New Graduates: Important Information to Expedite Licensure
If you expect to soon earn your RRT credentials, it is recommended you only submit your application for RRT. Submitting a CRT application first, then requesting a RRT license results in additional processing that can delay the issuance of your license.
Apply Online for Licensure
: Eliminate mailing time and expedite your application! Apply online, using your user id and password, and receive a faster response!
It is your professional responsibility to read and understand this application package and the enclosed laws and rules governing the practice of respiratory care in Florida before completing your application. If another party is handling your application for you, it is still your responsibility to read, understand, and comply with all requirements for licensure.
Endorsement Licensure Requirements:
Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) OR Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT)
All Applicants Must Submit the Following:
- The applicant holds the “Certified Respiratory Therapist” or the “Registered Respiratory Therapist” credential issued by the National Board for Respiratory Care, or an equivalent credential acceptable to the Board; or
- The applicant holds certification, or the equivalent, to deliver respiratory care in another state and such certification was granted pursuant to requirements determined to be equivalent to, or more stringent than, the requirements in Florida.
- The applicant is not otherwise disqualified by reason of a violation of Chapter 456, or Chapter 468, Part V, Florida Statutes, or the rules promulgated there under.
- The applicant has completed a Board approved 2-hour course in medical error prevention meeting the criteria set forth in rule 64B32-6.006.
Application: An applicant must complete and submit the application, fees and following documentation:
Fees for CRT or RRT: $165 ($50 non-refundable application fee, $110 licensure fee, $5 unlicensed activity fee) (Money order or check, certified or cashier preferred)
- This fee must accompany the application.
- The licensure fee ($115) may be refunded to you if you are denied licensure or if you decide to withdraw your application.
Additional Education Requirement:
Proof of having passed the NBRC exam:A certified respiratory therapist (CRT) or a registered respiratory therapist (RRT) who has passed the NBRC exam must contact the NBRC and have an official letter of verification forwarded to our office. Neither a copy of the NBRC passing scores, a copy of thecredential nor a wallet card will be accepted, only the official letter of verification from the NBRC. Their web-site is www.NBRC.orgor call them at (913) 599-4200.
- Other state licenses you currently hold or have held, regardless of status. You must notify the licensing state and pay any fees required by that state for this service.
- An applicant who has been out of the practice of respiratory care for 2 years or more must complete a Board-approved comprehensive review course in order to ensure that he or she has sufficient skills to re-enter the profession. Board-approved comprehensive course means any course or courses which include, at a minimum, fourteen contact education hours in the topics and numbers of hours as follows:
- Patient assessment 3 hours
- Hemodynamics 2 hours
- Pulmonary Function 1 hour
- Arterial blood gases 1 hour
- Respiratory equipment 2 hours
- Airway Care 1 hour
- Mechanical ventilation 2 hours
- Emergency care/special procedures 1 hour
- General respiratory care (including medication) 1 hour
- Prevention of Medical Errors: Two (2) hours of prevention of medical errors education are required for initial licensure. The course can be completed by home study but must be given by a board approved provider. You are not required to send a copy of your certificate to the board office. Approved courses can be found at www.cebroker.com
Applicants who have not practiced respiratory care for 2 years or more must complete a Board-approved comprehensive review course. Refer to Rule 64B32-2.001(3)(d)
for more information.
|Unlicensed Activity Fee
|Total Fee Due with Application
Make checks or money orders payable to the "Department of Health." Applicants and licensees are responsible for the fees outlined in applicable board or department rule at the time an application is received.
Other Payer Information
The Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance (MQA), is pleased to offer employers, recruiters and schools of Certified or Registered Respiratory Therapist applicants an option to pay for the applicant’s licensure fees.
Beginning in August 2010, Certified Respiratory Therapists and Registered Respiratory Therapists may complete and submit an application for licensure online. Instead of providing their own credit card for payment, applicants will have the option to enter the ‘Other Payer Code’ to complete the application process. The application will be uploaded for processing and will stay in pending status until the other payer makes payment.
Interested parties will need to register with the Florida Board of Respiratory Care by providing, in letter format, their Business Name, Mailing Address, Phone Number and Federal ID Number. In addition, we will need a contact person and email address. Please indicate if you require more than one payment code, or a code expiration date and sign the letter indicating that all of the provided information is true and correct. Please mail this letter to:
Florida Board of Respiratory Care
4052 Bald Cypress Way,
Bin # C-05
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3254
Once the third party payer is registered, the Florida Board of Respiratory Care will mail a notification letter including the payment code and instructions on how to submit payment for applicants who applied for a Certified Respiratory Therapist or Registered Respiratory Therapist license. The third party payer will need to provide their “Other Payer Code” to applicants prior to them applying.
Third party payers who elect to use the Other Payer Code will be required to log-on to MQA’s secure on-line services website to approve and submit payment. The payer will be able to deselect applicants who are not eligible to use their ‘Other Payer Code’. Then the payer will be prompted to a Credit Card payment screen where they can pay by using Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express.
Third party payers wishing to pay by check will need to send a cashiers check or money order along with a list of applicants and their file number. Applicants are issued a file number as a part of their application confirmation e-mail. The applicant’s file number is required when submitting payments by this method:
Department of Health
Post Office Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314