skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Office of Medical Marijuana Use


  1. QUESTION: What is the status of my Compassionate Use Registry Card Application?

    ANSWER: The current processing time for Compassionate Use Registry Identification Cards is 30 days from the time the Department receives your application. If you are submitting an application by mail, please allow an additional 3-5 days for delivery of your application. Submitting an incomplete application will increase the amount of time required to process your account.

  2. QUESTION: Where can I get medical marijuana?

    Answer: A patient must first seek treatment from a qualified physician. Once the ordering physician inputs the patient’s information and the order information into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry, the patient or the patient’s legal representative need to apply for a Compassionate Use Registry Identification Card. Once approved, a patient or legal representative will then be able to contact one of the licensed medical marijuana treatment centers and fill the order.

  3. QUESTION: Can I grow my own marijuana?

    ANSWER: No. Florida law only allows the licensed dispensing organizations to grow, process and dispense marijuana. The department will refer any business or individual suspected of violating state law to local law enforcement for investigation. It is important to remember marijuana is illegal under federal law.

  4. QUESTION: How do I apply to open a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center?

    ANSWER: The Department is currently in the process of rulemaking and is not accepting applications for MMTCs at this time. To learn more about rulemaking for Amendment 2, please click here. The department will refer any business or individual suspected of violating state law to local law enforcement for investigation. It is important to remember marijuana is illegal under federal law.

  5. QUESTION: Can I order medical marijuana for my patients?

    ANSWER: In order to qualify to order medical marijuana for patients, a physician must have an active, unrestricted license as a physician under Chapter 458, F.S., or osteopathic physician under Chapter 459, F.S. Physicians who meet the above requirements may gain access to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry after completing the required course and examination provided by the Florida Medical Association and the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association. Successful completion of the course is required each time a physician renews his or her license.

  6. QUESTION: What is the difference between low-THC cannabis and medical marijuana?

    ANSWER: "Low-THC cannabis" means a plant of the genus Cannabis, the dried flowers of which contain 0.8 percent or less of tetrahydrocannabinol and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol weight for weight; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of such plant; or any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of such plant or its seeds or resin that is dispensed from a medical marijuana treatment center.

    “Marijuana” means all parts of any plant of the genus Cannabis, whether growing or not; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant or its seeds or resin, including low-THC cannabis, which are dispensed from a medical marijuana treatment center for medical use by a qualified patient.

  7. QUESTION: What is a marijuana delivery device?

    ANSWER: An object used, intended for use, or designed for use in preparing, storing, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing marijuana into the human body, and which is dispensed from a medical marijuana treatment center for medical use by a qualified patient.

  8. QUESTION: How do patients find qualified physicians who can order low-THC cannabis, medical marijuana or marijuana delivery devices?

    ANSWER: A list of physicians authorized to order low-THC cannabis, medical marijuana or cannabis delivery devices is available here: http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/office-of-medical-marijuana-use/_documents/completed-cme.pdf.

  9. QUESTION: What are the requirements for a Medical Director of a medical marijuana treatment centers?

    ANSWER: A medical director must hold an active, unrestricted license as a physician under Chapter 458, Florida Statutes or as an osteopathic physician under Chapter 459, Florida Statutes. They must also complete a continuing education course and examination.

  10. QUESTION: Who can sell medical marijuana?

    ANSWER: A licensed dispensing organization. (Link to http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/office-of-medical-marijuana-use/dispensing-organizations/index.html).

  11. QUESTION: How can a patient purchase medical marijuana?

    ANSWER: A patient must first seek treatment from a qualified physician. Once the ordering physician inputs the patient’s information and the order information into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry, the patient or the patient’s legal representative need to apply for a Compassionate Use Registry Identification Card. Once approved, a patient or legal representative will then be able to contact one of the licensed medical marijuana treatment centers and fill the order.

  12. QUESTION: Who can purchase marijuana from a medical marijuana treatment centers?

    ANSWER: Medical marijuana treatment centers may only provide medical marijuana or a marijuana delivery device to a qualified patient or a qualified patient’s legal representative.

  13. QUESTION: Who needs to have a Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card?

    ANSWER: Florida rule 64-4.011, F.A.C. requires all patients and legal representatives to have a Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card to obtain medical marijuana, or a marijuana delivery device from a licensed dispensing organization.

  14. QUESTION: How do I use Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card?

    ANSWER: Patients and legal representatives must provide their Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card to medical marijuana treatment centers in order to obtain medical marijuana, or a marijuana delivery device. Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification cards may also be used to assist in verifying that a patient or legal representative are in the Department of Health’s Medical Marijuana Use Registry.

  15. QUESTION: How do I apply for a card?

    ANSWER: The Department accepts applications from patients and legal representatives. Patients must be entered into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by a qualified physician to receive a card. Applications may be submitted online through the Medical Marijuana Use Registry, or mailed to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use. All applications must include a registration fee of $75.

  16. QUESTION: If I am a patient, may I also serve as a legal representative for someone else?

    ANSWER: Yes. However, a patient wishing to serve as a legal representative for someone else must apply separately for a legal representative card and a patient card.

  17. QUESTION: How do I renew my card?

    ANSWER: To maintain an active Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card, a patient and/or legal representative must annually submit a renewal application, along with the application fee and any required accompanying documents to the department forty-five (45) days prior to the card expiration date.

  18. QUESTION: What happens if I need to change the information on my card?

    ANSWER: Requests to replace a lost or stolen card will require the cardholder to submit a Change, Replacement or Surrender Request Form, along with a copy of his or her Florida driver’s license or identification card and a $15 replacement fee.

Medical marijuana is available in Florida, however, remains illegal under federal law.