Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content

Injury Prevention Award

Violence and Injury Prevention Program

  •  850-245-4455

    Mailing Address

    4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A13 

    Tallahassee, FL 32399-1722 


Injury Prevention Award Applications

Back to Top


The Injury Prevention Section, in conjunction with the FIPAC, annually recognizes an individual who demonstrates commitment to injury prevention. The FIPAC’s Injury Prevention Award Subcommittee reviews nominations submitted by injury prevention stakeholders. The award began in 2006 and the award presentation takes place at the FIPAC annual fall meeting.

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this program by phone or in writing.

For additional information on the Injury Prevention Award, please contact the Injury Prevention Section or call 850-245-4440.

Back to Top

2013 Award Recipient

2013 Florida Injury Prevention Award Winner—Charity JonesMs. Charity N. Jones is a health educator at the Florida Department of Health in Orange County and has been a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician through Safe Kids Worldwide for the Children’s Safety Village since 2010. Between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013, Ms. Jones accomplished the following:

Through 14 baby “Shower Powers,” she educated the pregnant women and the immediate family and friends who might be potential caregivers for infants on car seat safety and other health topics, reaching a total of 245 persons.

She provided health education presentations at various community and government agencies to educate the public as well as agency staff on the dangers of incorrectly installed car seats, reaching 273 community individuals and agency staff.

She also participated in 14 car seat safety checkpoints to check the car safety seats in the participants’ vehicle while educating them on car seat safety and installation, installing 175 car safety seats and reaching 250 individuals.

Back to Top

Past Award Recipients

2012 Award Recipient:
Kim Burgess is the coordinator of the Drowning Prevention Program at the Florida Department of Health in Broward County. Ms. Burgess served as a member of Goal Team 4 during the 2009–2013 Florida Injury Prevention Strategic Plan.

2011 Award Recipient:
Mimi Sutherland (retired), was a nurse at the Jackson Memorial Hospital and led the GATE Program, an alternative court-mandated program for adolescents involved with weapons. Ms. Sutherland served as a member of Goal Team 2 during the 2009–2013 Florida Injury Prevention Strategic Plan.

2010 Award Recipient:
Virginia Dodd, PhD, MPH, is a tenured associate professor in the Department of Health Education and Behavior at the University of Florida. Dr. Dodd serves as a Goal Team Leader on the Florida Injury Prevention Advisory Council and was an Injury Prevention 101 volunteer faculty presenter.

2009 Award Recipient:
Stephen McCloskey was the Duval County Health Department’s Injury Prevention Program Manager. In August 2009, Mr. McCloskey accepted a position with the Duval County Health Department’s Tobacco Prevention Program.

2008 Award Recipients:
C.T. “Chuck” Kearns is the Vice President and Chief Operating Officer to the Executive Management Team for Community Emergency Medical Service (EMS).

Lt. Trisha Dunkelmann is a Community Education Specialist for the City of Delray Beach Fire-Rescue.

2007 Award Recipient:
Deborah Mulligan, MD, is the Director of the Institute for Child Health Policy, Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, College of Medicine, Nova Southeastern University. She is also an attending physician in the Pediatric Emergency Department at the Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital in Hollywood, Florida.

2006 Award Recipients:
Karen Liller, PhD, is Dean for Graduate Studies at the University of South Florida. She is a tenured full professor specializing in health education and injury prevention.

Glenda Wolnik, RN, was a Senior Community Nursing Supervisor who worked full-time for the Lee County Health Department promoting health education and injury prevention.

Back to Top

Quality in a service or product is not what we put into it, it’s what our customers get out of it. Are we meeting your expectations? Please take our Satisfaction Survey to provide your feedback.

*Note: This page contains materials in the Microsoft Word (DOC) format. The free Microsoft Word Viewer may be required to view these files.