
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APPLICATION FOR AND CHANGES TO PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINIC REGISTRATION 
 

 Registration of pain-management clinic: Initial ($150 Fee Required)    
 Registration of pain-management clinic: Change of ownership ($150 Fee required) – effective date: 

________________ 
 Registration of pain-management clinic: Change of location ($150 Fee required) – effective date: 

__________________ 
 Change in pain-management clinic name only ($25 Fee) – effective date ______________________ 
 New designated physician (No fee) – effective date: _______________________________________ 

  Change from accreditation by national and board approved organizations to inspection (No fee)  
 Change from inspection to accreditation by national and board approved organizations (No fee) 
 Request to withdraw or close registration (No fee) – effective date: ___________________________ 

 
Registration #: _____________ (for changes to existing registrations only – the registration number can be found on 
your registration card)  

SECTION I: OFFICE INFORMATION 
1a. Is the pain-management clinic wholly owned by a physician licensed under Chapter 458 or Chapter 459, F.S. or a 
group of physicians, each of which is licensed under Chapter 458 or 459, F.S.; or is a health care clinic licensed under 
Part X of Chapter 400, F.S.    Yes  No      
1b. Has this pain-management clinic ever been licensed with the Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) under 
Chapter 400, Florida Statutes?        Yes  No   
 
1c. If yes, please provide the license number:  _________ 
 
1d. Is this pain-management clinic exempt from licensure with AHCA?    Yes  No  

 
1e. Has this pain-management clinic ever been registered with the Department of Health? Yes  No   
 
1f. If yes, please provide the registration/license number:  _________ 
 
2. Corporate or Legal Name of Pain-management Clinic:  ___________________________________  

3. Doing Business As Name:  _________________________________________________________  

4. Federal Tax Identification Number (FEI#):  _____________________________________________  

5. Pain-management Clinic Address:  __________________________________________________  
(Street)    (Suite #) 

 ________________________________________________________________________________  
 (City)     (State)    (Zip Code) 
 
6. Mailing Address:  ________________________________________________________________  

(Street)    (Suite #) 
 ________________________________________________________________________________  
 (City)     (State)    (Zip Code) 
 
7. Pain Management Clinic Telephone Number:  (       )  ____________________________________  

8. Pain Management Clinic Fax Number:  (       ) __________________________________________  

9. Pain Management Clinic Email Address, if available:  ____________________________________  
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10. Business Operating Hours:     Hours Designated Physician Present in Clinic:  
Monday   ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm  
Tuesday   ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm 
Wednesday ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm 
Thursday  ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm 
Friday  ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm 
Saturday  ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm 
Sunday   ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm ____ : ____ am/pm to ____ : ____ am/pm 
 
11. Names and addresses of any and all pain-management clinic owner(s), principal(s), officer(s), agent(s), managing 
employee(s) and affiliated person(s) – use additional sheets of paper if necessary.  For the purpose of this question, 
‘license’ refers to a health care license issued by the Department of Health.   
 
Owner(s):  

Name   ______________________________________ 
License Number ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Telephone Number ______________________________________   

 
Principal(s): 

Name   ______________________________________ 
License Number ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Telephone Number ______________________________________   

 
Officer(s): 

Name   ______________________________________ 
License Number ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Telephone Number ______________________________________   

 
Agent(s): 

Name   ______________________________________ 
License Number ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Telephone Number ______________________________________   

 
Managing Employee(s) 

Name   ______________________________________ 
License Number ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Address  ______________________________________ 
Telephone Number ______________________________________   

 
 

Practicing Physician(s) 
Name   ______________________________________ 
License Number ______________________________________ 
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IMPORTANT NOTICE: Applicants for licensure, certification or registration and candidates for examination may be 
excluded from licensure, certification or registration if their felony conviction falls into certain timeframes as established in 
Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes. If you answer YES to any of the following questions, please provide a written 
explanation for each question including the county and state of each termination or conviction, date of each termination or 
conviction, and copies of supporting documentation to the address below. Supporting documentation includes court 
dispositions or agency orders where applicable. 
 
12  Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated 
person of the applicant been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S. (relating to social and  
economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S. (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893,  
F.S. (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in  
another state or jurisdiction? (If you responded “no”, skip to #13.)  
 

Yes  No  
 

12a If “yes” to 12, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 
years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? 
 
12b If “yes” to 12, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years 
from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? (This  
question does not apply to felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a),  
Florida Statutes).  
 
12c If “yes” to 12, for the felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida  
Statutes, has it been more than 5 years from the date of the plea, sentence and  
completion of any subsequent probation? 
 
12d If “yes” to 12, has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee,  
or affiliated person of the applicant successfully completed a drug court program that  
resulted in the plea for the felony offense being withdrawn or the charges dismissed? (If  
“yes”, please provide supporting documentation). 
 

Yes  No  
 
 
Yes  No  
 
 
 
 
Yes  No  
 
 
 
Yes  No  
 

13.  Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated  
person of the applicant been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled 
substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and 
Medicaid issues)? 
 

Yes  No  
 

13a If “yes” to 13, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the 
sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? 
 

Yes  No  
 

14 Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated  
person of the applicant ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid  
Program pursuant to Section 409.913, Florida Statutes? (If “No”, do not answer 15.) 
 

Yes  No  
 

14a If the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated  
person of the applicant has been terminated but reinstated, has the applicant or any  
principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the applicant been in 
good standing with the Florida Medicaid Program for the most recent five years? 
 

Yes  No  
 

15 Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated  
person of the applicant ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals  
procedures established by the state, from any other state Medicaid program? (If “No”, do 
not answer 15a or 15b.) 
 
15a Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated  
person of the applicant been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most  
recent five years? 
 
15b Did the termination occur at least 20 years before to the date of this application? 
 

Yes  No  
 
 
 
 
Yes  No  
 
 
 
Yes  No  
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16 Is the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated  
person of the applicant currently listed on the United States Department of Health and  
Human Services Office of Inspector General's List of Excluded Individuals and Entities? 

Yes  No  

 
The following questions are being asked pursuant to Sections 458.3265(1) and 459.0137(1), F.S.  If you answer 
yes to any of the following questions, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details (including the 
name of the involved party) and submit copies of supporting documentation. 
 
17.  Is the applicant owned by or with any contractual or employment relationship with a 
physician whose DEA number has ever been revoked? 

Yes  No  
 

  
18.  Is the applicant owned by or with any contractual or employment relationship with a 
physician whose application for a license to prescribe, dispense, or administer a 
controlled substance has been denied by any jurisdiction?   

Yes  No  
 

  
19.  Is the applicant owned by or with any contractual or employment relationship with a 
physician who has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless 
of adjudication, an offense that constitutes a felony for receipt of illicit and diverted drugs, 
including a controlled substance listed in Schedule I, Schedule II, Schedule III, Schedule 
IV, or Schedule V of s. 893.03, in this state, any other state, or in the United States?   
 

Yes  No  
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SECTION II: DESIGNATED PHYSICIAN INFORMATION  
 
20. Physician Name:  _______________________________________________________________  

21. Physician’s Florida License Number:  ________________________________________________  

22. Physician’s Email address, if available:  ______________________________________________  

23. Physician’s Telephone Number:  ___________________________________________________  

24. Mailing Address:  _______________________________________________________________  

(Street)    (Suite #) 
 ________________________________________________________________________________  
 (City)     (State)    (Zip Code) 
  
25. List all other pain-management clinics, as defined by statute, currently supervised by this designated physician – use 
additional sheets of paper if necessary. 
 

Name of Pain-Management 
Clinic 

Address (street, city, zip) Pain-Management Clinic 
registration number 

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 

 
SECTION III: ACCREDITATION OR INSPECTION 
 
All pain-management clinics required to be registered pursuant to ss. 458.3265(3) or 459.0137(3), F.S., are to be 
inspected annually by the Department of Health unless the clinic is accredited by a national accrediting agency 
recognized by the Board of Medicine or the Board of Osteopathic Medicine.  Please check the appropriate 
inspection or accrediting agency: 
 
  Inspection by the Department of Health 
 
          ________________________________, a Board approved accrediting organization 
 
If you are accredited with a nationally recognized accrediting agency, submit a copy of your accreditation 
certificate.   
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SECTION IV: DESIGNATED PHYSICIAN STATEMENT  
 
I hereby state that I and the clinic meet all requirements of s. 458.3265 or s. 459.0137, F.S. I agree to notify the 
Department of Health in writing within 10 days of any changes to the registration information. All information provided 
herein is true and correct.   
 
Whoever knowingly makes a false statement in writing with the intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of his 
or her official duties shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 
775.083, F.S.   
 
 
Type name of designated physician: ____________________________________ 
 
Signature of designated physician: ____________________________________ 
 
Date: ______________________ 
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Mailing Instructions 
 
The original application with the applicant’s original signature must be mailed to the Department of Health (faxed copies are not 
acceptable). 
 
Mail application and registration fee to:  
 Department of Health 
 PO Box 6330 
 Tallahassee, FL  32314  
 
Note: Post offices do not accept overnight or express packages.  For faster delivery, Priority Mail (2-3 days) is accepted by post office 
boxes.   
 
Submit any additional documentation not included with the original application to: 
 Department of Health  
 Pain-Management Clinic Registration Program 
 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C03 
 Tallahassee, FL  32399-3253 
 
 


