Office of Compassionate Use
Amendment 2, and the expanded qualifying medical conditions, will become effective on January 3, 2017. Section 381.986 F.S. remains in effect and the Florida Department of Health, physicians, dispensing organizations, and patients remain bound by existing law and rule. Following Amendment 2’s effective date, the Department is directed to promulgate rules to implement Amendment 2 within 6 months, and to implement those regulations within 9 months.
Florida law permits qualified physicians to order low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis for patients diagnosed with certain conditions. There are two types of cannabis products that may be ordered by qualified physicians:
1. Low-THC Cannabis: Patients with cancer or a condition that causes chronic seizures or muscle spasms may qualify to receive low-THC cannabis. Low-THC cannabis has very low amounts of the psychoactive ingredient THC and does not usually produce the “high” commonly associated with cannabis.
2. Medical Cannabis: If a patient is suffering from a condition determined to be terminal by two physicians, he or she may qualify for medical cannabis. This product can contain significant levels of the psychoactive ingredient THC and may produce the “high” commonly associated with cannabis.
The department recommends speaking to your health care professional to determine if low-THC or medical cannabis products are right for you or your loved one. List of Physicians Who Have Completed the Required Training.